11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make this all the time and have loved it since day 1 (see my other comment/review over a year ago). Adding dates and walnuts to this recipe is fabulous. How about some dried cranberries?

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki97 November 16, 2003

Scaled down to 1 serving, used white sugar and unpeeled apples. Fantastic, as expected :-) Next time I might reduce the amount of sugar a tad. THANK YOU, Mirjam... you've made my life a whole lot yummier! :-D

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu February 22, 2003

I've made this recipe several times since I found it a month ago. It's definitely a 5-star. Everyone in the family loves it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YvonneK December 04, 2002

My mom is the BEST chef in the world! Thank You, Mummy, from my tummy :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani September 23, 2002

Quick and fab! Cut down on the sugar a little and would add a touch of salt the next time. Thank you Mirj!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee November 09, 2011

Tasty little recipe!! I did add 1/4 tsp. salt, though, just to add that extra dimension...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zephanie May 21, 2009

I have made this for my breakfast 3 days in a row now! I love it! The first time I made it with apple, and then the next two times, I made it with banana. I think it would also be good with blueberries, strawberries, or whatever fruit you like in your oatmeal. To make one serving for myself, I bring to a boil 1/2 c. milk, 1/2 c. water, and the apples ( I wanted them to be nice and tender). Then I added 1/2 c. quick oats, some raisins, (a sliced banana if I'm out of apple), dash of cinnamon, and brown sugar to taste, cooking over med. heat for a few minutes. So easy, fast, and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RAK #2 March 02, 2008

A nice and warming breakfast. Cooking the oats in milk makes a nice and creamy cereal. Not having the quick-cooking oats, I whirled regular oats in blender for a few seconds to break them up. The apple was washed well, cored and peel left on for added fiber.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 11, 2007
Apple Harvest Oatmeal