Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Crostata With Caramel Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Crostata With Caramel Sauce

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2009

      I make fruit crostata's often and thought I would share a tip that I found online (can't remember where). After you roll out your pie crust (I use parchment) spread 1/2 cup of graham cracker crumbs or cooky crumbs on the crust then put the fruit mixture on top. You will absolutely not taste the crumbs or even be able to tell they are there but they will absorb any excess juice and your crust will always be nice and crisp. I expect this would work for a two crust pie too, but I never make them anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      I lost this recipe from Betty Crocker & was delighted to find it posted here. It is wonderful. Something more interesting than apple pie but has the true old fashioned flavor that is awesome! I used Kittencal's easy caramel sauce & it was perfect !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I made this for one of my friends on her birthday because she is a big apple fan. The thing is I wanted to do something different and boy, it was loved by all! I made my own homemade pie crust and caramel topping. The caramel topping takes this over the top, while some people preferred it all on it's own. Wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Yum. this was awesome. So easy to put together and had great flavor. I left out the caramel topping and really didn't think it needed anything. Ice cream would be good on the side too. I used a 9 inch premade pie crust (lazy) and it worked well with 3 1/2 cups apples. Thanks newspapergal for a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Loved this crostata but will add more apple next time. I only had three Granny Smith apples and don't think I had the full four cups required. I attempted to make homemade carmel and it didn't turn out, it was more of a syrup. Used it anyway for the flavor. Served with Cinnamon Ice Cream (for electric ice cream machine).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Yummy and easy! I wasn't sure I liked the caramel at first but a few bites in and I was loving it. We put a little homemade vanilla icecream over the top of the warm crostata. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Love the simplicity and ease of this recipe, and the result is a delicious, quick substitute for the full blown, 2-hour production apple pie. My 7yo loves to help put it together, too. Thanks for a repeat performer at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This is my go-to recipe when I want to invite last minute company and need a quick dessert. I love the flavor and the ease of preparation - - lickety split and it's done!!!! A little ice cream and caramel sauce and it's complete. Thanks for a great, quick dessert recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This was a very simple, impressive-looking dessert. I used a refridgerated, ready-to-unroll pie crust and it made prep so quick. My only problem: I baked this on a flat cookie sheet and the sugar/butter oozed over the side, pooled on the bottom of the stove, and caught on fire!! YIKES! So, mine probably could've cooked 5-10 more mins. but I had to remove it early. Still, very tasty, served with vanilla ice cream and caramel topping (jar). YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I've been making Apple Crostata's for my husband lately in lieu of apple pie, much quicker for a WeekNite. This was the first Caramel one I had done for him. He loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      Wonderful recipie, and wonderful idea. It makes a nice small pie. I like stuff for a day or two, but with only two of us, a whole big pie lingers. This is so good it sometimes doesn't last till the next day! I got some gorgeous, huge Fuji apples and only used two. I made one and had to turn around and use the other crust and make another. Just too easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      This is a great easy recipe. It goes together very quick and looks nice as well. I only had one problem--assemble it on whatever you will be baking it on. I put it together on cutting board and had difficulty moving it to the baking sheet--my inexperience showing through! I will be making this again and again its that darn easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Crostata With Caramel Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.4
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    38%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 225.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 29.6 g
    118%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites