Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Core and Peeling Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Core and Peeling Jelly

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2012

      I can't believe how good this turned out. The only change I made was using the apple juice from the apple sauce that I made with the good parts of apples, as well as water to cook the cores in. Very simple and almost tastes like a honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      Wow, this tastes really good. I used the cores & peels from 8 lbs of apples with 4 c water, 2 c apple cider. Then once I measured the juice added about half a cup butterscotch schnapps and the rest water to make 7c juice. Then as someone else suggested 1 TBSP cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp cardamom. It looks like caramel and tastes divine. It made 5.5 pints for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      When I was growing up, using the peelings and core was the ONLY way we made apple jelly. The flesh of the apples were either made into applesauce seasoned with cinnamon and nutmeg for fried apple pies, dried apples for fried apple pies, or frozen for pies. No part of the apple was EVER wasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      It has not set yet! I hope it will!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This stuff is wonderful! I made ours with fructose (6 cups) instead of sugar. I also added in the already-cooked peels and seeds from our applesauce; I rough-chop the apples without coring and peeling, then use a chinois after cooking. Between the applesauce and this jelly, I ended up with about 14 ounces of material for the compost out of the 15 lbs I started with. I love how this extends the use of the apples and gives you something yummy out of what would normally be waste. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Just finished water bathing this. 7 cups of juice made 10 four ounce jars and 7 eight ounce jars. Can't wait to taste it-other than the bit left on the ladle, it is still in the experimental stage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I have already said all this to UC86 elsewhere but now that I know I used her recipe for inspiration, I'll post it here too. I had a bunch of peels left over from other canning and wondered if they were usable. Seemed to me they should be with all the pectin and flavor in them so I went searching online. I was a woman on a mission, taking notes from various sources. When I saw one on Zaar though, that was when I trusted that yes it really CAN be done. The others sites... I was still leery. Amazing how Zaar gets into ones blood and gets our trust though isn't it? I made it ... kind of like yours but only 6.5 cups sugar (I knew I was taking a chance of it not setting but I figured with the Apple peel, I would have enough pectin and I was right), and the one thing of pectin. I also added Cinnamon and Nutmeg and a lil Lemon juice and used two cups of apple juice instead of all the liquid from the peelings and cores. Turned out good enough that I keep finding myself going to the fridge and snatching spoonsful and I don't even really LIKE Apple jelly hehe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I always wondered why there was no such thing as apple jelly - until my husband started talking about eating it when he grew up. I used the apples for sauce in the crock pot and the cores for jelly. It's not jelled yet but tastes like it will be yummy. We only used about 6 cups of sugar and it's still very sweet. Also, the directions should take into consideration the amount of time to clean and sterilize the jars and complete the water bath at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I was so excited to find a recipe that used left over apple peels, as I was making apple butter. I made this almost exact, I added a dash of imitation cherry flavor. I guess I was sick of apples by that time. It came out great. Such a pretty color too. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      So far so good. I'll update after it has cooled down, but so far I am very happy with this. I just loved how easy it was. I ended up with 12 8oz jars and a smallish tub to eat right away. I didnot use any coloring and like it was suggested by another user I used juice in place of the water used in the second step. My son and I fought over the pot and spoon it was so tasty! Thanks for sharing this treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      *Simply Wonderful!* Can't beat thrifty & tasty eh. I have been freezing my peelings (Granny Smith and Gravenstein) and cores for about 2 weeks. Ended up with just over half my stockpot filled. Added 10 cups of water and after cooking, was left with just over 7 cups juice. Used the 7 cups and 9 cups sugar and it was perfect. I did boil for 2 minutes as suggested by other reviewers. The colour was so beautiful there was no need to add colouring. Yield was 12 half pint jars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      This is a wonderful jelly. What a great way to use up the apple peels and cores. I was making apple cider and applesauce in my steam juicer. I used about 50 apples and decided to just use the peels. I don't know what kind of apples they are since I picked them from an old tree in our neighborhood today that is not sprayed or treated. It is a more tart tasting apple. I used water for cooking and about 6 cups of sugar (based on other reviews saying it was too sweet). The jelly is delicious! I am so glad I tried this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This was my first jelly & it tastes delicious and not too hard to make. I used apple juice instead of water. I thought is a little to sweet, so next time I may cut back on the sugar (depending on the apples). I also found that it was a little too liquidy. Next time I will try with only 6 cups of liquid in all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      On my first batch I added water to equal 7 cups and the jelly was a little runny and seemed to melt quickly on a piece of hot toast. My second batch, I used undiluted apple juice concentrate to equal 7 cups and the jelly was much more flavorful, set up to just the right consistency and the color was that of a dark honey. Thanks for this recipe, I love it that I can make something so delicious with what used to go in the wastebasket!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This was my first attempt at jam and jelly. I used the leftovers from my jam to make this jelly, and it turned out yummy! It was very easy to make, and my boys just love it. I did boil it for 2 minutes, but even then it's not quite as thick as I like. Next time I may reduce the juice by 1/2 a cup or so? Other than that, I LOVE this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      With this recipe I don't waste anything when I am making apple sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I feel so righteous! I made pie AND I got several jars of jelly too. I should have boiled my batch a bit longer than one minute because it is just a tad bit looser than I prefer, but perfectly tasty. I loved the natural color - a pink blush from my Paula Red apples so I too did not add coloring. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      This recipe is awesome , I just started canning this year and got a bushel of apples, I did half before I found the recipe. The second half I did with this recipe and I almost tripled my jar count. So instead of only getting 14 quarts of applesauce I got 14 quarts of sauce, 15 pints of jelly, 8 jelly jars of jam(jelly+pulp)... It is so easy , If I can do it trust me so can you. If you like more of a jam than jelly add the pulp that you press out of a sieve , got all the pulp but no seeds or peeling.. This recipe ids a definite keeper...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      This worked so well with something I used to always throw away. I added a handful of cinammon red hot candies to give it a gorgeous amber color and just a hint of spice. Great stuff! Big hit with my in laws and 3 year old son too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      The phrase "Waste not, want not" comes to mind. Tried this after canning a bunch of apples. Hate waste, so this suited me just fine. I also boiled for 2 minutes and omitted the food coloring. Canned it up in pretty little jelly jars for X-mas presents. A canning keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Core and Peeling Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (6003 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8548.1
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    43%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 187.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 2221.8 g
    740%
    Dietary Fiber 69.8 g
    279%
    Sugars 2080.0 g
    8320%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes