18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very, VERY good! Super easy to make. I did add a little extra cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples themselves, but that is just my personal preference. I would highly recommend!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristin March 09, 2003

This is a fairly standard crisp type recipe. But it sure is good. Very easy to prepare and it is a universal success. I only added a lot more cinnamon to it. I'll make it again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo November 05, 2001

Delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy D November 06, 2002

this is exactly the way i make it and it is delicious....thanks

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsty March 05, 2002

I also added cinnamon to my apples on the advice of the other reviewers. I used 6 medium apples and 2/3 cup brown sugar and it was WAY too sweet. I think the apples were the Spartan variety...maybe it would have been better with tart apples. Still great and so easy though! Oh and I used margarine, which was fine.I should add that never having made a Crisp before, this recipe would have been helpful to state I should have peeled them...and cut them into smaller pieces!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellie February 08, 2004

Very good, a great basic recipe to have in my collection. We enjoyed this very much. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( January 15, 2009

This was easy, good and great to use up some apples!! Cup down the sugar to 2/3 cups and added a bit more apples to the mix. Thanks Miss Annie! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie October 29, 2008

Nice, similar to the one my grandmother used when I was growing up. One thing that I did diffently was I tossed some more oats with allspice and lined the bottom of the pan with the mixture, then added the apples. Soaks up the juices a little but tastes great, especially the next morning for breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amathea October 30, 2007

Excellent recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maplecandy3 September 03, 2007

I really impressed my family with this recipe. They loved it. It's a nice sweet treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook1016 August 29, 2007
Apple Crisp