Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Scones

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2012

      I loved this recipe, though I did add a full cup of apples and added in some cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves for flavor. Also I put some frosting on it with spices for my little sister and she just loves it though it's quite as good alone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      These were pretty yummy - I doubled the apple (used a heaping cup instead of half), added a teaspoon of cinnamon, and used half and half with whole wheat flour. With double of the apple I still didn't find the apple flavour strong enough so I might put some more next time. As well, I found cutting them into 6 wedges made really small scones so I might just do quarters next time - but the scones were moist and yummy when they were warm! definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      These are great! I've made them quite a few times now and they have been yummy. I double the apple, add some cinnamon and often use half whole wheat flour. Usually I divide them into small individual scones so I can freeze them and just thaw out one or two when I want a snack. I have also made them with chocolate chips instead of apple but that sort of defeats the healthy part... :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      These were good! We added craisins for a little extra zing and used margarine and soymilk instead of butter and cow's milk (which made the recipe vegan). I like how these aren't too sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      My very first home made scones ... I thought they were wonderful! I was careful not to over work them. I had heard that can make scones tough (like my sister's :-) These were as good as any coffee shop scones. I'm very happy with them - without any changes to the original recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Very good but was hoping for a more satisfying apple taste-will increase to a full cup next time I make these...and a touch of cinnamon sounds good too. Thank you Wendy13 for the idea and you, Amamda2, for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Gosh, I forgot to read the part about butter and marmalade and they're already all gone. I guess when I make them next, I'll have to try to remember. These were sure yummy -- thank you for such an easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      Oh my Goodness!! I'm in awe! After I added a tad more flour they were the yummiest scones I've ever, ever eaten! (Even better than Starbucks!) Thanks SO much... These will be my sat. morning staple!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      A delicious recipe! I did it all in my food processor, see my full details on my cooking blog below. The only thing it was sticky dough so I had to add a little more flour, but all in all, excellent! The taste was wonderful with the cinnamon on top! I added butter and Dutch apple preserves once baked, A+!<br/><br/>http://tiffanycooks.cyberphreak.com/?p=381

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      Not sweet enough. I even added the additional spices as others suggested. They do have good texture, though, and they rise really nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Delicious warmed with butter! I used half whole wheat flour and skim milk, and they turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with oatmeal, and added a few dashes of cinnamon and a bit of nutmeg. Delicious with milky coffee for breakfast on a snowy morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I followed previous suggestions and used a cup or so of diced apples, added 2t. of pumpkin pie spice and also subbed half heavy cream and half apple cider for the milk. So flavorful and yummy! Perfect fall weather breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      thanx so much!! i luv this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I made these using 1 c. of apple or a little more. I added about 2 T. cinnamon in with the batter, and sprinkled some on top with the sugar too. These were great scones! Potzi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This was my first attempt at scones. They came out great, I won't hesitate to try them again. I used one whole apple, nearly a cup, otherwise stuck to the recipe. Thanks, Amanda2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I changed the recipe a little by adding 2 large apples 2 tsp. of cinnamon (in the scones) and 1/2 c. sugar. I also added 1 c. walnuts for a nice crunch. For the topping I made a cinnamon and sugar glaze and they came out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I used carrots for 1/4 of the apples. I found these to be tough. REALLY sticky.. ok flavor. kids ate them, but we were very hungry. seemed to be too wet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      scones have nice texture but i agree with others that they could use more apple flavor. i added a full cup of shredded apples as others suggested, but feel a bit more could be used. i am thinking next time i might also add a splash of apple juice to help boost the flavor. i made these as a vegan recipe, substituting vegan butter and soymilk for their dairy equivalents.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Yeah, I agree these were good probably the same day they were made. I only had a piece left over the next day and it wasn't as good as the same day it was made. Still very good though and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (555 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.4
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    29%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 11.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 249.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites