24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! I did make a few changes. I doubled it, and got 36 muffins. I didn't have any buttermilk, so substituted with 2% milk mixed with 1 TBS of lemon juice. I mixed the baking soda with the flour, along with about 1/2 tsp of baking powder (as suggested by another reviewer). I omitted the nuts, and added about 1 tsp. of cinnamon. I had WAY too much topping left... at least double what I needed. Will definately make again, but will add more cinnamon, and some nutmeg. Very yummy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn 2574 October 26, 2007

I just finished one and they are wonderful. I grated my apple and only used raw sugar on top. Will be making these again tomorrow to use up some of the apples DH picked for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 13, 2012

These are brilliant muffins. I made it to take it to my daughter's end of school year event and it was a big hit! I doubled the recipe but forgot to count how many I got in all. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used milk and lemon juice instead, left out the nuts but added in an extra half cup of apples and as suggested by the other reviewer I added in 1 tsp of baking powder. Did I mention everyone loved it! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe, ellie, I will be making it again today to take to my son's nursery potluck this evening!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum June 23, 2011

Very nice muffin recipe. I made minor adjustments based on ingredients on hand (like making buttermilk substitute with 1% milk and lemon juice and letting sit) and I used Canola oil just as I think it is a bit healthier than vegetable oil. I did follow the instructions and allowed the baking soda to react with the buttermilk instead of placing it with the dry ingredients. I too much topping mix in the end and would cut back on that by about a third to prevent waste but maybe that is just I like a muffin with less crumbles?? Very nice recipe that I found through Newest Zaar Stars tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom April 05, 2011

Great muffins! It took two tries and a little tweaking to make this a recipe worth keeping. To make these really moist they need more apples, at least half a cup ( I also added raisins). Also I switched out the butter and white sugar topping for more of a crumble with brown sugar, butter, and oatmeal. Add a little cinnamon to the flour, reduce the sugar to 1 cup, and they can't be beat! I used half white and half wheat flour, the cinnamon really helps to disguise that odd wheat flour taste. These will be a breakfast staple in my freezer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milking Mom November 28, 2010

This is the first time I've ever made muffins where I declared: "Oh! That's what a muffin is supposed to taste like". Hazelnuts for pecans and I made 6 regular size muffins and 9 mini muffins. ~Tasty~ and I enjoyed these with eggnog and it was the perfect autumn recipe on a cold, rainy day. I decided to fill the muffin tins completely full plus a little extra and lo and behold I got the coveted dome top! Used one and a half honeycrisp apples and I was a little careless about completely peeling them so a few pieces of apple skin sneaked through the back door. PS Didn't think about it until later, but I didn't miss the cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice that would normally be added to this type of recipe. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Tag November.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 19, 2010

I took these to a party recently and they were a big hit. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OLJ November 03, 2010

These were very soft and moist. I made without topping due to time constraints but I still think they were wonderful and plenty sweet. I will make these again for sure. * Used pink lady apples and added a little cinnamon to the chopped apples*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k.fullerton May 19, 2008

Love this recipe. I substituted walnuts for the pecans. I used the large muffin pans instead of the regular size. They were sooo good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dynamiclyricist December 23, 2005

Excellent! I've made this recipe a number of times, and each time I cut the amount of brown sugar. I've tried as little as 3/4 cup sugar, and the muffins are still great. I often add raisins to help add natural sweetness. Also, I only use whole wheat flour (to bump up the nutritional value) and they are still delicious. They don't last too long around our house. Another family favorite found! Thanks Ellie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenBean #2 October 08, 2005
Apple Muffins