Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Roll Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Roll

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2002

      OH MY!!!!!!!! I cannot believe how GREAT this turned out. I was soooo worried while I was preparing it. It does not say what size pan to use (I used 9 x 13 pyrex) and it did not say how many rolls you would get (although it says 6 servings, I got 15 rolls) or how to space them in the pan (I spaced them evenly...they were not really even touching each other). I was also worried because the syrup mixture seemed too thin and there seemed to be too much. BUT, my worries were for nothing :) This came out absolutely incredible. I used Gala apples and I only had to use 3, but that is the only thing I changed. I wasn't sure how much butter or cinnamon and sugar, but I just sprinkled and dabbed to my own tastes. While these baked, the syrup thickened perfectly and the rolls expanded to fill the dish. My husband and I both had one about 10 minutes after they came out of the oven and we were in heaven! Thank you so much...I will be making this often. I am going to try it with biscuit mix to see if I can save some time, but this is PERFECT as is! P.S Posting a picture for all to SEE how yummy these are...you'll have to make them to TASTE how yummy they are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      This is an amazing recipe! The rolls turn out so soft and yummy with such a golden cripsy syrupy crust. YUM! Mmm, we could not stop eating these! :)
      I made 1/4 the recipe, but used only half the quantities stated for the syrup as I dont like that much syrup on my rolls. It worked out nicely and was perfectly sweet for me that way.
      Somehow I could only fit 1/2 apple into the rolls, but I guess that depends on what sort of apple you use.
      Ill definitely make these again and I think they would also be beautiful with plums and cinnamon or peaches. The possibilites are endless.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, Sharon!
      Made and reviewed for Aussie Swap #56 September 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I'd just like to say that I was really impressed be this recipe and the biscuit dough was to die for! I can't wait to make biscuits and gravy with it. Thanks !! Chef Roly Poly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This was ok, but it was sure messy and a little involved to make. There was sticky filling leaking all over the counter while I was trying to roll this up and cut it. It doesn't cut very easy with the chunks of apple trying to fall out while you were cutting and tansporting to the pan. I didn't care for the contrast between the biscuits and the overly sweet filling. They were also rather messy to eat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      HOLY COW !! These were gone in no time, made for breakfast over the weekend. I did add a tad of brown sugar though. Personnal preference. Will sefinately repeat. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Fun to make cause I didn't know if I was doing it right. lol. It was fun trying to keep all the apple mixture inside, next time I wont spread it to the end. MMM Good. Made for ZWT4 the Chic Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I thought they were ok. I didn't realize that it is a bisquit dough. Other than that they were really easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      Can't thank Sharon enough for this ! I had lots of apples to use up & the kids were bored with pie ! The crust was wonderful - crisp on top & scone-y below. I used butter instead of shortening & white sugar instead of brown !! didn't seem to matter - my teen gobbled it up the same day. I'd prob'ly use a little less sugar next time but that's a personal pref. The crust could evan be tried as a pie / pizza base. Keep going, Sharon !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Because I was alone, so i half the recipe...it was wonderful!! however, i did not pour the syrup to the top of the rolls, i left a little and i buttered the top....it turned out very crispy on the top, and soft at the bottom!!! i think it's even better than apple pies :) i recommand to finish them when they are still warm, if you wish to keep them longer, reduce some sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This was tasty and simple to make. I cooked the sugar and the water in a saucepan on the stove and let it thicken a bit. This took more than 5 minutes. I too, used a 9X13 glass baking dish and got 13 rolls. I poured the sugar syrup over the top of the rolls. As I also didn't know how much butter, cinnamon and sugar to use, I just uses common sense. I would suggest to Sharon123 that she go back and make the appropriate corrections to her recipe. It would make it much easier for other people. Thanks!:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      these were very good. i used red delicious apples and made it exactly as directed. putting the dough into the watery brown sugar mixture kinda freaked me out but i did it anyway. i thought for sure that the syrup should have been thicker and was suprised when it turned into syrup in the short baking time indicated. pretty cool. i think in the future that i would like a more dense biscuit dough though. it was fall-aparty. taste wise it was great. my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      Delicious! Like the other reviwers, I used a 13x9 baking dish which was just right for 12 good-sized rolls. Note butter and cinnamon sugar are additional necessary ingredients. I used butter rather than shortening and blended in the food processor. Probably should have chilled the dough first, it was pretty sticky. Dough is much easier to roll between parchment or wax paper as it makes forming the jellyroll much easier. Also, I forgot to precook the brown sugar syrup but it didn't seem to make a difference. Served for breakfast but would also make a lovely dessert or brunch dish. Thanks, Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2004

      These are wonderful! My husband loved them .. I used 2t of cinnamon and half a cup of sugar, and 1/4 cup of butter for spreading and sprinking .. I got 16 rolls, and put them in a 9x13 pan .. I made a mistake and mixed the sugar with the apples before I made the dough, so there was a lot of liquid from the apples when I put the mixture on the dough, it seeped out of sides but I rolled it anyway, and after putting the rolls in the pan, I poured the sugary sauce over .. Thanks for a wonderful and quick recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      What a delicious recipe! DH, children and I gobbled these up in no time...I can't wait to try these again. I also made this in a 9x13" pan and added sugar/cinnamon to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Roll

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 558.0
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    23%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 664.1 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.6 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 66.0 g
    264%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes