25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These pancakes were yummy both hot and later cold!!! I didn't have any cream so I did 1/2 c milk & 1/2 c sour cream. I also, let the batter rest/setup just a little, 5-10 min. before I started frying. I also suggest adding sugar or seasonings to your preference. Makes a very generous amount of hearty pancakes. Wonderfully yummy!!! I'm looking forward to making these again. Thanks!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortstuff October 25, 2009

I used all milk for this recipe, mostly because heavy cream is expensive. The pancakes turned out hearty and delicious. We have a family of 5 and we had 3 pancakes left over, but I use a ladle to scoop the batter and fill the whole bottom of the small skillet, so mine are larger than the recipe says. I will definitely use this recipe again, but next time I will put some sugar and a spice or two in it, to liven it up. Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
navybluespot October 18, 2009

I love pancakes and can't wait to get home tonight and make some for dinner! National Pancake Day is every day for me.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pit Master Mark March 08, 2011

I have been using this site for recipes for years and this is the first time I felt compelled to write a review. Those pancakes were great!!!. What a treat! I made it exactly as the recipe says. I thought of adding a T of sugar but didn't and it was fine with the maple syrup. I want to try using half with whole wheat next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie Collom March 09, 2011

After having this I stood up at the dinner table and applauded the recipe !!!
This one makes me do the happy food dance!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA March 09, 2011

Great recipe, loved the oatmeal, and I made mine with 1 cup flour and 1 cup whole wheat. Also didn't have heavy cream, so used buttermilk instead. Did add some cinnamon after trying the first ones, it intensified the flavor. My husband loved it and couldn't believe that there was no additional fats in it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GiGil October 23, 2009

These were super yummy! I used wheat flour and they turned out perfect! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene October 18, 2009

These are definitely my new favorite for pancakes. I've made LOTS of pancakes and i have to pancake eaters who swear by these as well! I made only 1/2 the recipe and added some dried cranberries and cinnamon. I'll definitely make these again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happyc00k October 12, 2009

Made this as part of my once-a-week cooking foray. Didn't have enough bowls, so mixed cream and lemon juice together, and in a big bowl dumped all the other ingredients and mixed before adding cream mixture. Cooked in 2 metal baking pans at 425 deg F for 20 mins. Used 2 Royal Gala apples and 3 Granny Smith cut into 16ths. This is great served warm with vanilla ice cream for pudding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaatarbella October 09, 2009
Apple-Pecan Pancakes