24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful, easy recipe. I added cinnamon and sugar to each phyllo layer along with the butter, and exchanged panko for the bread crumbs (very crispy). Also added a simple light glaze over the top. This recipe is a keeper. It actually makes 3 strudels. A huge hit at my dinner party. Thank you

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahamil January 10, 2010

I've tried many Apple Strudel recipes over the years and always been disappointed at the lack of taste. This was the exception! It's terrific! I used 4 large apples, peeled, cored and sliced. Because I like LOTS of flavour I tossed the slices in the juice of a lemon as well as adding the lemon rind. I had a handful of ground almonds left over, so I added them to the breadcrumbs and toasted the lot. Just watch Step 7 of the instructions in this recipe. To make two strudels you only put 1/2 the breadcrumbs on the first lot of pastry (not the whole 3/4 cup as stated), and the rest on the second strudel - and remember to reserve a few tablespoons for the crunchy topping. The strudels were really easy to make and rolled up with no problems at all. The taste was everything I could have wished for. Just delicious! I reheated slices of the strudel in the microwave for a minute or so with no ill effects on the pastry. Thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookaburra May 18, 2007

Delicious stuff! My first time using phyllo pastry, and a resounding success! Used only 1/2 cup of sugar but otherwise followed the recipe. I also find that the thinner the apple slices the better the strudel! Thank you truebrit!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee October 02, 2011

This strudel turned out wonderfully! I kept to the recipe and found that with the 6 apples, I was able to roll 3 very thick strudels, each about 12 inches long. Superb! Just the right amount of sweetness.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef at Our Place in Ontario Canada January 02, 2010

Well! This was my first attempt at a strudel, and family fell overthemselves for more! Literally, there was nothing left! I did do a few things different though. 1) I peeled the apples, and I only used four which made about 4 1/2 to 5 cups, which seemed about right, and I sliced them thin. 2) I didn't have lemon zest, and didn't want to have to go shopping for one thing, so after cutting up the apples, I poured lemon juice over them, making sure they were coated and let them soak, while I got everything else ready, and then drained them as best I could before using them. And 3) I sprinkled sugar and cinnamon on top of the bread crumbs that were on the top of the studel. It added a nice look and a little extra huts-puh (my familys word for "something extra ;). Anyway! We loved it! Smelled wonderful! SO highly recommended!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvinmyfamily November 01, 2008

Delicious and fun to make. Do the breadcrumbs first. I used one of the newer corn oil margarines and it worked just fine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodgal February 17, 2003

Finally! A strudel recipe that works! The phyllo dough is easier than making it from scratch, and it comes pretty close to the texture or authentic strudel. I cut back on the amount of butter, and I would only use 1/4 cup of the bread crumbs per strudel (don't forget this makes 2!). I made this for our traditional German Christmas dinner and it was a hit. Serve with warm vanilla sauce and maybe a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin Riger January 02, 2010

Flat out fabulous. I'm freezing the second for later. This is the way an apple strudel should taste (sweet/tart - crispy/moist). Most important ingredient? The tart and thus "dry" apples. I used Granny Smiths. Following one reviewer, I divided the crumbs in half, then pulled out a spoonful from each half to sprinkle between layers and on the top of each strudel. Thanks for an easy way to get a complex and very authentic tasting dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisabetta47 April 07, 2009

I made this for a Thanksgiving dessert this year. It was delicious. I even liked it better the next day. The apple filling was the best I have ever had--the ground almonds, lemon zest, and raisins put it over the top. (In fact, I am thinking of using this same filling for turnovers, maybe even pie?) This is the only strudel recipe I will ever use.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bunduda December 22, 2008

Excellent recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatttyMetalgirl November 21, 2008
Apple Strudel