Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Filling for Pies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Filling for Pies

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2005

      I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars! The other apple pie recipes I have tried, where the filling is cooked inside the pie crust, always seem to be either too dry or too runny. Not a problem with this recipe. This apple pie has a rich tasting, thick, creamy filling that clings to the apples within each slice. I had 10 Granny Smith apples to use, which came to 9 cups of apple slices. I doubled all the ingredients but did add an extra 1/2 cup of sugar (1 1/2 cups total) because these apples were very tart. I also added an extra teaspoon of cinnamon (2 teaspoons total). I used a total of 8 tablespoons cornstarch for doubling this recipe. Instead of apple juice, I used apple cider heated in the microwave until very hot. IMO, the apple cider/juice is what really puts this recipe over the top above others. After the filling thickened, I separated it into two 4-cup containers. After cooling, I used 4 cups for my pie and froze the other for later use. At 425° this pie cooks quickly and I had to use foil to cover the edges of the crust after the first 10 minutes when I moved it to the center rack. Be sure to cut air vents/slits on your top crust because this filling will bubble up. The bottom crust was perfectly done and the top was golden brown after another 20 minutes in the oven. This is the best apple pie I have ever made and my dh gave it a big "thumbs up". Dorel, thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      I just made this tonight using a combo of Macintosh and Cortland apples. I used less sugar than listed, and that was a mistake; very sour. The texture was good with only 2 tbs cornstarch. It was a little oozie, which we enjoyed. I made 12 mini pies in a cupcake tin with cookie cutter stars on top. Thirty minutes on 375, turning half way. I had enough leftover to make a pot pie size one as well. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Great recipe. I made it as is and it turned out great.I used Macs and they are quite sweet but also added 2 tbsp. of concentrated lemon juice which worked nice together. This one is a keeper. With some tweeking I should be able to use this one for apple squares as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Very easy and yummy. Too much nutmeg for my personal taste but now I know to reduce that next time. Thanks for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      This is an excellent recipe, very easy and good. The apples I used were a little too sweet, but that's obviously not the recipe's fault. I will try again with tart apples next time. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This is still cooling but I can already tell (and I sampled before baking) that this is how I will fill my apple pies from now on. Hadn't thought about dicing the apples and I liked how they filled the pie shell and I won't have to deal with cutting through wedges of apples. I was looking for a recipe that was easy and wouldn't have a runny filling and this is terrific. Homemade traditional flavors but thick like a canned apple pie filling. I used 2 large Granny Smith, 2 medium Gala and one med Honey Crisp. Next time only 4 medium apples:lol: I used cider since I had it from Thanksgiving and it is awesome! Also added some lemon zest since I had the fresh lemon for the juice. Super thrilled to have found this recipe--didn't occur to me to cook the filling first! I tend to burn pies too so this will cut the bake time (aka burn time for me) down too. Serving at the company Christmas dinner tomorrow w/ Vanilla Bean ice cream (the fancy stuff) and NY Sharp Cheddar w/ my piece:) Thanks so much!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I used this recipe for apple turnovers. Making this filling was easy and fast, and it resulted in a great product! I kept out the lemon juice because I dont like the tartness of it and it still came out tasty. Thanks for the great easy as 1-2-3 recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Even though I feel I make a good apple pie, my husband always felt there was something missing. Well, he grew up on Mrs. Smith's apple pie's and I realized it was the sticky filling he was missing. When I stumbled across this recipe, I knew I had to give it a shot. Guess what?!?! This was a HUGE hit in my house. So, if you have loved ones that like that sticky, gooey, yummy filling along with the apples, this is your filling! Needless to say, this will become a staple in our home. Thanks for submitting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2014

    • on January 27, 2014

      Delicious! I used 3tbsp cornstarch and cooked till apples were soft. This was perfect for making mini apple pies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      Excellent and Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Literally the best apple pie filling! I used 4 granny smith apples and followed the recipe exactly except that I added a few dashes of allspice. I used 2 1/2 tablespoons of cornstarch and that seemed to be just right for thickening. I will definitely use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      Just finished making this for a pie i'll be making in the morning. I used 3 Honey Crisp and 2 Gala apples. I didn't have any apple juice and didn't want to use just water so I substituted 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead. I cooked it in the microwave for 3 minutes and it not only smelled wonderful but tasted delicious! Thickened up just enough to make a 'sauce'.. Can't wait for the finished product tomorrow. <br/>I'll be using this again with homemade pie crust for sure. <br/>Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe.***update*** made my pie and this filling was amazing. My sister loved it so much she took the recipe and will be using it also...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      Great for pastries or freezing up extra apples as small batches of filling. Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Also, I put some suger in the crust when I was rolling it since I used less than 1/2 a cup. Almonds are good on top. I didn't use nutmeg just put a lot of cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      OH, MY, YUM! Didn't have apple juice so I used what I had, pomegrante/blueberry 100% juice and it turned out amazing. I love how thick it is. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      It was easy to do and the taste was yummy. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Dorel :) Made for cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      have made this many times and was never disappointed. love how the silling sticks together . no mor runny apple pies. thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      I used this filling to make Apple-Cinnamon Dessert Enchiladas. I had to cook it longer but worked out very well. Good flavor and easy to do. Served with Cinnamon Ice Cream (for electric ice cream machine).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I was looking for something to fill some phylo dough sheets,to make a strudel.My first attempt was a little too thin and a bit runny.Used the recipe again for a pie and it worked out well. Will certainly use this again.Thanks..Don

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Filling for Pies

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    79%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 22.1 g
    88%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites