141 Reviews

Yes, awesome is the perfect word to describe this wonderful moist cake! It really deserves more than a five star rating. I made this cake using half and half in place of milk and used fresh pears, and cut down the sugar a bit. The caramel topping was just to die for on the cake. I baked mine in my air convection oven at 325 degrees, and was done in 40 minutes. I can't wait to make this cake again, it was just delicious! Sarahsmomi, thank you so much for sharing another winner!...Kitten:)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz November 26, 2004

I made this last night and it was utterly delicious! I did do some changes, which I think helped the resulting cake. I grated the apples (I used four smallish green ones) and instead of 1 cup of veg oil, I reduced it to 2/3c and put in 1 cup of milk. I also increased the amount of vanilla to 1 tbsp, and the cinnamon to 3 tsp. Eaten warm, it reminded me of very good carrot cake - except it wasn't carrot! DH LOVED the cake!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shadowdancer Duskstar March 30, 2010

Outstanding! Made this morning and served this evening for a large family gathering and was very pleased with the results. I used 4 golden delicious apples, 1T vanilla and added 1/2 tsp cardomom. I also sprinkled it with walnuts after pouring on the glaze- it was truly enjoyed by all...can't wait to try with pears!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet**Fuzion April 03, 2010

I mixed the cake just like it says in the recipe, but when I got to the part that said to "pour" , I had some serious issues. There was no way this was going to "pour" ! It was so thick that it was more a "dough" than a "batter". Question to the person who posted this: Is something missing in the ingredients that would make this able to "pour" ? Because try as I might...and following this recipe to a "T", it cannot pour. If it was supposed to be "spread in the pan" (which is how this turned out while following the recipe exactly) could you restate that in your recipe so other cooks don't think they've done something wrong while following the recipe?

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FamOf8 October 18, 2010

First off, a good portion of these many (113 as I write) reviews can't be for the recipe as written. A number of the older ones talk about how great it is to find a recipe for cake with no fat... despite the cake having 1 cup of oil plus butter in its topping, as the recipe stands right now. I don't see any "Edited to add" note on the recipe, so I'm not sure when the cake changed, either. I decided it was worth trying since many of the most recent reviews still seemed positive.

The cake itself was fine. I liked that it let me use 4 cups of apples, it was easy to prepare and the end product was moist. Having made a couple of variations on this recipe as well, I will say that my family liked a less sweet cake (omitting up to 1 c sugar total), particularly if I used the topping, and that they also liked the texture when I left about 1/2 c of chopped apples out of the batter to press onto the top after smoothing it. For a "hearty breakfast" style cake, we liked subbing 1/3 of the flour for whole wheat, and adding quick cook oats and chopped pecans to the top. I also incorporated the recent suggestions to add more vanilla and cinnamon. My batter was also very stiff; "pour" felt more like "manhandle" the batter into the pan!

Overall, okay for a starter recipe... at least as it was written the day I tried it. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinya October 28, 2010

I thought this was very easy to make and a wonderful moist yummy cake. Definitely should serve with ice cream. I grated the apples because I don't like chunks of fruit in cakes. Only changes I made was I added I tsp of nutmeg and a couple shakes of cloves to the batter. It cooked right on time and came out great. My husbands only complaint that he couldn't really taste the apples, more like a really moist heavy spice cake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy October 24, 2010

This cake was very easy to make and it was a hit. It is very moist and tasty. I followed recipe exactly but did add some powdered ginger and clove. It was super yummy out of the oven. I served it at a party the following day. Still tasted good however, next time, I won't put the sauce on until it is ready to be served.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ILoveBali October 17, 2010

Delicious! My friend brought over some pears from her tree. I had never baked with pears before, look what Ive been missing. I'm so glad I found your recipe. I will be taking this cake to many pot lucks, as it is so different from the usual offerings.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herbsnflowers September 25, 2010

My family loved this cake for dessert tonight, topped it with French Vanilla ice cream ---it was heavenly!!! However I had to bake it for more than 45 mins. ( I think mine came out close to 1 hour!) Still, it came out great!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shygirl September 06, 2010

This stuff is really easy and good!!! Poked holes in the top like another reviewer suggested, using a fork, before pouring the glaze on. Thanks for the recipe. I made a few slight changes - used coconut oil for the oil, did 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1 tsp cinnamon instead of 2 tsps cinnamon and for the glaze, I didn't use as much butter. I think it would've been too soggy if I had. Not sure what 1 lb. butter translates to, but I only did something around the neighborhood of 1/4 cup. Will definitely be making this again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyx April 14, 2010
Apple or Pear Cake