Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Crumble Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Crumble

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2004

      This is really good! Even my kids liked it, and that gets 5 stars from me! I doubled the recipe, baked in an 11 x 7 pan, and baked for about 40 minutes. I used the Jell-O flavors I had on hand--wild berry and cherry, and also threw in some blackberries and raspberries that I had frozen a week earlier. Cooking the apples in water took about 10 minutes or so, then I just added the 2 Jell-O packets. Poured in the pan that I had lightly greased. The topping is delicious and buttery, too. Great with whipped cream. And the best part is, it's probably all ingredients you have on hand. Thanks Jewelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      This was simple, yet delicious. The gelatin gives this a beautiful hue and a slightly sweet taste. This was so incredibly easy - peeling the apples was the only real chore here, and I only needed 4 small apples. My husband already wants me to make this again, and we only just ate it 5 minutes ago. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      To begin with for the US members - blackberry jelly is blackberry jello and the 50 grams comes to 2 oz as best I can tell or 1/4 C butter. I couldn't find the blackberry jello at my store so I used raspberry. It was wonderfuL! I'm thinking that this would be a great with berries and the berry jello too or maybe cranberry jello with the apples. Yum! I served it with vanilla ice cream while it was warm which was just right. Next time I will try sugar free jello and Sugar twin brown sugar substitute for a sugar free version.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Definitely a 5 Star recipe! So delicious and easy to prepare. Very colorful and a good dessert for guests. I added chopped pecans to the crumble topping. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jules. Now I have a good dessert that I will repeat many times! Prepared as a participant in the Spring 2008 Aus/NZ Swap #15 Event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Jewelies cooked this for us for dessert last night. I've seen the recipe and often thought about making it but wondered if the jelly might make it too sweet. No need to worry about that as the apples and not to sweet topping balanced that out. It was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Ooohh you diablo you! This was sinfully delicious. I am glad I read the reviews first, so I knew to get 'jello.' the only thing I would add is to clarify that in the recipe. Outstanding Jewelies! Thanks for sharing. -Bird-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Apparently, I cannot read well, as I completely missed the jelly=Jello at the top. Instead, I added actual blackberry jelly, and then realizing the mistake, stirred in a cornstarch slurry, which seemed to work just as well. This was a nice, simple, and tasty recipe, and I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This recipe is pretty much genius! I love the idea of sweetening the apples with Jello!! I used sugar free strawberry jello which worked as a very nice way to sweeten the apples without adding carbs and lowering the calorie content. The crumble on top was excellent too. I thoroughly enjoyed this warm with a little scoop of light strawberry ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Wow, this is a terrific recipe that is so simple to make! I couldn't find Blackberry jell-o, so I subbed in black cherry flavour and it turned out to be an outstanding dessert. Thanks for posting Jules! Made for ZWT 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* I used 500 grams of fresh granny smith apples and kept the recipe as written. Little Miss said to tell you it was really yummy! Hubby said it was scrumptious. I say a recipe this easy to put together and this wonderful tasty is worth making! Thanks Jewelies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      I had this for dessert last week, made by Jewelies herself, then I raced home and made one for Mother Kooka! It was delicious and I couldn't believe it when Jewelies told me the secret ingredient was jelly crystals! Jewelies also admitted she'd cheated and used 2 x 400g cans of pie apples,instead of slicing and cooking fresh apples. She used 1 1/2 packets of Cottees port wine jelly (to account for the little extra apple). Jewelies' quantities for the crumble make a nice, fine crumble but I prefer mine more crumbly so I used probably 75g butter and threw in 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon just for fun. I mix it up in the food processor which makes the whole thing very easy. Surprisingly, despite the addition of the jelly crystals, the apples do not come out overly sweet at all. In fact, using the pie apples, ours was quite tart but not overly so. Perfect with vanilla ice cream. I made this a second time for a family dinner and threw in about 300g of frozen blackberries - wow, what a hit! It's a great, quick standby when making dessert seems all to hard. Thanks Jules!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      This hit the spot when I was looking for a recipe to use up some apples. I used a pkt of rasberry jelly crystals as that was all I had on hand. Another "keeper' from a great Zaar Chef. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Going along with all of the above...and if you find you're shy of a few apples, it's scrummy with rhubarb mixed into it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      I used 2 large granny smith and didn't peel, although I would recommend peeling! Used 1 3 oz pkg raspberry jello, w.w. flour and 1/4 C margarine. Easy to make. I put it in a 2 quart casserole and there seemed to be too much topping and not enough bottom. I might try a 1/2 C water to make the jello consistency not so dense. The taste was good. My dd ate it, even having to pick out the skin. :) I might try again with a little more apple and water and a little less flour mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      Beautiful and so easy to make. Oh...did I say extra yummy too. I could not find blackberry jello, so, I too used Red Raspberry. It was so pretty in the dish. What a great dessert to make when you need to make something fast and really good. Thanks for a lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

    • on July 17, 2004

      This was a great treat! I used raspberry jello which gave it a nice red color which reminded me of candy apples and it was sweet like them too. I really enjoyed this and it was simple to make. Didn't last longer than a day in this house! Thanks Julie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      This was very good! I used rasberry jello. It took 2 large Braebern apples. Wonderful warm! Thanks Jewelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Crumble

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.9
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    23%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 26.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 136.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.8 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 45.0 g
    180%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes