35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was really easy and very delicious! I've never made a pie before, and it came out perfect. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mo-Rocca October 31, 2010

Great apple pie recipe. I really like the lower, longer baking time. Less watching and it came out fine. I used Granny Smith's and the Pillsbury crust. With tart apples the sugar was the right amount. Taste your apples - if they are sweet, reduce the sugar a bit - this is a good rule for any apple pie recipe. The only thing I did differently was to mix all the filling up in a bowl and then put it in the crust - instead of layering. It is so good, we are having apple pie for breakfast.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta October 31, 2010

Delicious!! I make my own crust though which is an easy recipe. 1 cup flour, 2 to 3 tbsp cold water and 1/3 cup butter or margarine :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caton.c@hotmail.com January 16, 2011

I made this for Thanksgiving. The pie was really easy to make and tasted great! I skipped the lemon juice since my Granny Smith apples where very tart and made it with 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. Received rave reviews from everyone who tried it and the pie was gone in a matter of minutes. My picky 11-year old is begging me to make it again soon, so I think I'll suprise him with this today after dinner . Thank you for sharing this recipe. Definitelly a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinasls November 28, 2010

The best apple pie I have ever made! I chose to only add 1/2 cup of sugar and bake for 80 minutes, checking every 5 minutes after 1 hour and I also coved the pie with foil around the edges for 35 minutes. I have already been asked to make this recipe for christmas because they siad this was my best apple pie I have made.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE November 23, 2007

Very good, I did decrease the sugar to 3/4 c. as others recommended, instead of topping the crust w/reg. sugar I generously topped it w/demerara sugar for a little 'crunch' Thanks ellie_-

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat November 16, 2005

would have been perfect except a little too much sugar! I think only half as much is needed. Also it took 1 hour 15 to be done. Still really easy and tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliann November 11, 2003

This makes a delicious pie! I made it using McIntosh apples, so I only used 3/4 cup sugar and sprinkled 2 Tbsp flour on top to counteract their moistness. I also used a full tsp of cinnamon, because I love cinnamon! It turned out terrific! I took it to a family gathering, and everyone raved about it. I'll be making this again and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree November 09, 2003

Yum! This turned out really nice and everyone enjoyed! Thanks so much ellie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 17, 2003

Very easy to make and tastes delicious. I used a full teaspoon of cinnamon instead of a pinch. Served this warm with vanilla ice cream and my family devoured it. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaidmagic October 13, 2011
Apple Pie