8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So easy to make with ingredients that most cooks would have on hand. I made these for a fundraiser at DH's work place. The dish was picked clean and everyone loved them. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word November 05, 2013

These bars were awesome! when I mixed the ingredients I was a little worried the end product would be pretty dry, but they weren't at all.I baked mine on 325 for 15 minutes and then back in the oven they went for 20 minutes after adding the nuts,applesauce,and the topping.I will be saving this recipe for sure. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathrine I. September 06, 2013

These are great! Quick and easy and very good! I used Trader Joe's natural Chucky Applesauce and skipped the nuts. My son loved them. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djdtoy August 20, 2008

These are very, very good bars! I like the fact that they are a bit different and appeal to everybody. I did add the salt, but skipped the nuts. Super, super, super easy to make (one bowl to use) and fool-proof. I grated fresh nutmeg and I think that was a bit overpowering. Next time I will use a tad less of the nutmeg if using freshly grated. I also will use a tad more cinnamon. Oh, and I did add a bit more applesauce, probably 1/4 cup more. Didn't even let the crust layer cool down as instructed. Wanted to hurry up and get them done because they looked and smelled so good! Try these super easy and great tasting bars. I promise they'll be a permanent addition to your collection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
golfergirlj May 21, 2008

Wow, my husband really loves these! I had been looking for something to make him to take in his lunches instead of buying nutri-grain bars, and he absolutely loves these! Thank you so much for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrookenBee May 17, 2008

Really, really good! I used 3 100ml applesauce fruit cups and cut the "bars" into triangles. I also trimmed down the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/8 teaspoon allspice. Baked them at 350 not 375 - 15 minutes for the base and about 30 minutes with the topping. Wonderful apple crumble flavour and chewy texture. Thanks for a great little gem of a recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emjay99 December 26, 2005

Got rave reviews! Was so easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jannagustin August 05, 2005

This recipe was a really pleasant surprise. Such simple ingredients, but excellent flavor and texture! These bars remind me of something between an apple cobbler (as Ocean~Ivy said) and a chewy oatmeal granola bar. I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8 pan, baking it for slightly less time than stated. I kept the cinnamon and nutmeg amounts the same though (essentially doubling those ingredients) and the spice was perfect to our tastes. Anyone who likes oatmeal and apples will love these. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl October 31, 2004
Apple & Oat Crumb Bars