Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Pie Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Pie Filling

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2002

      "After 20 minutes, take each jar out carefully and put on towel, use pot holders to tighten rings on each jar and let stand until cool. " You should NEVER do this - tighten bands while still hot. If after 15 min it does not seal & pushing lid down with your finger does not work - re-process with new lid. Food may have gotten between the jar & lid making it not seal. If you tighten the rings down while hot you will not know if the jar has sealed by itself & really has a vacumm. This will show up later as spoiled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2001

      I think this recipe is great! I have it from another source. My recipe uses less cinnamon and no food color. What is omitted is how to bake it. Bake it in a double 9" crust. I baked for 25 min with foil on edge then 25 min more (or until pastry is golden).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      This was a great recipe for first time canners, like me :-) Not only was it simple, but the complements just keep coming when the apple pie is passed around. Thanks to whomever posted this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I agree that layering is best with this recipe and make sure to run a knife around the edges to get the apples to pack in and air bubbles out. I added a pinch of cloves to mine and a bit more cinnamon, omitted the food coloring. I also sliced the apples, so needed to use more. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      Great I have used this two years in a row. Once last year with apples, this year with hard cooking pears. I love to use it with the Easy dutch apple pie (#37143) recipe. I also use it for waffle and pancake topping. Last year I put the "crust" for the dutch apple pie in a jar, and a jar of this pie filling in a basket, with pie tins for a quick easy cheap christmas present.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2001

    • on August 31, 2012

      I found this recipe because I was given a 5 gallon bucket of apples and didn't want them to go to waste. I did use half brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar and the color was a wonderful carmel color, I did not use the food coloring. I stuffed the first few jars with apples and tried to pour the sauce then took the suggestion of layers and it worked much better and much less messy. The end result for me is 9 quarts of great tasting filling that I can use as a cobbler or a pie base and after tasting warm we could even eat it as applesauce. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      This turned out wonderful!! I did get alot more jars than 7 quarts, but I filled them very full of apples and packed them down. End result is excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Tastes great! I made 7 quarts, one did not seal. I was a bit short on cornstarch, so my sauce is a bit runny so I may have to add a thickener to this if I make pies with it. Right now I'm just eating it warmed by itself in the microwave :) Would be great like this on vanilla ice cream... Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      So delicious! I needed just a can of pie filling for a recipe and adjusted the serving to 1 quart. Used it straight from the saucepan. I plan to make the full quantity sometime soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This stuff is great! I canned 6 qts. and one didn't seal so I made a pie. I made as directed except I used a little more cinnamon and a pinch of cloves. I plan on making at least 6 more qts. while the apples are still cheap. I used honey crisp apples for this and they were perfect. The jar made 1 nice 8" pie that I baked at 350* for 1 hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I made this and canned it, gave it away and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      What a great way to use up all the wonderful apples! I found by alternating the apples in the jars with the filling, it was less messy. I also used a knife to run down the sides of the jar to gently push the apples down. This helps the apples settle. I sliced my apples and did not add food coloring, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as posted. I also agree with other reviewers, DO NOT tighten the lids after processing. That is a definite no no in the canning cookbooks. If one did not seal on its own, make a pie or re-process. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Perfect, I wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I just made this for the first time and it is so good! I ended up with 7 quarts of filling, plus enough left for one pie. I added extra cinnamon and ginger for more flavor.... but it could be that my spices are old.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      This is so delicious. It makes the most wonderful pie. I am so glad I now have 12 quarts. One for each month of the year! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      I thought this recipe was easy and yummy i liked the ginger in it. When I made mine I used 2 1/2 cups sugar and 2 cups brown sugar. I really liked the brown sugar in it. I thought it tasted more like baked apples. thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      I just made this with freshly picked apples - yum! The one thing that I didn't do correctly was *leave 1 inch headspace* in the jars. They overflowed once I took them out of the canner. I caught it immediately and was able to whip up some pastry, pour in the apple pie filling and freeze the pies instead. I cooked one up immediately (of course!) and it really was delicious. Everything was very tasty and the spices were in perfect proportions just the way they were. Yum! I agree about not re-tightening the sealing rings - I've read over and over again about how this can crack the seal and spoil the canned food. I'll be making this again this year but learning from my mistake! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      To me, this is THE true-blue American apple pie filling. I made a sixth of the quantity, did not preserve it, but cooked the apples in the "sauce" on the stovetop until soft and threw it straight away into a 9" no-bake graham crust. It was a hit!! Here are my measurements: 1 1/2 c. water, 3/4 c. sugar, 3 T. cornstarch, 1/2 T. lemon juice (I omitted this), 1/2 t. cinnamon (I doubled this), 1/8 t. nutmeg, 1/16 t. ginger (I doubled this), 1/8 t. salt, and 1 qt of apples (approx. 4 cups -- I diced and actually used 6 cups). I also added almond essence and substituted a bit of saffron for the food coloring. It was not a disappointment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      I used your recipe to make a dessert pizza, tres bon !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Pie Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (6461 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 927.3
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    26%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 408.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 240.1 g
    80%
    Dietary Fiber 12.9 g
    51%
    Sugars 201.9 g
    807%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites