18 Reviews

This is really good! Even my kids liked it, and that gets 5 stars from me! I doubled the recipe, baked in an 11 x 7 pan, and baked for about 40 minutes. I used the Jell-O flavors I had on hand--wild berry and cherry, and also threw in some blackberries and raspberries that I had frozen a week earlier. Cooking the apples in water took about 10 minutes or so, then I just added the 2 Jell-O packets. Poured in the pan that I had lightly greased. The topping is delicious and buttery, too. Great with whipped cream. And the best part is, it's probably all ingredients you have on hand. Thanks Jewelies!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao February 25, 2004

This was simple, yet delicious. The gelatin gives this a beautiful hue and a slightly sweet taste. This was so incredibly easy - peeling the apples was the only real chore here, and I only needed 4 small apples. My husband already wants me to make this again, and we only just ate it 5 minutes ago. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 25, 2004

To begin with for the US members - blackberry jelly is blackberry jello and the 50 grams comes to 2 oz as best I can tell or 1/4 C butter. I couldn't find the blackberry jello at my store so I used raspberry. It was wonderfuL! I'm thinking that this would be a great with berries and the berry jello too or maybe cranberry jello with the apples. Yum! I served it with vanilla ice cream while it was warm which was just right. Next time I will try sugar free jello and Sugar twin brown sugar substitute for a sugar free version.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl February 22, 2004

Definitely a 5 Star recipe! So delicious and easy to prepare. Very colorful and a good dessert for guests. I added chopped pecans to the crumble topping. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jules. Now I have a good dessert that I will repeat many times! Prepared as a participant in the Spring 2008 Aus/NZ Swap #15 Event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook April 13, 2008

Jewelies cooked this for us for dessert last night. I've seen the recipe and often thought about making it but wondered if the jelly might make it too sweet. No need to worry about that as the apples and not to sweet topping balanced that out. It was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 22, 2007

Ooohh you diablo you! This was sinfully delicious. I am glad I read the reviews first, so I knew to get 'jello.' the only thing I would add is to clarify that in the recipe. Outstanding Jewelies! Thanks for sharing. -Bird-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu October 24, 2007

Apparently, I cannot read well, as I completely missed the jelly=Jello at the top. Instead, I added actual blackberry jelly, and then realizing the mistake, stirred in a cornstarch slurry, which seemed to work just as well. This was a nice, simple, and tasty recipe, and I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amayzng30 June 03, 2007

This recipe is pretty much genius! I love the idea of sweetening the apples with Jello!! I used sugar free strawberry jello which worked as a very nice way to sweeten the apples without adding carbs and lowering the calorie content. The crumble on top was excellent too. I thoroughly enjoyed this warm with a little scoop of light strawberry ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 03, 2007

Wow, this is a terrific recipe that is so simple to make! I couldn't find Blackberry jell-o, so I subbed in black cherry flavour and it turned out to be an outstanding dessert. Thanks for posting Jules! Made for ZWT 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ June 03, 2007

I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* I used 500 grams of fresh granny smith apples and kept the recipe as written. Little Miss said to tell you it was really yummy! Hubby said it was scrumptious. I say a recipe this easy to put together and this wonderful tasty is worth making! Thanks Jewelies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer May 28, 2007
Apple Crumble