30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic basic recipe. Made some modifications but only because of personal preferences. Substituted brown sugar for white, reduced lemon juice, and used only 1/4 cup water. Omitted nutmeg and used more cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. Thickened with small amount of corn starch when apples were slightly soft. For crumbs I used 1 1/2 times stated amount, but only because they taste sooo good. Overall, great, easy, and fast recipe that will definitely satisfy anyone's sweet tooth. Thanks, katia, for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superg September 05, 2007

What a lovely dessert. We had this last night & everyone loved it. I followed the directions exactly & it turned out perfectly. Made for Recipe Swap #7. Thanks Katia for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl August 04, 2007

This was just wonderful warm from the oven with vanilla ice cream. I noticed towards the end of eating this that the lemon flavor was very noticeable, next I think I would cut it in half or leave it out. Thanks for posting a easy and nice dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 04, 2007

*Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* The whole family enjoyed this dessert. We had it served with ice-cream....needless to say there were no leftovers. I used a gluten free flour blend with some almond meal added in place of the regular flour. Turned out great, although the GF flour needed a little longer cooking time to brown. Thanks for a great recipe. This one will be made again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** June 02, 2007

This was exactly what I was looking for(lots of apples in the fridge).I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream;...lovely. I made this for WT3 Austalian dessert challenge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage May 30, 2007

Wonderful flavors. I used a sliced Fuji apple (single serving) and doubled the nutmeg and cinnamon. With the simmering and baking the apple retained a firmness that was very nice. By mistake I added the TB of Splenda to the apple pot instead of the crumb topping so I had to put another TB in the topping and I ended up with twice as much sweetening as I should have but it didn't seem overly sweet to me at all. Also I used 1/2 of the ask for butter in the crumb mix and made up the difference with unsweetened applesauce. This is really a grand dessert that everyone in the family will love.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 29, 2007

Very good, scaled this down and I made this into little ramekins for single servings for me and my mother today for a nice treat so it only took about 15 min to bake up. Also I just sprayed the cups with Pam cooking spray to make it a bit healthier (is thats possible lol). I really like the crisp topping. I plan on using this topping for the rest of my crumble type pies! Made for ZWT 3!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme May 27, 2007

This makes a wonderful cobbler and since DS loves apple desserts, something that will be repeated. The apples were sliced and cored but not peeled. I was a little concerned that the apples were to soupy but after the crumble topping cooked it thinkened mixture nicely. I did increase the spices to 1 full teaspoon and used Baking Spice Blend Mix. For the flour, I used Self Rising Flour [america] as there was no mention of leveling agents. I mixed the crumble topping in the food processor making it extra quick. As stated earlier, definately a repeat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG April 01, 2007

Very simple and very good. I thought it needed more spice and would definitely go with double the nutmeg and cinnamon next time. I needed closer to 40 minutes to get the apples to where we enjoy eating them as a dessert. Delicious served warm, with a little bit of vanilla ice cream melting over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens October 26, 2006

This is really good. I made the recipe as directed and sliced the apples. I think that the directions could be clarified a little more. I got a little confused on which amount of sugar to add where. I did add the sugar in the sequence stated and it turned out good. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme October 19, 2006
Apple Crumble