140 Reviews

Absolutely wonderful - didn't change a thing. DH is a very picky eater and he loved it. Was even better the next day!

Update 7/22/2012 I make this so often now that I can almost do it with my eyes closed. All the grown kids request it! Never can make one pan anymore! I really don't think you can mess this recipe up! Since I make it so much now, I hardly measure anything! Have added nuts, have used blueberries, apples and peaches. Have some fresh picked huckleberries, guess how I'm gonna use them!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
For JT's Grandma July 22, 2012

We did not add the 2 tablespoons of melted butter, and cut back on the butter in the topping to 8 tablespoons. we cut back on the white sugar in the topping to 4 tablespoons, and it was still great! I think I will do more sugar next time, and a small sprinkle of salt in the topping, as it seemed to need it. We served it with half & half on top, sooo good, I will make this again and again. Don't be afraid to cut the butter some, if you are watching your diet like us!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheesynei August 27, 2010

Does this recipe need one more glowing review? You betcha! I was worried that the 12 tablespoons of butter might be too much, especially as it was baking and looking a bit too buttery. Those were needless fears--ended up looking as good as it tasted. I followed directions as written, and it turned out just right. Everyone enjoyed this one--thanks, cuisinebymae!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers September 14, 2011

This was amazing! It was my first time making an apple crisp so I followed the recipe exactly and found the instructions very clear and easy to follow. I made it for my very picky staff of college students and they told me it was the best thing I had ever made for them!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clarkie13 January 26, 2011

all apple crisps are usually the same, I tried this when i was looking for a recipie - and WOW - fantastic. I will always use this one from now on.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msoders November 27, 2010

This was really good and easy to make. I like the topping best when it comes to crisps so next time I'm going to make more of that and then bake it a more shallow dish but that's all I'm going to change! Good recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haras00 November 19, 2010

wonderful. I will try to cut back on the butter next time as someone suggested though... because it is so good my husband and I each had a 1/4 of the whole dish. That's about 1/2 stick of butter each! Good splurge though! mmm...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surfin' chef October 21, 2010

I made this last night and it was perfect. Crisp on the top and juicy in the middle. I would like to note it was too sweet because the grocery store ONLY had sweet apples. Definitely use the tart apples the recipe calls for. Also, the recipe doesn't give directions on what to do to the apples. I peeled, cored and cut into 16 wedges. Thanks for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jencathen October 26, 2009

I have tried probably 6-7 apple crisp recipes in the past, my husband has always said, good, but the topping is not crunchy enough, too much dough. This recipe brought rave reviews from him, he went on and on how great it was. I won't be making any other apple crisp recipe from here on out, it was perfect! I didn't have any ice cream, but had whipping cream which I whipped up right before serving and it was divine. I am not a huge apple crisp fan, but found this to be top notch and had a hard time leaving it alone. Also, do not overbake, it does crisp up amazingly after you take it out of the oven for a few minutes. Stayed fairly crisp the next day without getting overly soggy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Top of the Hill October 22, 2009

This was awesome! I had a bunch of apples that I had just picked, so they were sweet - I cut back on the white sugar by about 2-3 T total and it was still great. I also skipped drizzling the apples themselves in butter to save some cals. I only used three apples because the ones I had were huge. Fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!!!<br/><br/>Edit: I've made this about a dozen times since my first review. I always omit the butter over the apples and haven't ever missed it. I also usually take off 1T of white sugar from both the apples and topping. I add about three handfuls of finely chopped pecans to the topping and sometimes cut the butter by 1T in the topping. I also add a bit of nutmeg. I just reread the other reviews and I agree that it could use a few more T of oatmeal as well.<br/><br/>Great recipe. Every time I make it for company I get compliments, especially when served with french vanilla ice cream.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annelotte September 29, 2013
Apple Crisp