140 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband and I liked this. However, I think the topping needs some salt (try 1/2 tsp) as well as some cinnamon (try 1 tsp). Other wise very good and recommended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Garlic Bread November 05, 2008

This is fantastic! I've made it twice now. The second time I used a deeper dish and doubled the apples. The topping is so rich that it still tasted great. I also used all brown sugar instead of white sugar. To me brown sugar always seems to go better with apples than white.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetPeaNC October 28, 2008

I loved the topping ingredients. I thought this might be too sweet but it was perfect. Made it with very fresh winesap apples from my MIL's tree, her first harvest of 40 apples, up from the take of 10 last year.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofzoandri October 16, 2008

DELICIOUS! A great way of using fruit that is too ripe to eat raw, but still good for baking. Very sweet though; even though I reduced sugars by 4 tablespoons in crust and 2 each in filling. I also used regular sugar with a drizzle of molasses to replace the brown sugar (since I was out). Worked fine. Yummy! And I substituted 4-1/2 tablespoons of crisco for the butter in the crust. Seemed to work well. Probably try a little less Crisco next time, but I like the texture when it's a little clumpy like that. Also, I would not put 2 tablespoons of melted butter in the middle on the apples next time. Just butter bottom of dish before filling so it doesn't stick. Plus, I included two overripe pears with the 4 or 5 overripe apples I had. The pears were delicious mixed in!!! I also sprinkled a little sugar on top for decoration. And, it could have used a touch of salt in the topping, so I think I would add a half-teaspoon of salt to the crust next time as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Asha L. March 13, 2015

Mmmmm....this is so good. I made this using granny smith apples in an 8 x 8 pan and it turned out wonderful. We served some vanilla ice cream on top while still warm. So good. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 08, 2013

This had way too much sugar! I traditionally use the Betty Crocker recipe and double the topping so I'm used to sweet, but this was over the top. I would recommend a lot more oatmeal and a lot less sugar going forward.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny February 19, 2013

Made on a lazy rainy day. Very fast to put together. Followed directions, except used 1 whole yellow onion, 1, 14oz fire roasted tomatoes, 4 C Swansons chicken broth (large container). 7 or 8 nice sized basil leafs from my garden chopped. I had about 1/4C of feta in the fridge, so I used that. (It was easier than grating the parmasin). Found some wonderful buttoning sweet Italian sausage. Was a hit. Will be making again. Thanks for a quick, flavorful soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis December 02, 2012

Easy and delicious! Loved the crispy topping - had a wonderful crunch to it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F November 16, 2012

This made a nice apple crisp! I added the seeds from 1/2 a vanilla bean to the apple mixture...my apples were golden and more on the sweet side. I think next time I might up the amount of oatmeal compared to the flour for the topping. All in all, very tasty and a great addition to our Thanksgiving table!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen C Seattle November 26, 2011

This apple crisp was a hit at a recent church function. Many attendees had seconds and even thirds. Be sure to keep the butter chilled until you use it in the recipe at the end, for a better, crumblier "crisp." I did not give it a full five stars as I felt that it was missing something, possibly a little nutmeg. Also, the butter could be cut down some in the interest of health, without compromising the flavor of the dish. I enjoyed making this, as it was the first crisp I have ever tried. I served it warm, but now I wish that I would have put it with ice cream (so much for watching the fat and calorie count!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelic Chefs NC November 11, 2011
Apple Crisp