Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Sour Cream Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Sour Cream Cake

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2003

      Lovely spongelike apple cake. And as stated not overly sweet. I used walnuts for the topping which was nice and crunchy, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Simply spectacular! I used walnuts, and took the advice of some other reviewers and increased the amount of topping by 50%. I agree with others who noted that the apple flavor is not prominent, but frankly the overall cake is so good that it didn't matter to anyone in my house. :) I may increase the amount of chopped apple slightly next time, and I will make sure to once again use very flavorful apples as a way of bringing as much apple taste as possible to the cake. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. I made this for a small party of 6 people, and had nothing but crumbs left at the end of the evening. It's a winner, for sure. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      This cake really is yummy! Not too sweet base with a crunchy, streusel-like nut topping. A must-try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      My family really enjoyed this cake (especially my dad who tends to be a bit picky). I made the changes suggested by some of the other reviewers (adding 50% more topping and apples) and found this worked really well. The only thing I would change for next time is maybe use a different type of apple. I used Jonah Gold and found that you couldn't taste much of the apple so I may try using either Granny Smith or Fuji (one other thing that may have affected this is with the extra topping, it may have overpowered the flavour of the apple so it might be worth trying only 50% more apple and leaving the measurement for the topping the same). Overall, I really enjoyed this cake and loved to see my family enjoy it so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      DELISH!!! Used whole wheat flour, 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 sugar and Egg Beaters. This is a moist, spongy cake. YUM! Even my dog thought so -- He ate the last half of the cake off of the counter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      My sweetie/eater says: light and fluffy cake, moist and fruity, with just the right amount of sweet crumble topping; not five stars only because it wasn't "amazing". Definitely would enjoy it again. I say: easy to make, tasty for not a lot of hassle and relatively healthy for a cake. I did have to increase the amount of topping. Next time I would increase the apple- the flavor of the cake was mostly the yummy topping, wasn't really apple-ishus for me :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Made this cake for my other half to take to work & share, & although I haven't heard back from them, I know IT'S A GREAT CAKE in every way! I cut it & put what pieces I could in a slightly smaller, disposable aluminum carrier so have enough pieces left for several meals for the 2 of us! Really is a wonderful cake! I did increase the topping by half & that worked just fine! Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Wonderful cake, so moist and fluffy. Ummm. Really quick and easy to put together. I used low fat sour cream and no nuts (we are not crazy about nuts in food). Made for 'went to the market'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Very delicious! A wonderful cake with coffee that smells so fantastic while baking! Gently flavoured and not overpowering - this is a definate make again winner! Thanks to Leah, my Las Mistico Magico Sirenas Sistah! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I like this cake and I think it's a perfect morning coffee cake. I was a little disappointed that it didn't have a little more kick or apple flavor with the sour cream and apple chunks. I appreciated that it wasn't overly sweet with tons of sugar. I used a 13x9 pan and it came out quite fluffy. Made for ZWT5 - Jammin Java Jivers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Excellent cake. I wasn't sure whether the apples were supposed to be peeled or not, so I peeled mine just in case. I used 8x8 pan and the result was a much fluffier cake than on the pic, I also had to increase baking time by a few minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I made the recipe exactly as written, except I used a smaller, deeper baking dish (about 11x6), so it baked for a bit longer. This was really delicious and the perfect way to use freshly picked apples from the orchard. Thanks for posting another winner, Kim! Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      This is so good. I had a piece as soon as it came out of the oven. Scrumptious. I know this will be a regular for me. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Wow !! these were fantastic ! It made for a lovely dessert tonight. Made the recipe without any changes. A definate recommadation for one to try. YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      WOW: this was just so delicious, and so very, very easy to make. It was Luvin' Texas' photographs that initially lured me to this recipe. What I really appreciated in making it were Kim's wonderfully clear instructions - really important if (like me) you don't often make cakes! I wouldn't change a thing, and I'll certainly be making this again... so thank you friend of a friend, and Kim for sharing this great recipe. Made for Zaar Stars Tag, and this recipe certainly deserves its star status!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      ZWT$ Mmmmm!! EXCELLENT! I love apple cakes and this is a perfect one us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      WONDERFUL cake! I took this to a get-together with about 10 friends and they were ALL asking for the recipe, so it was a hit! We only had half a cup of sour cream in the fridge, so we also used some plain yogurt and a little lemon juice. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. Made for ZWT4 - Los Jefes de la Cocina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful cake! I have made this twice already as dessert for DH's students advisee dinners so had to wait for the 2nd batch of students' opinions to post in my review. Everybody LOVED it! Very easy to put together and just like it says in the description, not overly sweet. I used golden delicious apples since that's the only cooking apples the local shop had this time but I definitely will try it with granny smith apples next time I get hold of them. I loved the addition of the nut topping which gives a nice crunch. I added in chopped almonds for the nuts. Thank you, Kim127, for sharing this wonderful recipe, definitely will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Took this to the DS's recreation music group day and it was an oustanding success, most were after a second slice and some were even stretching their luck and looking for a 3rd. I used walnuts, 2 large granny smith apples which gave me about 2 1/2 cups of diced apple and baked at 170 degree celsius (fan forced oven) for 30 minutes. Thank you Kim127 for a keeper of a recipe. Made for Recipe Swap #12 - January 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Wonderful moist apple cake with a crumb topping that is to die for. This cake is packed with apples and sour cream to make it really moist. Only change I made, and it was not necessary but I added a little more brown sugar because I just wanted more topping. Great cake for anytime. The wonderful aroma of apples and cinnamon filled the air.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Sour Cream Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.1
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    42%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 50.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 260.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 23.0 g
    92%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites