12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good & moist added extra apple pieces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dana78olson November 19, 2011

Definitely tasty and moist. It is more of a cake than a bar (as others have said). I used whole wheat flour and otherwise followed recipe exactly. Next time, I think I'll make it in a loaf pan, add raisins and nuts and see how that works.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmkga September 30, 2008

Thanks KC_Cooker for such a light and tasty recipe. I used unsalted butter and whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour, it turned out just perfect. I could give 10 stars if I could.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Santi Zilcan February 23, 2008

These were very good: moist, with strong apple, cinnamon, and honey flavors. I made these for Rosh Hashanah, and served them with vanilla ice cream. DH and DS loved them, too. I was amazed that the honey flavor came through as well as it did--it really shone, despite the cinnamon and apples. I used granny smith instead of golden delicious, as I prefer the flavor. Also, I used clover honey. A stronger honey might be good, but it might overwhelm the apple, too. I'd stick with clover honey, myself. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve September 13, 2007

Edit: I had a few of these stashed in my freezer and after thawing, I warmed them in the microwave for about 10 seconds and served with a dollop of Haagen-Daz lowfat caramel ice cream. There are definitely a dessert to be eaten a la mode. They were delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElleFirebrand September 27, 2006

these are great, they're not too sweet. The texture is rather cakey and quite tender. I used granny smith apple, chopped coarsely (for a bit of crunch) and added 1/2 cup chopped toasted almonds (for crunch). I served them with Haagen Daz Rum Raisin ice cream, which is TDF! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaterMelon March 23, 2005

This is a very tasty bar. It is a quick and easy bar to make. I did make a glaze and drizzle on top. It was just as good the next morning with coffee. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev. E. October 25, 2004

These were good freshly baked, and were better the next day. I really liked the cinnamon and (especially) the honey flavors, which made these just a bit different than other recipes I've tried. They are "just right" as far as sweetness goes. I agree these bars are really like a cake that stays flat. My only real problem was that I think they need something texture-wise. Maybe some dried cranberries or some walnuts? This is a good, easy recipe to try when you have an open jar of applesauce to use up. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl October 11, 2004
Apple Honey Bars