22 Reviews

I made this last night and it is very, very good! The best one I've made, in fact. I served this with hot custard and vanilla ice-cream. Just perfect!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! May 04, 2002

I love apple crisp! I have made it for at home and to take to get togethers. Most everyone likes it and it is easy to make. I use both brown sugar and granulated sugar.And I will try the nutmeg.Other than those two differences our recipes are the same.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabby1 October 06, 2001

What a lovely apple crisp this recipe makes Ann. We enjoyed it very much. I made this exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. I used three different type of apple, for bites of sweet and tart. It was wonderful. Served warm with a little whipped cream. Thank you for sharing your recipe, which we will enjoy again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 31, 2013

easy and simple....great with a little ice cream

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrwillard November 09, 2009

This apple crisp is one of the best I made. Not too sweet. I used Cortland apples. I used only 2/3 cup of brown sugar. I omitted the nutmeg. I cooked it for 35 minutes. Thanks Ann :) Made for An Apple a Day

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 05, 2009

I just made this and I think it turned out terrible. Something is missing in it. It was very bland

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Carol October 07, 2008

I used granny smith apples and didn't read the last reviewers comments. It was a tad sour. I think even with regular apples, it would be better to mix some sugar and cinnamon wit the the apples before laying them in the pan. The recipe is O.K. but not special. I definitely don't think it would serve 6 people. 4 at best IMO. I plan to look for a better recipe, one that is more like apple pie underneath the crust. The crust was the best part. The only difference I made with the recipe is that I used Earth Balance spread instead of real butter. I'm rather surpised it got so many good reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaman May 24, 2008

If using Granny Smith apples, toss in sugar so they aren't too sour. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming April 28, 2008

I doubled this, as I had alot of apples, and it came out really, really runny. I guess it would have been really good to serve warm and put the runny appl-ee sauce over the top. It was really crispy, though. It remained crispy for a couple of days, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apostolic January 02, 2008

This was just what I wanted - very similar to the one my mom used to make. I actually doubled the recipe because I wanted to use up my apples before they went bad. I put it in a 9x13 dish and it came out nicely. My family ate the whole thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shwltr78 January 02, 2008
Apple Crisp