36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for Friday supper. I was alone so adjusted the measurements. I loved this salad. It was so delicious. <br/>Because I had all the ingredients on hand I could follow the recipe exactly. It filled me up. It was crunchy and with the blend of dilll (had to use the dried) and everything else, I'm going to make this for Thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatCM November 03, 2014

With a load of fresh organic apples and pears from a local orchard, this salad was just what I needed when a good friend also brought me some gigantic homegrown cucumbers. Lovely late summer deliciousness. I used dijon mustard and dried dill because that is what I had. I will certainly make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne October 05, 2014

I haven't made this yet... but have an idea for the folks that are not finding it sweet enough... The salad ingredients sound very appealing to me.... One of my go-to "secret ingredients" these days is honey mustard salad dressing... in a bottle. I think that, enhanced with a little fresh dill.. might do the trick for a quick dressing for what sounds like an amazing salad...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora July 17, 2013

4 1/2 stars! I made a couple of modifications based on what I had (OK a lot). Substituted rice wine vinegar for the cider, and substituted Dijon for whole grain mustard, and used honey for the brown sugar. I also used only pears and pineapple. This may have changed the whole flavor of the dish but I really liked how the light acidity, complemented the sweetness of the fruit and how the mustard emulsified the oil for the dressing, and the dill added that unexpected flair of flavor. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smig52 November 06, 2010

Lacked a little something, I added a bit more brown sugar dash of salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chriscre May 10, 2010

I like the idea of this salad but it was not as sweet as I had imagined. It was actually more tart. I will make it again but add more of some kind of sweetener. Three of my 10 guests raved about it. I imagine there is some variation in sweetness depending on how sweet the fruit is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara's cooking again December 05, 2009

Wonderful! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schmitty2456 October 25, 2009

Can I add another star? I just got done picking a butt load of apples and was looking for something to do with them. Found this recipe and thought why not; i need a salad for tonight. I'm so glad I did. This is amazing. I used empire apples instead of a tart apple and omitted the brown sugar. This is now in my top 5 if not 3 of salads.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billybolo October 23, 2009

WOW!!! Who would have thought cucumbers would go so well with apples and pears. I too was very skeptical about the dressing, with mustard and vinegar going with the fruit. Worry no more! This was fantastic! All my family asked for seconds and really loved it. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 23, 2009
Apple Pear Cucumber Salad