Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple-Cranberry Crisp Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple-Cranberry Crisp Pie

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2011

      This pie was a smash hit! It was the perfect consistency, and looked beautiful. However, I had to make a few modifications, according to Kittencalskitchen and Holiday Apple Cranberry Layer Pie: 1. I defrosted and slightly cooked the cranberries in the microwave, and added 2 tbsp of the cinnamon/flour/sugar/salt mixture to them. 2. I added 1 tbsp of lemon to the apple slices (I used granny smith). 3. I brushed the top of the bottom crust with one egg white to prevent it from getting soggy. 4. I dotted the pie with 1 tbsp of butter before adding the top crust. 5. I brushed the top crust with milk, and sprinkled it with 1 tbsp sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon. 6. I baked it at 425 for 15 min., then added a crust protector, and baked at 375 for 30 min. Hope this helps!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This pie rates a four-star average. I would give it a 5 for flavor (superb!) but only a 3 for appearance. Like another of the reviewers, I cut the beautiful pie and it was apple cranberry soup inside. As a result, it served poorly. It looked more like apple cranberry crisp without the pie and should have probably been served in a bowl. I'm not sure if adding more flour would help as there isn't really much fat in the pie itself to help with the thickening process. We served this warm (30 seconds in the microwave) with vanilla bean ice cream and the flavor was wonderful, but it was quite messy. Not sure I will try this again... might just go for the "crisp" and forget about the "pie".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This is the second time I made this pie and both times we have loved it! Like some other reviewers commented, it is a little "soupy" and runny when you serve it, so it isn't very pretty, but for my family it's all about the taste and this pie is amazing! We used sweet apples (Gala) to contrast with the tart cranberries and it was perfect. I would maybe try adding some cornstarch to the flour/cinnamon mixture and maybe dot the pie with butter before I top with the crisp, but you can't beat the flavor, so that's 5 stars in my household!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This has become my standard apple pie recipe. I think most would like it as is, but since I always have to be miss healthy :) I reduce the sugar. I think I use about 1/3 -1/2 cup for this one. The topping has enough sweetness to balance out the cranberries even when I cut the sugar. Thanks for a great recipe that I have made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      I did not try this since I do not like cranberries but I made it to take to work since I had an abundance of apples to use & some cranberries left over & they enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Hosted a 4-H Food Project meeting at my home earlier today--featuring "Fall Produce"... I can't comment on the taste, since the girl took it home to her family, but I really WISH I could've tasted it...it looked beautiful--and the smell was exquisite! We used locally-grown Gala apples, as well as fresh, grown-in-Wisconsin cranberries....and made the recipe as written. Turned out beautifully. Well done, Ms. Bold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This came out of the oven and looked beautiful; however, when I cut into it I found it be a little "soupy" and it didn't hold together well. I think I will try using more an additional tablespoon of flour and maybe another apple next time. Everyone thought it was very tasty. I dusted each serving with powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I just made two of these for a holiday celebration, and people practically licked the pie plates clean. One of our guests said it was simply the best dessert she has ever had (and she is no spring chicken). I served the pies warm, accompanied by hot tea, and they were delicious. The only downside was that I only had a very small piece for myself. ;-) One other thing: I used about 6 large apples for each pie, slicing them fine on the grater, and packed the slices into the measuring cups. It may well have been that I used more apples than called for but, again, it was delicious. Also, I used frozen pie crusts to save time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      The pie tastes good, but it looks terrible! The topping burned on top a bit after only 35 min, and the filling was very runny. Maybe I shouldn't have used frozen cranberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      This was a great dessert! Just the right amount of sugar with the apples and 1 cup fresh cranberries in the filling, the added sweetness of the topping made this perfect! Served with a little vanilla ice cream. A beautiful thing!! Thanks.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      This is one five star pie--I mean it's wonderful! I followed your recipe using frozen cranberries. I wouldn't change a thing. The filling is not overly sweet, but sweet enough. The topping is excellent. My DH says this absolutely the best apple pie he's ever tasted. I'll be making this one again and again. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Oh, MAN!! This is a definite keeper. This pie was so good even my kids liked it. Slightly tart, and the apples aren't so cooked that they're mushy. We made it with Splenda and SugarTwin Brown sugar substitute, and you'd never know. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple-Cranberry Crisp Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.3
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    28%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 302.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.2 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 48.7 g
    195%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes