Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Oatmeal Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Oatmeal Muffins

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2002

      Just as a note for everyone, the tablespoon of baking powder in the recipe was not an error. When you happen upon a recipe and you think something is in error, it is better to click where it says "Find an error? Send us questions or corrections" because the Zaar forwards an email to the chef asking them about it. I hadn't gotten a mail, or I could have answered this easily. I'm sorry that Ellie2 ended up using the wrong amount and had the muffins turn out bad because of it. I hope next time, there will be a better ending.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

      These old fashioned muffins were just what I have been looking for. The apples gave the muffins a tartness, but not overpowering. I used Granny Smiths'. I loved the density of these muffins too. Warm from the oven, they made a great breakfast treat, and healthy too. Thanks for sharing, Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      These are quick and easy to prepare. They have kind of a unique flavor since the quantities of cinnamon and nutmeg are reversed from the norm. Thank you for sharing Sue!!! I just ate three of them for lunch. :-))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      Not at all what I expected. These were really bland and tasteless. I even added a little extra spice, apple and used a flavored instant oatmeal. The low sugar part was absolutely right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Mine were overpowering with baking powder taste. I know Sue said it was not an error, but it just did not turn out well for me. I am still going to try again and next time just use 1 tsp of baking powder, like my gut instinct told me. I think the potential is definitely there!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      These are really great muffins Sue! Thanks for the recipe it is nice to not have so much sugar added when there already is natural sugar in the apples. I did a few changes, I soaked the oats in the milk/lemon juice to make butter milk. And I did half Oil and the other half with Yogurt. Then I topped it with a sprinkle of Brown, white sugar and cinamon as my little ones love the crunch! Oh yes, I did double the batch! This is definetely a keeper!!!! Thanks for sharing such a great FAMILY snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      We were disappointed with these muffins. Despite the 1 tbls. of baking powder, they didn't rise much. I would recommend filling them at least 3/4 full. I did the traditional 2/3 and some of them were pretty short. Even though they were moist, the overwhelming flavor was the baking powder. The kids ate them but said they were only "okay". I think I would cut back on the baking powder and let them be a little denser while add some vanilla and/or more cinnamon for a better flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      This recipe is terrible! So bland, honestly, a waste of time. I don't understand how it's rated 4 stars. I threw out the batch I made. My hunt for a good apple muffin continues.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      These were terrible, all I tasted was the baking soda, no flavor, reminded me of a diabetic diet muffin:(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I was not impressed with these muffins. The nutmeg taste overpowered everything else, even though I reduced the amount called for by half. Otherwise I found them very bland and not sweet enough. I also found them quite crumbly. I am going to continue to search for a great apple oatmeal muffin recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Thank you so much for this recipe! I was trying to find something to do with all the carrot and apple pulp from my juicer. Instead of the apples, I used about 1 1/2-2 cups of apple/carrot pulp.I also drizzled a little bit of maple flavored agave nectar right after they came out of the oven... yum!! They turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      I was very pleased with how these turned out. I used 1/2 cup of egg substitute and 1/2 cup of applesauce in place of the oil to save a few calories. I also used regular oatmeal (not the quick cooking) but that didn't cause any problems. I got six muffins from my Texas-sized muffin cups. Due to their size, I did have to bake them for an extra 10 minutes. This is a keeper and I will make this recipe again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      Oh.... I forgot to add the rating to my comments. I gave it 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      These muffins are great. Made exactly as stated. I used two large Granny Smith apples. Oh, and with a dab of homemade apple butter these are apple heaven. Will definitely make these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Delicious and moist! The whole family loved them! Followed recipe except substituted applesauce for 1/2 of oil, doubled the cinnamon, used regular rolled oats (not instant), and used 2 large apples (golden delicious) so that they were extra fruity. Also added a streusel topping. So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      These are TERRIBLE. So salty, not much flavor and the batter is *way* too thin and watery. Had to bake for 40 minutes and they still were not fully set. Such a waste of time and effort. Very, very disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Muffins were easy to make and were very moist but I found that they didn't have enough flavour. I think that next time I will add a little more cinnamon to the batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      I tend to never follow a recipe exactly so here's the tweaks I made:
      -Coconut oil instead of vegetable
      -Whole wheat flour instead of white
      -1 Tablespoon cinnamon (I omitted the nutmeg)
      -For the apples, I used one small granny smith and one large honey crisp (not peeled)
      ...They came out super delicious! Just what we were in the mood for. Thanks for your recipe, Sue. I'm giving 5 stars but it's based off my alterations, because I have not tried the recipe exactly as listed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      These were nice but had too much of a nutmeg flavor for me. I think the next time I will add less mutmeg and more cinnamon. I also was surprised that I tasted slightly salty. I used coarse kosher salt and I may need to add slightly less than recommended. I shredded the apples which made a nice muffin and I topped it with streusel topping. My son (4) had one this morning and asked for another in his lunchbox. Definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      I thought 1 tablespoon of baking powder seemed like too much. It was, rendering the muffins bitter with the flavor of Baking powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Oatmeal Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1052 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.5
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    48%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 33.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 304.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes