Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple-Oat Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple-Oat Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2003

      This cake turned out scrumptiously and the recipe was very easy to follow!! In the cake, I replaced a bit of the flour with oats to add more fiber; for the filling, I used cream cheese instead of butter b/c I was runing low on butter but high on the cream cheese (turned out perfectly); used toasted almonds in the filling, added raisins to the cake, and put my new spice that I received from miller in also (cardamom) as I did not have all the spices. I also used 1 egg istead of just the egg whites. I will definantly be making this in the future!! thanks a lot Mirj!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      I just made this, and it was a hit! Everyone in my family loved it. From reading the reviews, I decided to use 6 tbsp butter, and one whole egg and one egg white instead of the 2 whites, and it was really great! I went a little heavy on the apple as well, and I didn't find it dry at all. Thank you so much for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Great cake! Moist, sweet, and light. Easy to put together, although it does make a lot of dirty dishes. And very, very yummy! Next time I will probably double the nuts in the topping for even more crunch. *I replaced the 3/4 cup sugar with 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda with no ill effects.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      This is amazing - I made a few changes also and it turned out great. Substituted sucanat for the brown sugar and part of the white sugar, used all whole wheat pastry flour, and added 1/2 c maple syrup. Also used sour cream, a tsp of vanilla, and a pinch of baking soda - it is awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      This recipe is fantastic! I made some healthy changes which included using all whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the margarine and also decreased the sugar to 1/3 of a cup. It smells and tastes great and will surely make again! Thanks Mirj!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Great recipe. I used 1 whole egg in place of the 2 egg whites and I was out of wheat flour so I substituted oat flour (made by putting oatmeal in a blender/chopper until it turns to powder). I didn't have any nuts and I didn't bother to peal the apples I just chopped them real fine in a food chopper. I baked this last night and it is gone already.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      Very tasty and moist. I used 2 Granny Smith apples, a full stick of butter, and added 1/8 tsp. of ground cloves since I was out of allspice. I also used whole wheat pastry flour. I made it the night before and baked it in the morning, and it turned out great. Delicious and easy - this coffee cake is just right for fall!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2003

      Followed recipe to a "T" with the exception that I added 1/2 c. of butter rather then the 1/4 c. called for. I goofed. Oh well. It was scrumptious anyway. The kids loved it for breakfast. A definite do-againer. Thanks Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      I didn't have any problems making this and it came out great. Nice and moist and deliciously flavored. I loved the nuts and thought they added so much to the overall flavor of the oats and apples. I did substitute Splenda for the sugar and it worked out fine. I love having new things for breakfast and this will be a nice addition to my morning munchies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      There are several things here. Like the last reviewer, mine also doesn't look anything at all like the photo. The cake is moist, but the streusal is rather dry. Also, as a whole, I don't find that it has much flavor to it. For me it was kind of bland and blah, but my husband likes it a little bit more than me. I probably won't make this again, but thank you anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      By looking at the picture I am wondering if I made my cake right. It tasted very good, but quite frankly did not look like the picture. My husband said it was good. I served it with whip cream. I will try this again and see if it turns out like the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      LOVELY, lovely, lovely! Great cake...made it this afternoon and it was so easy to put together.. Thanks so much for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      This tastes good. Better the second day though. My 2 year old son ate quite a bit of it. Worth a repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      fantastic cake. i am always looking for "oat" recipes, and this one is a keeper. i wouldn't change a thing, perfect cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      Nice and simple .. Thanks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      Nice cake with lots and lots of tasty oat flavor. Now, I followed the recipe using only 1/4 cup butter, but mine turned out a tad dry, so maybe the alteration Heather U. and BothFex made of using a full stick is a good one. It wasn't floury or anything- just those oats suck up moisture, so it really cried out for a glass of milk or some tea. Flavor was good. I thought that it could have been a tad more appley. I also thought that the streusel seemed kind of dry. I think that I agree with Heather U. and that maybe some more brown sugar could be used in lieu of some of the oats. Its terribly sweet, but that makes it taste very "down home". Good hearty breakfast cake- a nice one for oat lovers- like I said before LOTS of oat flavor. Thanks Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Mirj, I made your delicious coffee cake for this morning's breakfast. What a treat. For the whole wheat flour, I used whole wheat pastry flour, and I added a bit of soy flour as well. I found that one large-ish McIntosh apple was the perfect size, and I used 1 stick of light butter and added 2 tsp of vanilla. I love the oat streusel and next time I think I'll replace 1/4 c of the oats with brown sugar to make it a bit sweeter. Thanks for posting your tasty coffee cake recipe. (P.S. I prepared this last night before bed, popped it in the refrigerator, and baked it this morning-- worked like a charm, which makes this a wonderful dish to serve overnight guests.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple-Oat Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.1
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    16%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 252.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 20.4 g
    81%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    firm margarine

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites