10 Reviews

A very simple recipe, but the results were outstanding. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar, and 2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon. The crust came out real good, was not too sweet, and all agreed that this was definately a top 10 for the year. Great topping too. Made for Zaar Stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker November 20, 2010

I wish I could give more than 5 stars! Wow! This was easy to make, and tastes wonderful! My hubby says this is up there at the top with his favorite apple desserts. That's saying a lot since he loves his apples! Made for ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York June 03, 2010

tagged for Comfort Cafe 2009. I KNEW this would be good as it is from Sydney Mike. Now I have to explain how dinner's dessert is missing a piece or two. This is great and from a cake mix makes it even better! Mike this is absolutely wonderful and so easy to put together with ingredients most of us have in the house. I used a Pillsbury yellow cake mix with the pudding in it. I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 c plus a smidgeon. to try and reduce sugar intake. It is great! Not too sweet and not too tart. DH is going to love this one as he loves apples and apple desserts! Thank you!!! Saved to favorites! Connie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie January 16, 2009

I love the simplicity of this! I was worried there wouldn't be enough moisture in the cake mix to keep it together but it did! I found it was too sweet so next time I'd halve the sugar. The sour cream topping was great cause DH, who claims to not like sour cream, thought it was wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 November 19, 2008

Very creamy dessert. The DH gave it 5 stars, I gave it a 4. I wasn't too fond of the creamy part, but I think it was more of a texture problem for me. I used my favorite apple slicer/corer gizmo on the apples, and they came out great. The crust was nice, almost like a cookie. Tagged for PRMR Tag 08. Thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ October 23, 2008

So easy - so good - another of those 'I can't believe it's a cake mix' kind of desserts. The coconut in the base and the sour cream gave this an added touch. The teenager said 'awesome' and we all agreed! Thank you for sharing an Apple Kuchen that is so super easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry August 12, 2008

Mmmm -- what a great treat! The apples turned out perfectly - not mushy at all. They had a small amount of firmess left which went nicely with the softness of the cake. And the sour cream topping was so good. Thanks, Syd, for this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester July 09, 2008

This was so simple and easy to make dessert using the fruits I already had instead of apples. I used peaches, apricots and figs from my yard. I did not have yellow cake mix and used white cake mix. Wonderful dessert for 4th of July barbecue at home tomorrow. Thank you Sydney Mike for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori July 03, 2008

Simple, yet wonderful. I followed others advice, and used 1/4 cup of sugar (brown in my case). I used butter, and not margarine, which i think made it richer. If you pat the crust too hard it's difficult to cut, so make sure and LIGHTLY pat it into the pan. Took it to a friends for after dinner dessert, and everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary October 15, 2014

I was disappointed with this recipe after all the great reviews. The crust is hard and difficult to get out of the pan, despite having the pan well greased. The amounts called for on the recipe appear to be out of order.. 1/4 cup of margarine to 18 1/2 ounces of cake mix..cake mix comes in 15 ounce packages w/ the same amount of margarine and it was too dry at that measurement. The apples came out great (I used brown sugar instead of white). The custard was tasty, but very runny. Again, I think this is a measurement issue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpotterak_11983723 December 31, 2011
Apple Kuchen