Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple or Pear Clafouti (An Easy French Dessert) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple or Pear Clafouti (An Easy French Dessert)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2011

      Oh yum! Very similar to bread pudding and I think it has just the right amount of sweetness to it. I used Almond milk instead of regular milk and also added a tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the mix. Baked it in my Pampered Chef 9in stoneware baker for 30 minutes and it came out perfect. The only problem, some of it stuck to the bottom but it worked out because I got to sample a little bit ;-) Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      This receipe is delicous and very easy to make, but you definitely need a bigger pie dish instead of the 8 inch one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Definitely 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      this recipe was awesome. I did a few things differently and it just tured out great. I sliced the pears really thin instead of chopping them and probably added a few more than 2 pounds. it gave a really elegant look to the cake. and i also drizzled chocolate on top by melting two blocks of semi sweet bakers chocolate on a double boiler with some light cream. I severed it at a get-together and there wasn't a peice left over!!! I would totally recomend this to anyone and everyone to try once, cause after that you'll love it forever!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      This is delicious. My husband said it may be his new favorite desert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Very good but I think I'd like it a tad sweeter :) maybe a caramel bottom Or something would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      I wish I had read the comments before I tried this recipe. It definately needs a bigger dish to cook this in. I wasn't watching the cooking time and mine came out a little burnt on top, so the end result was the dish was a little overcooked. If I was to do this one again, I would change the container and watch the cooking time. This dish is not on the sweet side of the scale, but you could definately vamp it up with a sauce, if so desired. The plus of this dessert is that I always have the ingredients on hand....so I think I would definately do this one again...just with my changes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      What a delicious dessert! I really love the way the flavor of the fruit comes through. Plenty sweet for me. And it was very easy to make. Like Melferrell, I used almond milk, but otherwise, I followed the recipe. This is definitely one I will make again. For anyone who wants something sweeter, make a cinnamon or ginger sauce or glaze to pour over the chunk on your plate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Absolutely delicious and ridiculously simple! You want to make sure you put the whole two pounds of apples in there. I baked mine for 25 minutes and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was very tasty. Reminds me of bread pudding. Not super sweet which makes it pair nicely when served warm with vanilla ice cream. I was trying to find a recipe to use up a bag of Paula Red apples (very sweet and juicy variety) with ingredients I already had at home. This was the ticket and was very simple to prepare. Thank you or posting:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      This completely hit the spot. Delicious! My modifications, while numerous, still kept the spirit and mostly the ingredients of the dessert intact, I believe. I used 4 cups diced quince which I tossed with 1/2 cup of water, 5 Tbsp. sugar, 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp cinnamon before baking at 180C for about a half an hour until softened. I stirred it half-way through baking. I then added about 1/2 cup dried cranberries to the quince. I then prepared the batter, adding 1 tsp vanilla extract and omitting the butter, poured it over the fruit, THEN I poured the melted butter atop the batter and baked thewhole thing for an additional 25 minutes (until it was brown and firm). This basic dessert construction is what my family always called a pandowdy, unlike the 'pie-crust' topped pandowdy that appears all over the 'net. Apparently we were misinformed about what we were eating as kids, but that is what I was yearning for tonight, so apparently an "upside-down" clafouti is the ticket! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This French dessert was not as sweet as it sounds but was a little good so 2 stars should do

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      I thought that this was a great recipe! I also used Granny smith apples and it was a great combination! Also, ice cream or vanilla yogurt is great with it depending on if you're eating it for dessert or breakfast. Thank you so much! Very Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      This was OK, but not very sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to this dessert. I must have done something wrong because this would not fit in my 8" cake pan. I baked it in a 2 qt. casserole dish. This wasn't quite sweet enough for my taste but the rest of the family really liked it. I think it would suit me better for breakfast than dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      Yum! Very simple, not too sweet dessert. Served with whipped sweetened cream but powdered sugar would also be nice. I used apples and agree they are best in small pieces. Can't wait to try ripe pears. Please note this recipe measures flour and sugar by weight and a kitchen scale should be used for best (and easiest!) results. Thanks, Flemish Minx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      A very nice, simple dessert (or breakfast!) I'm sure it would be terrific warm, with some whipped cream. Don't think I chopped the apples as finely as I should have, but it still came out as a very subtle tasting, European style dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2004

      A quick & easy week- night dessert! I used Granny Smith apples which gave a nice tart contrast to the sweetness of the "pudding" & served it with vanilla ice cream. Thanx FlemishMinx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple or Pear Clafouti (An Easy French Dessert)

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 673.6
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    25%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 179.2 mg
    59%
    Sodium 156.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 116.9 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 61.8 g
    247%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites