Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Fritters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Fritters

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      My students loved this recipe. We used this for an art fair at our elementary school. We had 45 minutes to prepare this as a group and it only took about 30 minutes including the time it took to look up the recipe at Recipezarr. "I would eat the whole world if it was an apple fritter." -Logan "I could eat them forever." -Michael "It was tasty." -Rick "There won't be leftovers." -Eamonn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      Hmmmm Grrrreat!! It was exactly as I wished.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2002

      These apple fritters are delicious and so easy to make with simple on hand ingredients. For our taste I added just a little bit more cinnamon. I made one mistake, I chopped the apples a little too fine which didn't leave enough of the apple taste. I served them with confectioners' sugar. Can't wait to make them again and serve with warm maple syrup. They are very addictive and all gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      When growing up in Washington and having 26 apple trees in the back yard we ate a lot of fritters. I looked at all 40 Fritter recipes and yours I think was the closet to my mothers. I added: 3 tablespoons of sugar doubled the cinnamon, added Teaspoon vanilla, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, made the milk sour by adding a Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. When that was all done it seemed liked it needed more flour so I added ¼ cup more. Yummy …these were good reminded me of the ones mom use to make. Thanks for Posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      We played with this recipe quite a bit, and will continue to tweak it. Glaze MAKES the recipe (mix 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar with 3 Tbsp. milk or water, and pour over still-warm fritters). Recommend using self-rising flour; fritters come out lighter and less sticky. Add 1 Tbsp. sugar, 1/2 or more tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg. Would like the surface to come out a little crispier; might be our baby Fry Daddy just doesn't get hot enough. Overall, tasty and worth keeping the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2004

      I think these are a lot like funnel cakes. I did add 1 tablespoon of sugar to the batter. Also you when dropping them into the hot oil, make sure you are not making too big of ones or they'll be doughy in the middle. I cooked ours at 325 degrees. We rolled half in sugar/cinnamon and half in powdered sugar. Very good!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      I made half a recipe for the two of us and still had some leftover. Definitely better hot than cool. Will have them many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      I cooked these and the first one I ate was absolutely bland and tasted like something was needed. I added some salt to the next batch and it was improved. I also could not taste the cinnamon flavor at all. I looked up other recipes and they all called for salt, more spice and sometimes sugar. I topped them with a plethora of powdered sugar and some with cinnamon sugar. I would not make these again unless I altered the recipe drastically. It was quite easy though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Here is what I used to make it 5 stars: 1T of apple cider vinegar for puff, 3T of sugar, and a pinch of salt to enhance the sugar cinnamon and powder sugar glaze for the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      This was good. I added sugar to the batter but I found it lacking in something. THIS is a perfect pantry dessert, or when you're broke. I did follow the recipe otherwise, but my strong suggestion would be to DEEP FRY not pan fry because mine came out soft but lightly golden and it just didn't have the zing I wanted like in store bought fritters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      totally great. I added sugar, used 1/4 cup sour cream - 1/4 cup milk....and used corn oil to fry. also I glazed some with a coffee glaze from Coffee Glaze. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I added some sugar too. I didn't like them much at first, but as I was eating them they were better and better. DH ate heaps and asked to make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Great little recipe! Made these just to test the recipe and I will be making them again. We had them with a little vanilla ice cream and it was delicious. I did add a tablespoon of granulated sugar and about 1/4 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg for a little more flavor. I think next time I need to toss in a pinch of salt just to bring out the flavors a bit more. I used pink lady apples and they were delicious. Apples stayed firm - not crunchy, but not soggy either. I drizzled a little powdered sugar/milk glaze over them and it really made them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      i was really craving donuts and the local donut shop was closed!! didn't have time to make them so i tried this recipe making a double batch. these are pretty good but i did tweak a little. i doubled cinnamon, added a little cardomon and some sugar (almost 1C for the doubled batch), and made them much larger - used an ice cream scoop to measure them out into the oil and flattened them out so they didn't puff up so thick and would cook through. next time i may try cooking the apples just a bit before adding them in as they weren't quite as cooked as i'd like. i had enough left over for 2 more fritters so i'm going to try freezing the batter to see how it'll cook up after frozen. will definitely make again though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      it needs like 1/4 cup of sug, but other than that it was great, and since im a vegan, i used 1/4 cup of applesauce for each egg, and since i didnt have soy milk, i used orange juice instead. very good. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      these were excellent i use to eat these in conn at the fairs they were great!!!! i added sugar because i like them sweet and covered them in sugar and cinn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

    • on June 24, 2007

      I was looking for something sweet to serve after dinner, I used pink lady apples and added some sugar to the batter. We had them with maple syrup and cream....yum. thanks, chris

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Our seven kids and five grandkids loved them during Sunday Brunch. I did add sugar for additional sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      Very good apple fritters. They remind me of when I was a little girl and my mom would make them with the apple from our orchard. I added about 1Tbsp sugar for extra sweetness. I will make them many more times

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Apple Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Fritters

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.4
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    16%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 32.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 47.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites