32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe, very tasty with that touch of orange. I put Craisens in with it and then when I was checking your recipes I saw you had an apple/cranberry recipe. Thanks Tonkcats! -------------------- I used your recipe again only this time I made it with Summer Squash. I peeled and cut up the squash baked it covered for 15 min. Mixed in all the other ingredient and baked for 25 min. Delicious. Oh I used lemon peel instead of Orange and added the craisens. MMmmmm

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 24, 2001

This recipe is outstanding. For my own little touch, I added a few dates to the filling. Thank you for a great recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joel October 24, 2001

I made this for my sweetie and he said it was definetly a keeper. I copied on a recipe card and that the recipe we will be using for acorn squash for now on. Thanx

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Babowitch September 11, 2001

This recipe was fabulous! I haven't eaten a lot of acorn squash in the past but this recipe intriqued me so I gave it a try. My husband and I both loved it! I did make it for only two but made a generous amount of the stuffing to fill them. This is a keeper recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni1 November 19, 2001

Tonkcats,<br/>The only changes made, drizzled olive oil on pan before baking, I make my own brown sugar with Truvia and Molasses and then when it came out of oven I squeezed fresh orange juice over top. Will be buying more Acorn Squash to do this recipe. Thanks for posting! Justmez2

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Justmez2 November 02, 2014

The little bit of orange zest gives this a nice flavor. I changed it just a little by using 1/2 apple and 1/2 pear. Even my son liked it, and he hates anything resembling healthy food! Thanks for the great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scafire-Jen October 12, 2014

Used pecans instead of walnuts and it was great. Thanks for this recipe, my husband loved it served with grilled ham and marinated vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dinnerclubgirl February 11, 2013

Delicious! I will make this again. I omitted the walnuts and used scant dab of margerine instead of as listed. I think it could have cooked a little longer to be softer. I may cover pan with foil to assist in moisture retention as edges were slightly dry. Easy yummy way to get a different veggie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EKOFaith November 22, 2011

I still don't like squash. I had gotten an acorn squash in a CSA box, so I thought I would try this recipe to use some of it. The apple filling was delicious though. I used lemon juice instead of orange zest, added dried cranberries, and used almonds. I will make the filling again and eat it by itself. (or make this recipe if I ever have squash in the house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah.hope.lorimer November 03, 2011

This was good and I'll make it again. I feel like it needs just a little extra "something" but I'm not sure what it is. Just something that holds me back from five stars. If I figure it out, I'll let you know. :) Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie October 10, 2011
Apple Filled Acorn Squash