24 Reviews

I was going to post this recipe but you beat me to it. This is simply one of the best cheesecakes I have ever made. It's like an apple crisp and cheesecake all in one. I made it for Christmas last year and it didn't last long. I find it quite addictive, I kept eating little pieces all thru the night.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beeks June 12, 2003

After I cut into this, I thought, "I definitely outdid myself on this one." It looked incredible! But then I tasted it, and the combination of cheesecake, apples and streusel blew me away! Thank you so much for this recipe! Everyone loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PumpKIM May 25, 2009

Awesome. I made this as written and would agree with another reviewer that a whole lemon is too lemony- Next time will use 1/2, or just juice without zest. Blended well though and was yummy. Looks very fancy and is not hard to make- even made 1/4 more of everything to fit my 10" pan. Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely May 26, 2008

I wish I could give this 10 stars! This was absolutely delicious and so easy! We loved the crispy shortbread crust. I am going to try this crust with my other cheesecakes. I think I will double the streuel the next time, because it is so yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP October 04, 2005

Delicious! I made the following changes and it was still wonderful. I used Splenda in place of white sugar, EggBeaters in place of real eggs and fat free sour cream and it still turned out great. Everyone love it. Chris in Phoenix

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cbeachlover June 15, 2003

mmmm this is the best....I have made this sooo many times and my husband and I go through this in 2 sittings....the only thing I did was cut the apples in smaller chunks, everything was perfect on this!!!!! would not change anything about this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Szakacs October 21, 2010

This was a great surprise for me! I'd never made a cheesecake before - mostly because I usually find them too rich and dense - but this recipe intrigued me, so I decided to give it a try for a potluck. As other reviewers have said, the combination of flavors was great. I particularly liked the crust, which was a huge improvement on the traditional graham-cracker crust, in my opinion. I diced the apples rather than slicing them, which worked great, although when I make this again, I might double the apple layer... I really liked them and wanted more :) I could see making maybe 1.5 times the cheesecake layer, too. But proportions aside, this cheesecake had a great flavor and wasn't too heavy, and it got raves at the potluck (the whole thing disappeared by the end of the night). Definitely one that I'll make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarsonM September 05, 2010

After reading the reviews for this, I went out and bought my first springform pan (at 57) and made this for a Christmas dessert. Doubled the streusel topping as some suggested. WOW!! DH said it's the best dessert I've ever made. The flavors all go together so well. Yum, yum,yum! Will DEFINITELY be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kabobro August 23, 2010

This was great! Having read the reviews, I was a bit concerned about the results of the crust and also a potential 'too lemony' flavor. It was PERFECT! My husband loved it as part of his 2nd Father's day. To the topping I also doubled it and added some quick oats for crunch. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ayame June 21, 2010

Loads of apples to use up and this was was excellent! Gone in no time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriendlyChefy November 11, 2009
Apple Streusel Cheesecake