Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Schmarren Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Schmarren

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2004

      I had never heard of Apple Schmarren before I found this recipe. If you have never tried it, I suggest you do for a real breakfast treat! I prepared this without the raisins only because I had none in the house. I used the only non-stick pan in my kitchen, which happened to be a crepe pan, which worked perfectly for this amount of batter. If you will look at the photo posted above you will see that I prepared this as one piece instead of allowing it to break into pieces. I used two very flexible spatulas to flip, and it worked out well. The sweetness of the apples gives this recipe a wonderful flavor. I loved the cinnamon-sugar topping, but I also think a bit of real maple syrup may work well also! This recipe will serve two very hungry people easily! Love this recipe, Montana Roux! Thanks for sharing it with Zaar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2004

      There isn't a kid in the world that doesn't love these. My grandmother made these for us when we were little. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us at 'zaar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2014

      The pancake was wonderful, quick and easy to make. This light and tender pancake tasted delicious, it was satisfying without being heavy. It was soft and eggy with apples, spices and raisins. The apple cinnamon topping was the perfect touch. Thank you for sharing your recipe, which we enjoyed very much and which I will make again. Made for Whats on the Menu Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      This is very reminicent of an apple pancake, but soft and eggy. It was good with syrup, and great with vanilla yogurt (my pancake topping of choice). I think I'll try sauteeing the apples next time and only doing a half batch. My kids didn't like it much, but that just means I don't have to share now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I can't believe I have never rated this before. I have made this many times with vanilla soy milk and 2 egg whites and one egg yolk. I think people need to remember that it IS an eggy recipe, but that is what makes it so great! Mine never looks good like Bev's photo, but that's okay. Today, I sauteed the apples while I mixed up the egg mixture. The apples were still firm, but I like it that way. I drizzled it with a bit of maple syrup. YUM! This has been in my Best of Zaar so Far cookbook for several years now. KCShell

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      This was such an eggy mess I could not eat it. It tasted too much like an omlette (which is not what I wanted for breakfast), and the apples were too crunchy. The birds are getting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      We didn't like this too much. I made it for breakfast yesterday and it just tasted too eggy to me. And I didn't like that combination of apples and eggs. I mean it was okay with the nice sweet topping but definately not something I'll try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      It is a great recipe and I ate it a lot as a child. Raisins are a must for me. I like the picture.It is a good idea to serve it in one piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      Yummy breakfast. I used whole wheat flour, one egg and an egg white. We loved the flavor and I even got it flipped in one piece. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2004

      I made this for breakfast this weekend, wanting to do something different, but having limited supplies on hand. This had good flavor, but the apples were a little too crisp for my taste, even though I sliced them thin. I wonder if grating them would work.... Anyway, DH and DS both liked this too, which I served along with some beef sausage. (I omitted the raisins too, due to preference.) And I was able to get it flipped in one piece! Thanks for the recipe! I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      This was a very good breakfast. I've not had schmarren before, and it was very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      Fantastic!! Loved it!! When I flipped it, it broke into two pieces, which was ok, because each piece was a portion size, so when I put it on our plates, it looked so pretty. We thought the sweetness of this was just perfect, it wasn't overly sweet, but yet you could adjust the sweet taste by adding more cinnamon/sugar topping. It was a delicious breakfast treat which was so simple to make. Thanks Charmed, this is a WINNER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      Excellent breakfast!! This looked like a big, fat, stuffed pancake cooking. But it had a very light taste and texture when eating - more like a souffle has. I used both the apples and raisins, and when I flipped it, using two spatulas it only broke in half - perfect for my DH and self. A definate keeper in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      I think this was fabulous. Thanks Debby for this wonderful treat. I added 2 1/2 tsps of sugar and topped only with the cinnamon(which I love). I used Bev's technique with good effect and used a non-stick pancake pan. Next time I will try the oven top browning technique. I used the raisins and they also contributed to the sweetness. SO it was perfect! :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2004

      So easy, so palatable, so original. In other words, PERFECT! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I will definitely make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2004

      This is good! I made this for breakfast today, and followed the directions except that instead of breaking it apart in the pan, I let it cook until nice and browned on the bottom, and then put it under the grill until browned on top .. I used an oven safe skillet .. this is good and easy, thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      I didn't get the hang of flipping the schmarren in 1 or 2 pieces, so my schmarren was more like scrambled scharren. But it was good! I used all of the cinnamon sugar. Besides the 2 tsp. of sugar, it's really the only sweetener in the recipe and it coats the apples so nicely. This would be a very nice brunch recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      Excellent! I learned how to make Schmarrn while living in Germany, as this version tastes very authentic. I usually make mine with lemon flavor, but this was really yummy with apples & cinnamon too. I omitted the the raisins. Delicious and super easy to prepare. In Germany,the kids get to chop up the pancake at the end of the cooking process with two forks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Schmarren

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.4
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    52%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 268.6 mg
    89%
    Sodium 525.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 21.6 g
    86%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes