13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This has got to be one of the easiest and best recipes I've tried so far! The aroma as it baked was fantastic and the taste is so yummy. If you're looking for an easy, fast dessert...then this is it. I'm sure I'll make this one often.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess September 15, 2002

This is the easiest cakes I've ever made! And delicious, too! I drizzled a powdered sugar glaze that I added caramel flavoring to, on top......very good! I know I'll be making this again! Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangrove September 06, 2010

This couldn't have been easier to prepare, and the results were superb! The cake was very flavorful and moist, and everyone enjoyed it! I didn't have a box of spice cake mix, so I substituted a box of yellow cake mix, as suggested by another reviewer. I added two teaspoons of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of ginger, and 1/2 a teaspoon of ground cloves. I'm going to keep this recipe on hand for those busy days! Thanks, Marie W - this was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit October 30, 2008

My DH had a sweet tooth tonight and I honest just didn't have energy to go to much trouble! This cake was just right! Simple, and no hard to pull together! The end result was terrific! I used a caramel sauce from another recipe with added that little bit of extra "special" flavor. Thank you for the post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom September 14, 2008

I have made this with a spice cake mix and a yellow cake mix (which I added spices to it) and they both turned out delish and so moist. Thanks for a great easy recipe that is always well-received.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnie2u July 22, 2008

This was so easy to throw together. I added some extra cinnamon and used my hand mixer to mix it for about 2 minutes on a lower speed. Baked up nice and high in 40 minutes. I thought the flavor was very good, and it was very moist, but something about the texture wasn't quite my favorite. Still, it disappeared quickly adn i'll definitely make it again when i need a fast prep and tasty dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy April 26, 2007

Overall, this was quite tasty, but there was not much apple flavor to it. I made it in a 9x13 pan and it took 45 minutes to bake. I used caramel frosting to top it. My husband enjoyed it too, thanks for a quick and easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth September 18, 2006

Okay, so I didn't have apple pie filling on hand, so I used applesauce and a chopped up apple instead, but it still turned out really well. (I imagine it was just a little less sweet than the pie filling version.) My family finished the whole cake off pretty quickly...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oleaceae August 03, 2006

Made this with the chocolate cake and cherries as suggested and it was deliciout. Am making this for the second time tonight. It was a big hit! Can only imagine all the possibilities. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trmeyer4 April 15, 2006

I have to admit - I was skeptical about this recipe but it turned out fantastic! Super easy and very moist. I used the butter pecan mix but will try the spice one next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLV March 25, 2006
Apple Spice Cake