Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Muffins

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2007

      Very good! I did make a few changes. I doubled it, and got 36 muffins. I didn't have any buttermilk, so substituted with 2% milk mixed with 1 TBS of lemon juice. I mixed the baking soda with the flour, along with about 1/2 tsp of baking powder (as suggested by another reviewer). I omitted the nuts, and added about 1 tsp. of cinnamon. I had WAY too much topping left... at least double what I needed. Will definately make again, but will add more cinnamon, and some nutmeg. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      I just finished one and they are wonderful. I grated my apple and only used raw sugar on top. Will be making these again tomorrow to use up some of the apples DH picked for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      These are brilliant muffins. I made it to take it to my daughter's end of school year event and it was a big hit! I doubled the recipe but forgot to count how many I got in all. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used milk and lemon juice instead, left out the nuts but added in an extra half cup of apples and as suggested by the other reviewer I added in 1 tsp of baking powder. Did I mention everyone loved it! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe, ellie, I will be making it again today to take to my son's nursery potluck this evening!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Very nice muffin recipe. I made minor adjustments based on ingredients on hand (like making buttermilk substitute with 1% milk and lemon juice and letting sit) and I used Canola oil just as I think it is a bit healthier than vegetable oil. I did follow the instructions and allowed the baking soda to react with the buttermilk instead of placing it with the dry ingredients. I too much topping mix in the end and would cut back on that by about a third to prevent waste but maybe that is just I like a muffin with less crumbles?? Very nice recipe that I found through Newest Zaar Stars tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Great muffins! It took two tries and a little tweaking to make this a recipe worth keeping. To make these really moist they need more apples, at least half a cup ( I also added raisins). Also I switched out the butter and white sugar topping for more of a crumble with brown sugar, butter, and oatmeal. Add a little cinnamon to the flour, reduce the sugar to 1 cup, and they can't be beat! I used half white and half wheat flour, the cinnamon really helps to disguise that odd wheat flour taste. These will be a breakfast staple in my freezer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      This is the first time I've ever made muffins where I declared: "Oh! That's what a muffin is supposed to taste like". Hazelnuts for pecans and I made 6 regular size muffins and 9 mini muffins. ~Tasty~ and I enjoyed these with eggnog and it was the perfect autumn recipe on a cold, rainy day. I decided to fill the muffin tins completely full plus a little extra and lo and behold I got the coveted dome top! Used one and a half honeycrisp apples and I was a little careless about completely peeling them so a few pieces of apple skin sneaked through the back door. PS Didn't think about it until later, but I didn't miss the cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice that would normally be added to this type of recipe. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Tag November.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      I took these to a party recently and they were a big hit. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      These were very soft and moist. I made without topping due to time constraints but I still think they were wonderful and plenty sweet. I will make these again for sure. * Used pink lady apples and added a little cinnamon to the chopped apples*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      Love this recipe. I substituted walnuts for the pecans. I used the large muffin pans instead of the regular size. They were sooo good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      Excellent! I've made this recipe a number of times, and each time I cut the amount of brown sugar. I've tried as little as 3/4 cup sugar, and the muffins are still great. I often add raisins to help add natural sweetness. Also, I only use whole wheat flour (to bump up the nutritional value) and they are still delicious. They don't last too long around our house. Another family favorite found! Thanks Ellie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      Great recipe! I got 24 muffins .. After reading the reviews, I added 1/2t baking soda and 1t baking powder to the flour .. My muffins had rounded tops that way .. thanks I will make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      These are WONDERFUL ... BIG hit with the family. I added a touch of cinnamon and nutmeg to the sugar topping ... just a little. They disappeared in a heartbeat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      These are quite good. I made some changes to make them "healthier". First, I used vegan butter for the topping. Second, I used 1/2 whole wheat flour & 1/2 AP flour. Next, I subbed a flax egg for the egg (1T ground flax 3 T warm water, let sit for a few minutes). For the oil I used 1/3 c applesauce & 1/3 c canola oil. For the buttermilk I used a mixture of rice milk & almond milk and a bit of apple cider vinegar. You could easily add more apples, cinnamon & cut the sugar amount down a bit too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      These turned out amazing! I doubled the recipe, but then started running out of things, so I substituted. I halved white flour with whole wheat flour, added some cinnamon (to balance out the sugar), and added some pears with the apples. I also added cinnamon and rolled oats to the topping mixture. They came out very moist and delicious. I'll definitely make them again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      These were very good. I did cut the sugar to 1 cup based on other reviews, and next time I would go to 3/4. But otherwise just great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I needed to get rid of some extra apples and this turned out to be the perfect recipe. I had everything on hand except for the buttermilk, which I just ended up substituting with other things I had on hand. This was a huge hit at my mom's house, even my mother who doesn't like fruit in her baked goods loved it. I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      very very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      after trying several muffin recipes, this one worked for me. it was lovely and moist, hubby loved them. the only change i made and that's because i ran out of butter, was to use tahini to the sugar for the topping, it gave it a really nice flavour. i will probably cut down on the sugar as some other people have mentioned, next time. there will defo be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Wonderful! Each bite is like a mini party in your mouth. Somehow, even though I made the muffins, I still expected a hint of cinnamon, and perhaps with my next batch I may add just a touch. These muffins were a bit more dense than I had expected and very filling. They rise beautifully and taste even better : ) Thanks, for this wonderful recipe, Ellie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      These muffins are amazing!! They are like a caramel apple muffin. Extremely moist and flavorful. Even though I love cinnamon, it was a nice change to not have any included in an apple muffin recipe. I was a little surprised at the flat tops but the taste more than made up for the appearance. And next time I'll put the baking soda in the flour, not the buttermilk. It just clumped up in the buttermilk. I made a couple without the sugar topping and they were good too. Warning, these are very addictive. We had them for breakfast, dessert after supper and I just finished one for a 'bedtime snack'. Will be making again for sure! Thanks so much ellie2!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 296.3
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    33%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 274.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 30.1 g
    120%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites