Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2011

      This was great for a change to the regular grilled cheese sandwich. I however do not like American cheese at all so I took that out and put in provolone. It was great the granny smith apples really added to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      This was really good! I didn't have granny smith, but even with a sweeter apple it turned out okay. I will definitely use a granny smith next time though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Yum! This is a great idea, and it's delicious. I didn't have the Italian bread, shallot or cheddar cheese. I used american and provolone cheese. They were good, but I know cheddar will be perfect. Since I had a hard time finding a shallot, I'll probably just stick to garlic only - maybe increasing it next time. Whole grain bread was still wonderful, but I'm sure the Italian bread would really make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      WoW WEEE!!! Im a sandwitch person myself and with cheese? Well that is just the combo for me. I had steaks for supper yerterday for the family but just ran ou to buy the ingredientes before hand. Well l did make the steaks for the family and a friend of my sons but, also made these sandwitches. At first my hub says what for "l want a steak" Didnt listem as usual to him and made this recipe anyway...well well , everyone had steaks but also had an HUDGE sandwitch. Everyone just loved this. Ps: l added some extra garlic powder. I bet that grilled chicken would fit in there just right. Love this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This is a lovely sandwich! I used raclette cheese, but otherwise I stuck to the ingredients. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Ohhhh my gosh... I found this in the Grilled Cheese day forum... it's absolutely delicious. The shallots and garlic really added something extra, and the mix of cheeses was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      OMG... we just finished having these for lunch... they were AMAZING! The combination of apple, shallot, and garlic was to die for. We used Swiss instead of Cheddar- my husband made another sandwich even after all the ingredients were put away!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      This sandwich is SO GOOD!!! We absolutely LOVED the combination of shallots and garlic. Thin slices of the apple, garlic and shallot are key. Next time, I may saute the apples a little less so they retain some crispiness. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. Absolutely amazing flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      My whole family loved this sandwich! I altered some elements of this recipe to suit our tastes: Used Mozzarella instead of cheddar; I did use the American, but next time I probably will use sliced cheddar and mozzarella only. I found the American melted faster than the Mozzarella and began running out of the sandwich. Also, I brushed the sides of the Sourdough bread slices I used with light tasting olive oil and sprinkled with a favorite herb combination we use on all our grilled cheese sandwiches. Cooked them in our tabletop griller. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      OMG, I thought this sounded interesting but I had no idea how much I would love it. I like grilled cheese sandwiches as much as the next person, but this took it to the next level and then some. I love garlic anyways and with the cheese and shallots, simply an amazing and simple recipe! Thanks Love!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      A+! This was awesome. I did make a couple alterations- I used swiss instead of American, 1 granny smith apple for 2 sandwiches (it seems like a whole apple would be too much for just one, our sandwiches were packed with 1/2 an apple each), and some yellow onion instead of the shallot. I used 3-Seed (poppy, sunflower, sesame) sourdough. Mmmm! I made this in my cast-iron so the onion, apple and garlic caramelized wonderfully... what a flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      Great Sandwich, wonderful combination. I did make just a couple of changes just to use what I had on hand. I used a Johnathan Gold apple, a scallion in place of the shallot and one slice of cheddar and one slice of pepper jack cheese. No salt, just because I hardly ever use any anyways. This was so tasty and the scallion and garlic really added a little zip to the an ordinary grilled cheese. Of course, the pepper jack cheese helped as well. I will be making this often. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      Unusual and creative, to say the least. I tried it out simply because it looked so different! Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      I have always been a fan of apples and cheese and knew that this was a recipe that I needed to try. I love the simplicity of the recipe although I must say I wasn't quite sure of the addition of the shallots and garlic but in my opinion it takes this yummy sandwich over the top. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results. Will be making this often! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2004

      Delicious! I really loved this creation of yours and I think the taste is heightened when you use a really really good crusty yet soft bread. I sauteed the apples for only about 1 minute over medium heat because I wanted them it to retain a somewhat crisp texture. The flavor combination is outstanding for my tastes because I adore each ingredient in this sandwich. To suit my personal taste, I will definitely peel the apple and slice it more thickly when I make this sandwich again - and I know I will be making this very soon because it is too good not to enjoy often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.6
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    42%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 53.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 600.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes