14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yes, a great go-to recipe I will use often. I used half whole-wheat flour and added extra apples and extra spices- mixed spice, nutmeg, ground ginger. It came out a bit crumbly, which I like. I doubled the recipe to make two extra 1-pound loaves for the neighbors who also loved it. It's great warmed for breakfast or in a packed lunch, too.<br/><br/>Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momo UK July 01, 2014

I have made this twice now - Love It! I use Smart Balance in place of butter; 1/2 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup Splenda; eggbeaters; 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour 1/2 cup whole wheat flour; add 1/2 cup butterscotch chips in with the 1/2 walnuts. So Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SEvans November 17, 2010

I love quick breads! Easy to make and a great treat with a cup of tea. This was moist and flavorful! Made as posted with pecans as that was what I had on hand. Thanks for a lovely recipe Boomie! Made on Taste Tester's recommendation for I Recommend Tag and also for Harvest Moon Apple Festival in the Diabetic Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn October 14, 2010

Nice bread but needs work. Next time I think I will skip the cinnamon and use apple pie spice instead. Very moist, almost too moist to slice. Not sure what to do about that. Good start but needs tweaking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gluten_free_mommy_cook October 13, 2010

YOWZER!!! Has got to be one of the best quick breads I've ever made. It was SO moist! I forgot to add the walnuts but next time I will remember them. Will be making this one alot! Yummy! Made for 1-2-3 Tag Game 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 22, 2010

What a wonderful moist and fruity recipe! I made it in star muffin pans and was thrilled by the delicious taste and easyness of it all! Very, very yummy! I made half of the recipe and got 6 star muffins out of it (thats nine ordinary Id say). In place of the walnuts I used granola cereal, decreased the sugar to 40 g and added 1tbs of honey. Other than that followed the recipe exactly and had wonderful results! Thank you so much for sharing this keeper of a recipe! Next time Ill try it with some raisins or even more apple in the batter. Made for Went to the Market Tag February 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 27, 2009

Loved the idea of using a red & a green apple diced small & followed the recipe right on down after that! OUTSTANDING SMELL & TASTE & a definite keeper of a recipe! This first one was shared by a group I host, but next time around, it's just for the two of us to devour! Thanks so much for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 29, 2008

I made this as written except for including a full t. of cinnamon and about 1/2 t. nutmeg. Omitted the walnuts per families request. Really great tasting bread and the smell through-out the house was wonderful. Thanks France.! Made for ZaarTag~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB December 27, 2008

Boomie ~~ What a winner of a recipe you have here! I followed the recipe exactly except for using chopped almonds in place of the walnuts. I did use the cinnamon (1/2 tsp) and sprinkled a bit of nutmet in the batter too (you know me love that flavor combo!). The bread is moist and wonderfully delicious. It is not overly moist in that it slices easily without falling apart! So glad I tagged you in Zaar Stars! :) Planning on making another loaf for Christmas morning! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom December 22, 2008

I stole another reviewers idea of using red and green apples for color. I added cinnamon cause it just goes so well with apples. I loved this! It was nice and moist and we ate almost the whole thing in one sitting! Because of the red and green apples I may make this again for Christmas dinner :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 December 12, 2008
Apple Loaf