10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! I used 1 c. of maple syrup instead of brown sugar and it was delicious. We had it for Christmas breakfast! Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monica in PA January 22, 2008

This was delicious! I made it for my family for a christmas morning treat. I used italian loaf and didn't use all of it. Maybe 3/4's. next time for 4-5 people I will half the recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u December 30, 2011

This is a great way to serve up breakfast! I, too, used a dark bread (actually a nutty, multi-grain bread), & it went extremely well with the apples & cranberries! I'll certainly be making this another time, possibly with some other dried fruits! Thanks for sharing a great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for the Summer Salad & Berry Recipe Challange]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 24, 2008

Deeeliciooousss! I used homemade whole wheat bread, (partly because that's what I had, and partly to justify having this for dinner!) and made a single serving with two thick-cut slices, baked for the same amount of time. Turned out great, thanks for the recipe! I wonder if other fruits will work this well....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yummy InMyTummy April 22, 2008

Very good. I added pecans along with the apples and cranberrys, and a little brown sugar and cinnamon on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
selizhicks May 28, 2007

Perfect french toast, so nice to make the night before, and what a great different taste from regular french toast..used left over cranberries from christmas dinner..it was indeed a big hit at the church brunch..Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phosman646 December 26, 2006

I cut the recipe back to 2 eggs (serve 2)- the baking time was perfect at 40 minutes. Instead of brown sugar I used brown sugar substitute. After baking for 40 minutes I took off the foil and browned the top 9" from broiler for 5 minutes. Before serving I flipped the casserole so the apple/cran were on top . If you like Apple, cranberry, cinnamon you will LOVE this recipe. Oh and I put it all together the night before so all I had to do was pop it in the oven and fry some bacon - easy & delicious - what more can you ask for? Thanks Derf it's a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy January 08, 2006

Thanks for a keeper. Great for a holiday morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR January 26, 2005

Very easy and delicious! I made the recipe for four people so downsized the amounts and baking time.Used fresh cranberries and 3 apples, the dish was super!!!! Will definitely make this again, a great contrast of flavours with the tart cranberries!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada February 22, 2004
Apple Cranberry French Toast