Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Crisp

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2002

      I made this last night and it is very, very good! The best one I've made, in fact. I served this with hot custard and vanilla ice-cream. Just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2001

      I love apple crisp! I have made it for at home and to take to get togethers. Most everyone likes it and it is easy to make. I use both brown sugar and granulated sugar.And I will try the nutmeg.Other than those two differences our recipes are the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      What a lovely apple crisp this recipe makes Ann. We enjoyed it very much. I made this exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. I used three different type of apple, for bites of sweet and tart. It was wonderful. Served warm with a little whipped cream. Thank you for sharing your recipe, which we will enjoy again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      easy and simple....great with a little ice cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This apple crisp is one of the best I made. Not too sweet. I used Cortland apples. I used only 2/3 cup of brown sugar. I omitted the nutmeg. I cooked it for 35 minutes. Thanks Ann :) Made for An Apple a Day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      I just made this and I think it turned out terrible. Something is missing in it. It was very bland

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      I used granny smith apples and didn't read the last reviewers comments. It was a tad sour. I think even with regular apples, it would be better to mix some sugar and cinnamon wit the the apples before laying them in the pan. The recipe is O.K. but not special. I definitely don't think it would serve 6 people. 4 at best IMO. I plan to look for a better recipe, one that is more like apple pie underneath the crust. The crust was the best part. The only difference I made with the recipe is that I used Earth Balance spread instead of real butter. I'm rather surpised it got so many good reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      If using Granny Smith apples, toss in sugar so they aren't too sour. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I doubled this, as I had alot of apples, and it came out really, really runny. I guess it would have been really good to serve warm and put the runny appl-ee sauce over the top. It was really crispy, though. It remained crispy for a couple of days, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was just what I wanted - very similar to the one my mom used to make. I actually doubled the recipe because I wanted to use up my apples before they went bad. I put it in a 9x13 dish and it came out nicely. My family ate the whole thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Great Recipe. Was easy and delicious. I added some chopped pecans to the topping. It was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

    • on September 24, 2007

    • on August 05, 2007

      Exact same recipe as in my mum's old Betty Crocker Cookbook that she received as a bride in 1961. Great to know that the classics are still the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This apple crisp recipe is DELICIOUS !! I have been using the same recipe that had been passed down to me by my mother for 40 years. Recently, I misplaced it and had to quickly find another as we had company coming. I picked this one because of the ratings, made a double recipe (so that we could have leftovers the next day) but alas, no leftovers - everyone went for seconds ! I made it exactly as submitted and baked it while we were eating dinner, then served it warm with vanilla ice cream - yummy !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      This tasted great with vanilla icecream. The granny smith apples I used turned into a puree after it was baked - perhaps that is what it is supposed to be. I do prefer the apples to be slightly firm. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      THANK YOU! The MOST amazing apple crisp. I make it with Splenda brown sugar and whatever apples we have on hand. It is a Sunday night ritual, while we eat dinner it cooks...while we watch our favorite Sunday night tv we enjoy our YUMMY apple crisp. It isn't too sweet and just delicious. We do add a little more of the oats for personal preference. Thank you again! You've helped create a family tradition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      I have used this recipe for years. It is not only excellent with apples and peaches, it is great with pears too!! DS wants this on his birthdays now instead of cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Pretty good. Sprinkled the layers of apples with cinnamon, nutmeg and some ammaretto. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      This was very good,because of the kind of apples I used I added a bit of water to the apples.I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.4
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    33%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 27.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 83.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 32.5 g
    130%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes