23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My students loved this recipe. We used this for an art fair at our elementary school. We had 45 minutes to prepare this as a group and it only took about 30 minutes including the time it took to look up the recipe at Recipezarr. "I would eat the whole world if it was an apple fritter." -Logan "I could eat them forever." -Michael "It was tasty." -Rick "There won't be leftovers." -Eamonn

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer Kahly May 13, 2002

Hmmmm Grrrreat!! It was exactly as I wished.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C Powell September 24, 2002

These apple fritters are delicious and so easy to make with simple on hand ingredients. For our taste I added just a little bit more cinnamon. I made one mistake, I chopped the apples a little too fine which didn't leave enough of the apple taste. I served them with confectioners' sugar. Can't wait to make them again and serve with warm maple syrup. They are very addictive and all gone.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn September 29, 2002

When growing up in Washington and having 26 apple trees in the back yard we ate a lot of fritters. I looked at all 40 Fritter recipes and yours I think was the closet to my mothers. I added: 3 tablespoons of sugar doubled the cinnamon, added Teaspoon vanilla, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, made the milk sour by adding a Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. When that was all done it seemed liked it needed more flour so I added ¼ cup more. Yummy …these were good reminded me of the ones mom use to make. Thanks for Posting

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia April 11, 2009

We played with this recipe quite a bit, and will continue to tweak it. Glaze MAKES the recipe (mix 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar with 3 Tbsp. milk or water, and pour over still-warm fritters). Recommend using self-rising flour; fritters come out lighter and less sticky. Add 1 Tbsp. sugar, 1/2 or more tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg. Would like the surface to come out a little crispier; might be our baby Fry Daddy just doesn't get hot enough. Overall, tasty and worth keeping the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilachandler73 April 08, 2010

I think these are a lot like funnel cakes. I did add 1 tablespoon of sugar to the batter. Also you when dropping them into the hot oil, make sure you are not making too big of ones or they'll be doughy in the middle. I cooked ours at 325 degrees. We rolled half in sugar/cinnamon and half in powdered sugar. Very good!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjnanny September 18, 2004

I tried it as it. I found it was better with 1/4 cup milk & 1/4 cup room temp. applesauce & 1/4 cup brn. sugar in mixture

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerfufel82 November 01, 2014

I made half a recipe for the two of us and still had some leftover. Definitely better hot than cool. Will have them many times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 01, 2012

I cooked these and the first one I ate was absolutely bland and tasted like something was needed. I added some salt to the next batch and it was improved. I also could not taste the cinnamon flavor at all. I looked up other recipes and they all called for salt, more spice and sometimes sugar. I topped them with a plethora of powdered sugar and some with cinnamon sugar. I would not make these again unless I altered the recipe drastically. It was quite easy though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lanibobonnie December 29, 2011

Here is what I used to make it 5 stars: 1T of apple cider vinegar for puff, 3T of sugar, and a pinch of salt to enhance the sugar cinnamon and powder sugar glaze for the topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sweetie's Sweetheart June 21, 2011
Apple Fritters