40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I hate to give a bad review... but this is not setting at all. Made this last night and today I have gorgeously colored runny apple syrup in a dozen sealed jars... I added a shy cup of red hot candies and cut back on the sugar to compensate and those were my only changes... I've been looking at other recipes and they use either half the juice or twice the pectin of this one, so I will try to fix it by re-boiling with another box of pectin and see if that works... Will update if that fixes the problem.UPDATE: Raising this up to 4 stars based on re-boiling. Dumped all the jars back into the pot, brought to a boil, added another 1 3/4 box of pectin, brought back to a boil, then added another cup and a half of sugar, brought back to a rolling boil for 4 minutes. Processing in a water bath now, but they are already setting up beautifully. Will definitely make again with the extra pectin to get the hard set I was looking for, because this tastes fantastic. Hopes this helps those who said they got too soft a set on their jelly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie December 19, 2008

I am giving this recipe 5 stars, the apple flavor is delish. It was very sweet, next time I’ll cut back on the sugar or use a tart apple. I made cranberry apple butter in the crock-pot and use the peels/cores to make jelly on the stove. I too, love the idea of using the “waste� to make this wonderful jelly!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antifreesz October 25, 2007

I hate to give this a bad review, but just can't get this to thicken up. I made this last year and had to remake it. It did thicken up some. This time, I remade it two times. I did it just like the recipe said, and let it set for a month, remade it two times. I let it set, and still runny. I don't know what is wrong. don't think I will try it again. I'm glad others had good results, it does taste good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissy sue January 27, 2014

Waiting for it to set! So I'm going to rate on 'so far'. I cut out some of the sugar (my taste). My son said it was good, I thought it was almost too sweet, and I did less sugar. I also used red and golden delicious peelings/cores, so maybe that's why it was sweeter. I didn't add any coloring or extra flavors (wanted to test recipe first). I thought it came out a pretty honey color. <br/>Also, if anyone is interested, I was able to get 12 pints out of it. I posting that because I didn't see how much it actually made anywhere.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robbi R. November 07, 2013

I will never look at the peel of an apple the same way after making apple peel jelly. This is the prettiest apple jelly I have ever made. It was easy and did not take long to make 7 beautiful half pint jars of jelly for my family. I am going to make more apple peel jelly to give as lovely gifts this holiday season.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anndeal October 24, 2013

What a great way to use up what normally would be "garbage". It makes a nice flavored jelly with a light pink hue. I never would have thought of this, not I'm thinking about other fruit I could do this to next year. Thank youf or sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 18, 2013

This is amazing with great flavor. I added a cinnamon stick and two drops of food coloring. Turned out just beautiful. These will make a wonderful Christmas gift. Thank you for the recipe! Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina B October 14, 2013

I doubled the pectin because to ensure this set up and added a drop of red food coloring. I also boiled down the juice from the apple cores to ensure lots of flavor and it came out great. My kids had picked 50 pounds of apples at the local apple orchard and I had tons of cores and skins left over after making apple butter so this worked out great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kzatrini September 16, 2013

I made this recipe with several changes and so far it has not set. I will wait two weeks as another person suggested; however the flavor is fantastic! I used 5 cups of the juice rendered from boiling the cores and peels. I then added one cup of Pom pomegranate juice. I cut the sugar to 6 1/2 cups, added a star anise, several squashed cardamom seeds, 3 cloves and 2 tsps of cinnamon. I boiled it to 220 F. I wound up with eight pints. *fingers crossed* that it sets with time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceramiRN September 10, 2013

I love this apple jelly. I used left over peels and cores from making apple butter. I used a mix of green and red apples and it turned out very tasty I did not use food coloring because it had a lot from the red apple peels. I did add two cinnamon sticks and I only did one cup of suger to fore cups of water it is plenty sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
devinday May 30, 2013
Apple Core and Peeling Jelly