18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had never heard of Apple Schmarren before I found this recipe. If you have never tried it, I suggest you do for a real breakfast treat! I prepared this without the raisins only because I had none in the house. I used the only non-stick pan in my kitchen, which happened to be a crepe pan, which worked perfectly for this amount of batter. If you will look at the photo posted above you will see that I prepared this as one piece instead of allowing it to break into pieces. I used two very flexible spatulas to flip, and it worked out well. The sweetness of the apples gives this recipe a wonderful flavor. I loved the cinnamon-sugar topping, but I also think a bit of real maple syrup may work well also! This recipe will serve two very hungry people easily! Love this recipe, Montana Roux! Thanks for sharing it with Zaar!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 27, 2004

There isn't a kid in the world that doesn't love these. My grandmother made these for us when we were little. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us at 'zaar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glitter April 23, 2004

The pancake was wonderful, quick and easy to make. This light and tender pancake tasted delicious, it was satisfying without being heavy. It was soft and eggy with apples, spices and raisins. The apple cinnamon topping was the perfect touch. Thank you for sharing your recipe, which we enjoyed very much and which I will make again. Made for Whats on the Menu Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 24, 2014

This is very reminicent of an apple pancake, but soft and eggy. It was good with syrup, and great with vanilla yogurt (my pancake topping of choice). I think I'll try sauteeing the apples next time and only doing a half batch. My kids didn't like it much, but that just means I don't have to share now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anemone September 04, 2009

I can't believe I have never rated this before. I have made this many times with vanilla soy milk and 2 egg whites and one egg yolk. I think people need to remember that it IS an eggy recipe, but that is what makes it so great! Mine never looks good like Bev's photo, but that's okay. Today, I sauteed the apples while I mixed up the egg mixture. The apples were still firm, but I like it that way. I drizzled it with a bit of maple syrup. YUM! This has been in my Best of Zaar so Far cookbook for several years now. KCShell

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCShell December 29, 2008

This was such an eggy mess I could not eat it. It tasted too much like an omlette (which is not what I wanted for breakfast), and the apples were too crunchy. The birds are getting this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
In_A_Frenzy November 03, 2006

We didn't like this too much. I made it for breakfast yesterday and it just tasted too eggy to me. And I didn't like that combination of apples and eggs. I mean it was okay with the nice sweet topping but definately not something I'll try again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers September 27, 2006

It is a great recipe and I ate it a lot as a child. Raisins are a must for me. I like the picture.It is a good idea to serve it in one piece.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renatekheim July 29, 2005

Yummy breakfast. I used whole wheat flour, one egg and an egg white. We loved the flavor and I even got it flipped in one piece. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu April 04, 2005

I made this for breakfast this weekend, wanting to do something different, but having limited supplies on hand. This had good flavor, but the apples were a little too crisp for my taste, even though I sliced them thin. I wonder if grating them would work.... Anyway, DH and DS both liked this too, which I served along with some beef sausage. (I omitted the raisins too, due to preference.) And I was able to get it flipped in one piece! Thanks for the recipe! I'll make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kater August 15, 2004
Apple Schmarren