7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe. I also do a cherry pie bar, I use 2 cans cherry pie filling with 1 tsp of almond flavor added to it, in place of the apple filling. I also change the frosting, I use 1 tsp of almond plus 1 tsp of lemon with the milk and sugar, to drizzle over the top. ( one thing I did not do is I did not chill the dough, I use it right away after I make it and I find it is easier to roll out with out the chilling part and it come out very nice)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef janell September 24, 2014

I made these for Thanksgiving along with a few other goodies. These were gone in no time and everyone loved them! I did add walnuts in the filling because we all love them, and I used Splenda in place of the sugar. Great addition!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchieWitchyGoo November 29, 2010

I've made this recipe several times and people always rave over them. So delicious... Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofM&M January 21, 2010

These are really tasty. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the difficulty I have in rolling out and placing the top pastry. I sometimes leave off the top crust and make a crumb topping instead using 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup flour, and 1/3 cup cold butter blended with a pastry cutter and sprinkled over the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kzim4 March 25, 2004

From the title of the recipe I expected something that could be cut neatly, passed around and eaten in a casual atmosphere. The resulting pie, while very tasty, was too crumbly and sticky for that. I am worried that some mistake or mistakes I make in scaling the recipe down to fit my baking pan caused the problem, so I am not rating this recipe. I hope that other people will have better luck with it than I did. (Though my husband is delighted because I didn't take it to work.) (Originally posted Oct. 22, 2003 - Spelling corrected and reposted.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao December 11, 2003

Good stuff Lauriann! I had extra apples in the house, I am just bored with apple pies, so I decided to give this recipe a try.....well it turned out great, just similar to apple pie. I followed the recipe to a tee, no changes, my DH who loves apples, just loved this....A wonderful recipe, Thanxs, I will make this again sometime soon :-) :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz October 23, 2003

Excellent recipe. Made this for our Memorial Day family get together. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar as I do in my apple pie recipes and it was dee -licious! Thanks for posting this recipe, Theresa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie May 26, 2003
Apple Pie Bars