21 Reviews

I cannot describe how wonderful this was. why hasn't anyone tried this recipe!!! I made one large crisp, and it was done in 1 hour 5 minutes. Try this you won't regret it. Thanks Mean Chef!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac July 13, 2003

I honestly did not enjoy this recipe, and I made it exactly as written. The only thing I could taste in the topping was flour. It really needed more brown sugar to make it sweeter and hide the flour taste. Even with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top, it was only mediocre.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms Fondue January 11, 2013

I joined this site just to review this recipe! I've been wanting to try apple crisp for a while and all the recipes I've come across haven't appealed to me...I see 5 star recipes calling for oats and while I like eating oatmeal, can't imagine it tasting good baked with apples! This came up as #6 when googling apple crisp. I love the easy directions and decided to give it a try. I used 4 cups gala apples, 1 stick land-o-lakes butter, and chopped walnuts because that's what I had. I can't explain how good this was!! So delicious! This is the only apple crisp recipe I will ever use! Next time I will use 6 cups apples, with 4 cups I had more topping than apples with each bite. But still soo good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadea89 November 18, 2012

I just used the crisp topping and put it on a can of pie filling apples. I baked it for 60 minutes and it was absolutely delicious! Thanks to carolinafan and to Mean Chef. Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando August 01, 2008

very simple and easy. i liked this recipe b/c i wanted to make a smaller crisp than the recipes that usually call for a 9x13 pan. baked it in a pretty pie pan and everyone was impressed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luckycloud29 October 05, 2005

This was super easy and the texture of the apples turned out perfect - I used 4 granny smith and 2 honeycrisp. I'm just amazed by how little effort it took for a great result! I tweaked the spices a little, using 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and a dash of pumpkin pie spice. Whipped cream didn't hurt either!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgangeline December 04, 2012

I scaled the recipe back to 2 servings reducing the sugar and butter a tad, but other than that stuck to your recipe and loved it! I never thought something so simple could taste so special! Yummy!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us, carolinafan!
Made and reviewed for "Help a naked recipe" September 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 25, 2012

This is a super recipe. I used crushed almonds and it gave really good texture. My husband said it is the best he ever had. How bad can sugar and butter be?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christenoel August 20, 2011

Hmmmm, After the previous reviews, I hesitate to write mine. I did not have good luck with mine. Maybe the apples were not juicy enough, I used Cortlands. The crisp didn't get all that crisp, but we still ate it and it wasn't the worst I've had

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
normiejohnson October 06, 2008
Apple Crisp