16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was quite happy with this recipe, but it makes an odd cookie, as can be expected by using oil as the fat. The consistency of the cookies was very soft and quite cake-like, and they tended to fall apart after a couple of days of storage. I agree with the other reviewers that the recipe would make excellent muffins or mini-muffins. I wish I had a mini-muffin pan, but when I make this recipe again, I probably will make it in muffin form instead of cookie form. I used old-fashioned oats that i had chopped more finely with my hand-blender attachment as I don't think this recipe would do well with the more rustic texture of plain old-fashioned oats. I also didn't use raisins. I used Jona-Mac apples peeled and chopped finely, which is a bit labor-intensive but worth it. Next time I also might reduce the brown sugar content as I tend to like things less sweet and would like more of the honey character to come through. A final note, I baked my cookies on parchment paper as suggested in other comments, and the cookies seemed to be a bit more brown on the bottom than I would have expected from their tops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eris October 18, 2008

Like other reviewers, I made mini-muffins rather than cookies. Here are some tips I hope will help you: you will get 36 mini muffins, fill each muffin tin level with the top, bake 375 for 12 minutes. I plan to frost them with a maple buttercream and then sprinkle with walnuts. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva September 23, 2008

For this recipe I chose to make mine in mini muffin pans. My DH loved this flavor of them. I loved the flavor of this recipe. Will be making again. Great cookies or mini muffins to try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE September 17, 2008

I have been making the same recipe for years and everyone loves them. I omit the raisins too but add a little more apple. I also add 1/4 cup of wheatgerm. You can also drop the batter into muffin pans and make great tasting muffins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Woody W. December 11, 2007

I replaced the raisins with craisins (dried cranberries). I also used 2 egg whites instead of the egg and 1/4 C apple sauce in place of 1/2 the oil. These are awesome and they make the whole house smell delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jen #1 November 22, 2006

Yummy!!! A wonderful moist cookie. I omitted the raisins, but add 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. I will definitely make this recipe again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruralchef October 24, 2006

These smelled AMAZING while baking! We were a littel disappointed by the "cake-like" texture of the cookie. The flavour is good though! We will probably make these again as they are fairly good for you. I think next time, we will end up doing like Toni did and subbing in some applesauce. And I think we will try them without the apple and up the amount of raisins instead. All in all, a good cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn July 01, 2006

Served these at lunch and they were a huge hit. I replaced half the oil with apple sauce with not only made these a tad bit healthier but intensified the apple flavor. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 29, 2006

Yum! I made a half recipe of these. I liked the fairly large amount of apple in these. This ensured apple pieces in every bite. I also really liked the raisin/apple flavor combo with the chewy texture of the oats. I added half the honey and a little less oil, which turned out great. Thanks for a keeper NimrodCook!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 23, 2006

very good...i used all wholewheat flour(and reduced the quantity by 1/4) very tasty and had many requests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noreenruth June 17, 2006
Apple-Oatmeal Cookies