24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this because I had to use up some milk before it went bad. My husband and his best friend absolutely loved it. I'm not much of a milk drinker but I enjoyed it too. I hesitate to rate it with stars since I didn't follow the recipe but it's pretty close. I used one giant fuji apple. I didn't have any orange flower water and I'm allergic to rose, so I put in some orange zest instead. I poured it over some crushed ice and wow! It was great. We loved the frothy texture. It was a bit sweet for my own taste, so I'll make it without sugar next time. If I used an apple that wasn't as sweet, I might add the sugar or some honey.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Portland Girl February 05, 2009

I made this for breakfast this morning, and boy, it is good! I used the orange flower water. I also left the peel on for added fiber. I bet a mere pinch of cardamom would be good in it too! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott March 26, 2008

I used the whole apple as I did this in a Vita-Mix blender. I also exchanged SummerSweet for the sugar, and used the orange blossom water. Was very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlee November 12, 2007

The husband loved it, said 5 stars. I liked the fact that he got a whole apple into him with grumbling. This would have to work with kids too. Really nice consistency and healthy. I used orange flower water. Be careful with it, a little goes a long way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha June 17, 2007

Loved it ! what a turn up for the books, this one takes you quite by surprise. I cut the recipe down for one drink and still needed at least a cup of milk and the result resembled a thickshake. Tastewise it was very refreshing and I liked it more than I thought I would when I first looked at the recipe. Since this is the Zaar World Tour the aim is to be a little adventurous and try new things and in this case I was pleasantly surprised and will make this again! I added orange flower water and it gave the mix something special so I would advise that it not be left out. Please see my rating system: 4 excellent stars for a very refreshing take on milk and apples. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 14, 2007

My husband is from Egypt and generally Sharbat is served at weddings but traditionally for him it's more of a flowerly drink and is red. I hadn't had this Moroccan drinnk before so was new to me I did use 2 TBLS Honey instead of the sugar my husband loved it and gave it a 4 Thanks =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen June 11, 2007

I used the rose water and I blended this with a bit of ice and it was delightfully foamy. It tasted like my grandmother smells, and although I loved her dearly and this brought back fond memories of her, it's not something I necessarily wish to drink. I would like to try it with the orange flower water because I did like the consistency of this drink. Thanks! Made for Zaar World Tour 3.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial June 09, 2007

I have never had anything like this but I really enjoyed it. I used just a tad less than the listed rose water and skim milk. The texture was a little pulpy but that is what makes it so good! Thanks Rita for this new flavor sensation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 07, 2007

I made a glass of this to have with breakfast, which might not be the traditional thing, but it tasted delicious! Light, fruity, frothy. Really good. I used Orange water, but will give rosewater a stab next time I have some in.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugaredAlmond June 21, 2006

Wow! As others have said, I didn't know what to expect in either texture or taste but that was a wonderful drink! Particulary enjoyed the frothy part - felt like I was having a milkshake even though I used fat free milk. Thanks for introducing me to a healthy, quick & tasty recipe. I already feel other fruits creeping into the mix ...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie June 19, 2006
Apple Milk Drink (Sharbat)