Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Pear Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Pear Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2013

    • on July 17, 2013

      I haven't made this yet... but have an idea for the folks that are not finding it sweet enough... The salad ingredients sound very appealing to me.... One of my go-to "secret ingredients" these days is honey mustard salad dressing... in a bottle. I think that, enhanced with a little fresh dill.. might do the trick for a quick dressing for what sounds like an amazing salad...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      4 1/2 stars! I made a couple of modifications based on what I had (OK a lot). Substituted rice wine vinegar for the cider, and substituted Dijon for whole grain mustard, and used honey for the brown sugar. I also used only pears and pineapple. This may have changed the whole flavor of the dish but I really liked how the light acidity, complemented the sweetness of the fruit and how the mustard emulsified the oil for the dressing, and the dill added that unexpected flair of flavor. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Lacked a little something, I added a bit more brown sugar dash of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I like the idea of this salad but it was not as sweet as I had imagined. It was actually more tart. I will make it again but add more of some kind of sweetener. Three of my 10 guests raved about it. I imagine there is some variation in sweetness depending on how sweet the fruit is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Wonderful! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Can I add another star? I just got done picking a butt load of apples and was looking for something to do with them. Found this recipe and thought why not; i need a salad for tonight. I'm so glad I did. This is amazing. I used empire apples instead of a tart apple and omitted the brown sugar. This is now in my top 5 if not 3 of salads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      WOW!!! Who would have thought cucumbers would go so well with apples and pears. I too was very skeptical about the dressing, with mustard and vinegar going with the fruit. Worry no more! This was fantastic! All my family asked for seconds and really loved it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      While making the salad, I thought that choosing to make this recipe was a mistake. I wasn't sure that the ingredients were going to come together. But it came together great and tasted pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Awesome salad! We recently moved to Florida so it's been really warm here and my appetite has changed. I wanted something cold and easy to make. I cannot get enough of this stuff, it's delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I made this with jicama in place of the apple and I also cut out the sugar. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This is a great, really refreshing salad! Very easy to make, the ingredients are easy to find. I did as another reviewer suggested and used 2 TBSP of the oil and 2 TBSP of water. I think if my pears had been a bit better and if I was a bigger mustard fan I would have rated this 5 stars. I served it at a Pot Luck and it was a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Wow this was great! My husband loved the twist on traditional salad for dinner. Thank you for this recipe, I can't wait to make it at summer potlucks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Very different. We love cucumbers, but never thought to add apples and pears. My husband really liked the dressing, which complimented the ingredients very nicely. No changes were made. Delicious. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      This has been a HUGE hit this summer since I made this the first time. It's fresh and tangy and everyone loved it. Now whenever we go to a BBQ, it's requested!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      To be honest, I was not sure about this recipe but I could see how these ingredients would work well together. I made this as a refreshing side salad for 20 members of our company. Big hit! I have already added this to my cookbook. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      The dressing is a marvelous combination of flavors that complement the fruit and vegetables in this dish!! I didn't have apples, so I subbed strawberries. My partner looked at this dish and I laughed and said, "What are you doing"? He replied, "Trying to figure out what's in here". My comment was, "So, what you're really trying to do is decide if you're going to put some on your plate". He admitted it, but he also went back for seconds!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Thanks, Kate, for a wonderful tasting salad. Didn't have a seedless cucumber, so used a regular cuke but seeded. Also, doubled amount of vinegar. This turned out great. Will have again as a winter salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      This was yummy. I love vinegar, so I doubled it, which also helped the fruit stand up to a night in the fridge. I also used a vidalia onion which was quite tasty. The fresh dill was also a nice surprise and went well with the apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      This was very different, but good. My BF endorsed this recipe too (actually, he picked it out, I made it). I used a Bartlett pear and Gala apples. Made the dressing ahead of time with less than 1 tablespoon oil and just before serving I cut the pear and apples. My only problem with this recipe is that I had leftovers and it didn't hold up very well overnight. Apples turned brown, pear a bit mushy. I still ate it though:D Loved the mustard and fresh dill. Thanks Chef Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Pear Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.1
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    55%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 89.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    70%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites