9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, I would! I needed a recipe to use up some delicious pears, so I made this using a refrigerator pie crust and sliced pears. I changed up the spices in the topping to a pinch of ginger and the cinnamon, and I omitted the zest. With a pre-made pie crust, this recipe was extra easy! One of my guests had THREE slices!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeMineCadburys January 03, 2011

I have been making this for about three years. It is the only dessert I make any more. My family did not care for the orange so I use lemon zest and sprinkle with a little lemon juice. Today I added cherries...fresh, pitted, and a tiny bit of coconut, natural, shredded, organic, on top. This is what everyone expects at my home. Easy and wonderful. I, too, use the Pillsbury crusts...the roll out one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann_s September 04, 2009

I really enjoyed this crostata. I used tart firmer apples & a few sweeter, softer apples. This is a really easy & quick recipe that everyone loved at the BBQ, no leftovers & I made 2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Willowbranch May 30, 2009

This was delicious! I did cheat and use a Pillsbury crust but made the filling as posted. It was super easy to put together. I used Granny Smith apples and baked at 450º for just under 30 minutes and the apples were cooked through and the crust was nice and golden brown. This is such a fun and easy way to make a dessert without all the fuss of a two-crust pie. Thanks for psoting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook September 02, 2007

Good crostata. Next time I will experiment with more spices. Something was missing in the flavor department, very unlike Barefoot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry April 24, 2007

This "rustic" apple pie is SO good and flavorful. The crust is flaky & buttery-delicious! I used 2 Granny Smith apples & 2 Braeburns (I recently read it's good to combine firm with less firm for ultimate flavor and texture). I also drizzled the juice of half a fresh lemon over the apples before adding the topping. After 25 minutes of baking, the apples were still pretty crunchy, so I moved the crostata to a lower rack in the oven, reduced the oven temp to 350F, and baked for another 25-30 minutes. HEAVENLY! Thanks for the post, Dojemi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyjaypee1 March 30, 2007

The pastry in this recipe is excellent, light,flakey and tasty. I used Granny Smith apples and had to lengthen the baking time to 40 minutes. Served with ice cream, delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynnisraelson February 08, 2005

This was really good. I made it when company was coming. Similar to a dutch apple pie without the piecrust in a pie plate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Brandt May 19, 2004
Apple Crostata (Ina Garten)