Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Crisp

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2012

      OK, this really is a great, basic Apple Crisp recipe! We did modify it a bit, and I want to share that. I'm a firm believer that apples and cinnamon do not always go hand-in-hand. So I left out the cinnamon, substituted vanilla extract for the melted butter in the apples, and let the apples sit without the topping for a few hours before I combined them and baked. It was FABULOUS and the hit of the party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Very good recipe. But a bit sweet. I think the type of apples u use makes a big difference on the sweetness. I will use a bit less sugar and cinnamon next time. But still this recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Two words: Absolutely. Delicious. YUM!!! Will also cut back on the butter next time, just to be healthier, as other reviewers said. My husband and I ate a pretty good chunk of this at one sitting...!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Although I thought this was good, I didin' think is was great until I added some cinnamon and lemon juice and zest to the apples. I also added a little vanilla flavoring which I add to everything sweet. I liked tweating recipes to make them my own, but that's because I am a personal chef. However, I had to improve this one to make it a 5. I iike a 5 star to start off with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      My family loved this. My adult son said he's never had any that wasn't soggy & mine didn't turn out soggy. This is my first time ever making apple crisp. I put mine in a long rectangle dish & doubled the topping in order to cover the apples. Otherwise I followed the directions even with the time in the oven. Perfect!!! Using a long rectangle dish I will probably use more or double the apples next time tho'

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Simple and easy recipe that produces great results. I added some nutmeg because, well nutmeg rocks. But then again, so does this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      Well, I'm about to make this recipe for the third time in one week, so that should tell you something about how much we enjoyed it. I made the recipe once as written and once replacing the white sugar with Splenda. It's good both ways!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This a delicious recipe! I made it today for our dessert tonight, but I had to taste it. Big mistake, now I keep having "just another taste" and we haven't had dinner yet! This recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Simply delicious! A classic recipe that goes together easily and tastes wonderful. I halved the amount of butter in the topping and added splenda instead of white sugar and it was still great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Very Good! hot or cold. will try adding cranberries next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      My husband and I liked this. However, I think the topping needs some salt (try 1/2 tsp) as well as some cinnamon (try 1 tsp). Other wise very good and recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This is fantastic! I've made it twice now. The second time I used a deeper dish and doubled the apples. The topping is so rich that it still tasted great. I also used all brown sugar instead of white sugar. To me brown sugar always seems to go better with apples than white.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      I loved the topping ingredients. I thought this might be too sweet but it was perfect. Made it with very fresh winesap apples from my MIL's tree, her first harvest of 40 apples, up from the take of 10 last year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      Mmmmm....this is so good. I made this using granny smith apples in an 8 x 8 pan and it turned out wonderful. We served some vanilla ice cream on top while still warm. So good. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      This had way too much sugar! I traditionally use the Betty Crocker recipe and double the topping so I'm used to sweet, but this was over the top. I would recommend a lot more oatmeal and a lot less sugar going forward.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Made on a lazy rainy day. Very fast to put together. Followed directions, except used 1 whole yellow onion, 1, 14oz fire roasted tomatoes, 4 C Swansons chicken broth (large container). 7 or 8 nice sized basil leafs from my garden chopped. I had about 1/4C of feta in the fridge, so I used that. (It was easier than grating the parmasin). Found some wonderful buttoning sweet Italian sausage. Was a hit. Will be making again. Thanks for a quick, flavorful soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      Easy and delicious! Loved the crispy topping - had a wonderful crunch to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This made a nice apple crisp! I added the seeds from 1/2 a vanilla bean to the apple mixture...my apples were golden and more on the sweet side. I think next time I might up the amount of oatmeal compared to the flour for the topping. All in all, very tasty and a great addition to our Thanksgiving table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      This apple crisp was a hit at a recent church function. Many attendees had seconds and even thirds. Be sure to keep the butter chilled until you use it in the recipe at the end, for a better, crumblier "crisp." I did not give it a full five stars as I felt that it was missing something, possibly a little nutmeg. Also, the butter could be cut down some in the interest of health, without compromising the flavor of the dish. I enjoyed making this, as it was the first crisp I have ever tried. I served it warm, but now I wish that I would have put it with ice cream (so much for watching the fat and calorie count!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Yummy. The next time, I would reduce the baking time by 10 minutes because the apple part of this crisp was on the mushy side. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.0
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    44%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 17.1 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 71.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 244.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 54.8 g
    219%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes