Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple French Toast Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple French Toast Casserole

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2002

      Awesome recipe. Easy to assemble the night before and bake in the morning. I used Granny Smith's because that's all I had on hand and it was still terrific. By the way, the smell was incredible while it was baking. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Thanks for a great recipe! Easy preparation the night before. I used 6 slices of Texas Toast, and the slices (with crusts) fit perfect in the 13x9 dish. I also used Gala apples, since I couldn't find Cortland or Empire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      I made this to have for my husband, kids father and my dad for fathers day....I made a little the day before to make sure it would come out ok. This one is a keeper, my son wants me to make it again for breakfast next weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2002

      The bread was boring and didn't add much flavor. Maybe it needs to be buttered... and we think pecans or walnuts added to the apple mixture would jazz it up. We also discovered it takes an expert to correctly flip it out of the pan. Have a rag ready to clean up the stove. Great for a cold winter morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      It was very good! I didnt put it in the fridge over night and it still turned out amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      We loved this! I've been trying to find a good overnight french toast-type casserole. Since we all love apples and cinnamon, this seemed an obvious choice. It was so yummy! Not to mention that it looks so pretty when you invert it onto a cake plate. The bread firms up nicely, and you can hardly taste the egg mixture at all. My favorite parts were actually the crusts of the bread, since they had a chewier texture to them. The butter/brown sugar doesn't carmelize as strongly as many of the other recipes have, which was a nice change. It kept the sugary flavor from being too overpowering. I used Granny Smith apples, and they worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      I made this last summer to bring to a cottage weekend. I made the apples ahead of time and put them in the casserole dish with the bread. I brought the eggs, milk (with vanilla) seperately. Before we went to bed on the Friday night, I beat the eggs and poured the mixture over the bread and it was ready to go in the morning. It was a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Wow! This is divine! Getting up at 4:00 a.m. plus breakfast are two things I can not coordinate, but with this recipe, I can now have a delightful, warm breakfast in the early morning hours. I cut the recipe in half, due to family size, but I should have made the full recipe. It was even the same delicious meal for the second morning when I reheated the left-overs for breakfast. Make sure you place your spatula under the apples, turn over your plate, and then flip the plate and spatula simultaneously. The apples need to be on top when eating this. Yes, you will want to make this again and again. Also, make sure that you slice the apples (I liked using Granny Smith) very, very thin. That way, the apples will be tender and not so crunchy. My apples were sliced paper-thin and I am happy that I followed that procedure. Thanks, Terri F., for a simple, fantastic way to return elegance and taste to breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2002

      Wonderful! So easy to prepare, delicious and beautiful to serve on a platter! I used Granny Smith Apples and french bread, otherwise, prepared as directed. Served with real Canadian Maple Syrup. Prepared this for Christmas morning with Inez's Breakfast Casserole. I could not have selected two better recipes! Thanks so much Terri!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      Thank you for sharing this recipe, I have just placed it to set in the refrigerator overnight. I wasn't familiar with Granny Smith on my side of the world and assumed it was for RED apples. It was not until just now that I read past some of the comments in excitement... and was dismayed to find that this recipe uses GREEN apples....I think it might be helpful for noobs like me around the world if this would have been mentioned in the ingredients list. Nonetheless... still hopeful for tomorrow when it's all baked !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      I made this recipe before and it was great. i was craving it so i decided to whip some up very last minute one night. I had to make a few changes according to what I had on hand at home. I used french bread instead of Italian bread and gala apples. I doubled the apple mixture and added 1/4 chopped walnuts. To the egg mixture i added 1/2 tsp almond extract. I chopped up the bread into 1 inch squares. It came out delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Very good. I made mine the morning of instead of having it sit overnight and it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Mmmmm, so good! My family and I enjoy this quite often. It's easy to prepare and quick to the table once it's baked. My kids beg for me to make it! I use granny smith apples so it's not overly sweet and the balance between the tart in the apples and sugar is perfect for us. This is our special standby breakfast recipe for the weekends when we want something special!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Yummy! I used Granny Smith apples and added a bit of nutmeg with the cinnamon. It is on the sweet side so make sure you have some delicious thick cut pepper bacon to serve with the casserole!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      I was a little worried when I took it out because the bread was crusty on top, but once it was flipped it was perfect. It smells like apple pie while cooking! No syrup needed. Thanks! I also used granny smith apples and it was delicious. To easily flip the dish, put a cookie tray on top of the casserole dish and then flip it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This was a big hit at our Sunday School breakfast. Next time I make it I'm going to use at least 1 maybe 2 more apples or use thinner bread. Once the apples were cooked down the thick bread seemed to overpowered them. I'd rather have more apples and less bread than vice versa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      I thought this was incredibly delicious. It reminds me of a casserole my mother used to make every Christmas morning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2014

      It was a little bland. I will make again, but next time add more cinnamon and maybe a touch of nutmeg or ginger. Also, an apple with more flavor like a Granny Smith would be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Love love love this recipe! I used Granny Smith apples, Texas toast bread and added glazed pecans to the apple mixture before pouring the mixture in the pan. I liked it even better when served cool. I made it for a church gathering and all I had left was an empty pan! Next time I'm going to add the glazed pecans after flipping the dish when cooked, just for texture preferences. Thanks so much for an awesome dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2014

      Great recipe, I have made it couple times in my house I love that you can prep the night before and just wake up and put it in the oven. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple French Toast Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 581.9
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    32%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 227.2 mg
    75%
    Sodium 457.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.2 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 58.2 g
    232%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes