12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so tasty, and easy to make. After reading the reviews, I added a little extra soda, but don't know if I really needed to. I substituted Sierra Mist for Mountain Dew because I didn't have any in the house, but it still came out very good. Served it warm with whipped cream and the bowls were licked clean!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
924895 September 07, 2010

Yummy! I cut 4 apples into chunks then scattered in the bottom of a baking pan with the other ingredients. I then laid the crescent roll sheet over top of the apples. I also used more Mountain Dew as others suggested. Made for PRMR Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh November 21, 2009

This was SO yummy! I combined 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to sprinkle over the top. I think I too would add a little more Mountain Dew next time. Thank you for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheFarlands September 06, 2009

Everyone loved them! I used reduced fat crescent rolls. I used a little less sugar, and since I had a container of cinnamon sugar (heavy on the cinnamon), I used that instead of using the two separate ingredients. I hate peeling apples, and since the healthiest part of the apple is supposed to be right under the skin, I didn't peel them, but for this recipe, I'd say you really should, because it's a big enough wedge of apple that you end up with a fairly large chunk of skin to cut through with your spoon or the side of your fork when eating. Next time, I think I'll use a little more of the mountain dew to end up with a little more of the sauce on the bottom. We were out of vanilla ice cream, but this was great with butter pecan. My kids enjoyed theirs with frozen cool whip, and my husband added some caramel ice cream topping--but I really don't think the dish needed it! This would be great for company. For us, it's a lot of dessert, so I might cut this in half and make in a square pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SrtaMaestra August 27, 2008

Delish! These are the easiest apple dumplings I've ever made and they are equally delicious! I made exactly as stated and served warm with ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 27, 2008

That's so easy to do, very fast. I used diet sprite. Me and my son liked this a lot. Thanks bmcnichol :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 23, 2013

I do something similar to this, but with a whole apple and homemade pie crust. But this is much easier, and the serving sizes are much smaller, making it more "eater friendly"! These smell wonderful while cooking, and I recommend that you cook these if your house is up for sale and you are expecting prospective buyers.....the smell alone will entice them to buy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 25, 2011

My DS and DD loved these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BillieJoeUtah July 22, 2009

Tasted like apple pie. I used 2-3 tablespoons of sugar mixed with cinnamon and sprinkled that over the apples. That was sweet enough for my family. Served warm with vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RITLOU2 November 20, 2008

very good and easy too, you need a sweet tooth for these, my cinnamon-loving DS enjoyed this, thanks bmc!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 19, 2008
Apple Dumpling Bake