Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Filled Acorn Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Filled Acorn Squash

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2001

      Great recipe, very tasty with that touch of orange. I put Craisens in with it and then when I was checking your recipes I saw you had an apple/cranberry recipe. Thanks Tonkcats! -------------------- I used your recipe again only this time I made it with Summer Squash. I peeled and cut up the squash baked it covered for 15 min. Mixed in all the other ingredient and baked for 25 min. Delicious. Oh I used lemon peel instead of Orange and added the craisens. MMmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2001

      This recipe is outstanding. For my own little touch, I added a few dates to the filling. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2001

      I made this for my sweetie and he said it was definetly a keeper. I copied on a recipe card and that the recipe we will be using for acorn squash for now on. Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2001

      This recipe was fabulous! I haven't eaten a lot of acorn squash in the past but this recipe intriqued me so I gave it a try. My husband and I both loved it! I did make it for only two but made a generous amount of the stuffing to fill them. This is a keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Used pecans instead of walnuts and it was great. Thanks for this recipe, my husband loved it served with grilled ham and marinated vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Delicious! I will make this again. I omitted the walnuts and used scant dab of margerine instead of as listed. I think it could have cooked a little longer to be softer. I may cover pan with foil to assist in moisture retention as edges were slightly dry. Easy yummy way to get a different veggie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      I still don't like squash. I had gotten an acorn squash in a CSA box, so I thought I would try this recipe to use some of it. The apple filling was delicious though. I used lemon juice instead of orange zest, added dried cranberries, and used almonds. I will make the filling again and eat it by itself. (or make this recipe if I ever have squash in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      This was good and I'll make it again. I feel like it needs just a little extra "something" but I'm not sure what it is. Just something that holds me back from five stars. If I figure it out, I'll let you know. :) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      The squash was nice and tender, and recipes don't get much easier than this. It just wasn't quite what I expected. I expected this to be sweeter with all the brown sugar, especially because I used the entire amount of filling and just one squash. I should have realized the apple (used a honey crisp) would add some tartness to it that took away from the sweet. The orange rind probably added to the tartness, too. I would make this again, but not if I was in the mood for a sweet squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      I made this as directed except I had to use lemon zest instead of orange and I halved the filling ingredients for 2 acorn squashes. Turned out great! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      MMMMM This was absolutely delightful! I have always just put in brown sugar & a pat of butter. I never took it beyond that but so glad I belong to the Zaar! I didn't use the orange rind, didn't have any. I only did one squash. I used pecans instead as I wanted an apple pecan pie taste. I used one apple. The smell was heavenly while it was baking. I ate one half one night & had another for the next night. Put it in the microwave on reheat a plate and it was perfect. Thanks so much for a great change to one of my favorite summer vegetables. I would give this more stars if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Thanks for the great idea. because of comments I only mixed 1/2c walnuts, 1/4c brown sugar, 2tb. butter together. I loved how it tasted and Im glad I didn't put in any of the fruit. Also, I put all this in only one acorn squash... just right. there was enough filling for one and a half squash. My husband said it reminded him of Monkey Bread. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      The apples and walnuts were inspired. But I had to modify it, of course, adding Cinnamon and freshly ground Nutmeg. I also topped it with a few prunes since I had them on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I adored this. Tasted like dessert, Tonkcats. Cut back on the sugar and butter and it's quite healhty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      was good, will make again. even hubby ate it w/out a problem

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Made this as written, except the orange rind. What a delicious way to eat our orange vegetables. So easy to do, just popped it into the oven with the roast chicken at 325 degrees for 2 hours (I wasn't home) and it was all done. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      This was great! Unfortunately my squash must have been quite a bit bigger then what the recipe calls for because it took WAY longer to cook. I used one squash and 2 apples filled up both halves so you can see how big it was. I would use less orange zest next time - it was pretty strong tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Made this on the weekend as a trial for my Thanksgiving dinner. DH and I LOVED it!!! I added some dried cranberries to the apple mixture and it was delish! Thank you for sharing, this will become a new Thanksgiving dinner staple in our household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Worked great served with grilled chicken under a brick and white wine Replaced brown suger with 1/3 cup of Splenda. Nobody noticed and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Really easy to make and didn't take much hands on time. We thought it was really good. We would definitely make this recipe again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Filled Acorn Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.9
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    32%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 24.3 g
    97%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites