17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake turned out scrumptiously and the recipe was very easy to follow!! In the cake, I replaced a bit of the flour with oats to add more fiber; for the filling, I used cream cheese instead of butter b/c I was runing low on butter but high on the cream cheese (turned out perfectly); used toasted almonds in the filling, added raisins to the cake, and put my new spice that I received from miller in also (cardamom) as I did not have all the spices. I also used 1 egg istead of just the egg whites. I will definantly be making this in the future!! thanks a lot Mirj!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mallina Cashew March 29, 2003

I just made this, and it was a hit! Everyone in my family loved it. From reading the reviews, I decided to use 6 tbsp butter, and one whole egg and one egg white instead of the 2 whites, and it was really great! I went a little heavy on the apple as well, and I didn't find it dry at all. Thank you so much for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angcooks May 05, 2010

Great cake! Moist, sweet, and light. Easy to put together, although it does make a lot of dirty dishes. And very, very yummy! Next time I will probably double the nuts in the topping for even more crunch. *I replaced the 3/4 cup sugar with 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda with no ill effects.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin' from scratch April 28, 2007

This is amazing - I made a few changes also and it turned out great. Substituted sucanat for the brown sugar and part of the white sugar, used all whole wheat pastry flour, and added 1/2 c maple syrup. Also used sour cream, a tsp of vanilla, and a pinch of baking soda - it is awesome.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momvaughn December 21, 2006

This recipe is fantastic! I made some healthy changes which included using all whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the margarine and also decreased the sugar to 1/3 of a cup. It smells and tastes great and will surely make again! Thanks Mirj!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Collegegal Baker October 05, 2006

Great recipe. I used 1 whole egg in place of the 2 egg whites and I was out of wheat flour so I substituted oat flour (made by putting oatmeal in a blender/chopper until it turns to powder). I didn't have any nuts and I didn't bother to peal the apples I just chopped them real fine in a food chopper. I baked this last night and it is gone already.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jen #1 October 05, 2005

Very tasty and moist. I used 2 Granny Smith apples, a full stick of butter, and added 1/8 tsp. of ground cloves since I was out of allspice. I also used whole wheat pastry flour. I made it the night before and baked it in the morning, and it turned out great. Delicious and easy - this coffee cake is just right for fall!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WWade September 26, 2005

Followed recipe to a "T" with the exception that I added 1/2 c. of butter rather then the 1/4 c. called for. I goofed. Oh well. It was scrumptious anyway. The kids loved it for breakfast. A definite do-againer. Thanks Mirj!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex April 26, 2003

I didn't have any problems making this and it came out great. Nice and moist and deliciously flavored. I loved the nuts and thought they added so much to the overall flavor of the oats and apples. I did substitute Splenda for the sugar and it worked out fine. I love having new things for breakfast and this will be a nice addition to my morning munchies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen August 31, 2011

There are several things here. Like the last reviewer, mine also doesn't look anything at all like the photo. The cake is moist, but the streusal is rather dry. Also, as a whole, I don't find that it has much flavor to it. For me it was kind of bland and blah, but my husband likes it a little bit more than me. I probably won't make this again, but thank you anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen June 10, 2009
Apple-Oat Coffee Cake