24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Lovely spongelike apple cake. And as stated not overly sweet. I used walnuts for the topping which was nice and crunchy, thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* April 20, 2003

Simply spectacular! I used walnuts, and took the advice of some other reviewers and increased the amount of topping by 50%. I agree with others who noted that the apple flavor is not prominent, but frankly the overall cake is so good that it didn't matter to anyone in my house. :) I may increase the amount of chopped apple slightly next time, and I will make sure to once again use very flavorful apples as a way of bringing as much apple taste as possible to the cake. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. I made this for a small party of 6 people, and had nothing but crumbs left at the end of the evening. It's a winner, for sure. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen October 26, 2009

This cake really is yummy! Not too sweet base with a crunchy, streusel-like nut topping. A must-try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens August 19, 2003

My family really enjoyed this cake (especially my dad who tends to be a bit picky). I made the changes suggested by some of the other reviewers (adding 50% more topping and apples) and found this worked really well. The only thing I would change for next time is maybe use a different type of apple. I used Jonah Gold and found that you couldn't taste much of the apple so I may try using either Granny Smith or Fuji (one other thing that may have affected this is with the extra topping, it may have overpowered the flavour of the apple so it might be worth trying only 50% more apple and leaving the measurement for the topping the same). Overall, I really enjoyed this cake and loved to see my family enjoy it so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mir1229 January 22, 2012

DELISH!!! Used whole wheat flour, 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 sugar and Egg Beaters. This is a moist, spongy cake. YUM! Even my dog thought so -- He ate the last half of the cake off of the counter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sisty Gin September 14, 2010

My sweetie/eater says: light and fluffy cake, moist and fruity, with just the right amount of sweet crumble topping; not five stars only because it wasn't "amazing". Definitely would enjoy it again. I say: easy to make, tasty for not a lot of hassle and relatively healthy for a cake. I did have to increase the amount of topping. Next time I would increase the apple- the flavor of the cake was mostly the yummy topping, wasn't really apple-ishus for me :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junkmmwnomad March 11, 2010

Made this cake for my other half to take to work & share, & although I haven't heard back from them, I know IT'S A GREAT CAKE in every way! I cut it & put what pieces I could in a slightly smaller, disposable aluminum carrier so have enough pieces left for several meals for the 2 of us! Really is a wonderful cake! I did increase the topping by half & that worked just fine! Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 03, 2009

Wonderful cake, so moist and fluffy. Ummm. Really quick and easy to put together. I used low fat sour cream and no nuts (we are not crazy about nuts in food). Made for 'went to the market'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini June 20, 2009

Very delicious! A wonderful cake with coffee that smells so fantastic while baking! Gently flavoured and not overpowering - this is a definate make again winner! Thanks to Leah, my Las Mistico Magico Sirenas Sistah! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen June 12, 2009

I like this cake and I think it's a perfect morning coffee cake. I was a little disappointed that it didn't have a little more kick or apple flavor with the sour cream and apple chunks. I appreciated that it wasn't overly sweet with tons of sugar. I used a 13x9 pan and it came out quite fluffy. Made for ZWT5 - Jammin Java Jivers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn May 17, 2009
Apple Sour Cream Cake