36 Reviews

This is a wonderful apple pie recipe! The only changes I made were to increase the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp, decrease the sugar to 3/4 cup (my apples were sweeter) and added a pinch of salt. I didn't even bother to completely peel the apples and it turned out great! Thanks for posting (:

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lynn~ September 26, 2011

The best apple pie ever. It was a hit with the family and disappeared quickly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amira64 May 08, 2011

Made this for our son's 17th birthday. Easy and delicious! Followed the directions and ingredients exactly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 December 22, 2010

What a great pie recipe ellie. We really enjoyed this tasty pie.
I used a mixture of russet, granny smith and crispini apples, they blended beautifully together, creating a unique flavor. Went with the ready-made crust option and did add more of the spices (personal preference only). Thank you so much for sharing this memorable pie recipe, which we will certainly enjoy again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 30, 2010

I made this pie for Thanksgiving but I did not taste it because I was way too full to eat another morsel. I was a little disappointed because even after cooled, the filling was runny and I followed the direction exactly. Perhaps my apples were too juicy. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 December 02, 2009

This was the most simple recipe to make! My 2yr old daughter helped and had a blast. There was not a slice left after dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn Mullen September 30, 2003

I would give this 5+ stars if I could. This pie beats out the pie we sometimes get at Thanksgiving from a restaurant in the foothills of our local mountains where the apple orchards are. Paired with my mother's perfect crust (which is super short & flaky), it was pure Heaven. I did as another reviewer did and mixed all the filling ingredients together rather than layering them, and it came out perfect. Oh, and I only used 4 Granny Smith apples for a 9" pie. Thank you for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedhairMac August 20, 2015

This was my first attempt at a from scratch apple pie. It turned out amazing!! I used more of a generous shake of cinnamon/nutmeg than a pinch. :) I, also, used the pie crust recipe that is in another review. It was perfect. 1c. flour, 1/3c. salted butter, 3 tbsp. water. I did double that so I could have a top crust. Oh and I did use all Granny Smith apples. So YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiettmama September 28, 2014

Loved this! Had Courtlands that needed using --which are more of an eating than baking apple so I used only 1/4 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and 2 teaspoons lemon juice. Covered with foil last 10 minutes, then turned off oven and left pie in oven for an hour while dh and I took our walk. Was perfect. Thanks Ellie for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal October 15, 2012

Easy peasy. Great taste.

I'd use sweet apples instead of granny smiths next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen May 05, 2012
Apple Pie