Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Core and Peeling Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Core and Peeling Jelly

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2004

      I add apple juice instead of water. I also strain through a sieve so just the finest amount of pulp gets through. Somehow it just looks more like homemade. :-D If you boil for 2 minutes you will get a firmer jelly. I find the color to be pretty enough with out adding any dye. I agree this is an awesome way to use the cores and peels. I have been making it for a couple of years now. Great christmas presents. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      If you use a candy thermometer and boil, stirring constantly, until the jelly reaches 220 degrees, you can be certain your jelly will set. Also, you can keep a small saucer in the freezer and pour a teaspoon full of jelly on it to see if it sets up. If you can run your finger through it and leave a clean trail after 30 seconds or so, your jelly will set.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      I made two batches of this. One batch set up pretty well but is still a bit "runny" and the other batch is still liquid. I plan to redo these using the recipe for Liquid Cement because the flavor is wonderful. From the runny batch, I will set a couple of jars back because its great on pancakes. I did add a couple of cinnamon sticks. The house smelled wonderful while I was making this. We are putting up some more applesauce this weekend and I plan on making more. I didn't really measure out the peels and cores I just sorta dumped in the scraps leftover from making applesauce but I had well over 7 cups of "juice" from each batch I did. I'm only giving it 4 stars because it didn't set up as well as jelly should.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I actually used the apple jelly directions from the pectin box (less sugar) but used the peels and cores left from making apple sauce. I used a little cinnamon stick and a few drops of red food coloring. Thanks so much for the inspiration to make this economical jelly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      I made this jelly and the only thing I changed was to add cinnamon and it turned out fantastic.My husband informed me that is now his favorite jelly.He likes PB&J made with it and he says he looks forward to his lunch when I make this for him.He and I thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      We peeled & cored a lot more than 20 apples (prob'ly more like 60), so we just crammed all we could into two saucepans, filled them (mostly) with water--will leave more room next time, 'cause it still boiled over--and cooked for 30 minutes. In total, the two pots yielded 16 cups of liquid, so we split it into two pots (8 cups each) and added our pectin (57 grams, a little more than the recipe called for). And because we forgot how much time it takes to boil a huge pot of water for sterilizing the cans (I'd really make prepping that the first step), we ended up cooking the jelly a little (or a lot) longer than a minute, still very pleased with the results. The flavor is more subtle than most jams, but I like it. We added some cloves to one batch & cloves and a cinnamon stick to the other batch. We had a little extra that wasn't worth trying preserve, so we poured it into a bowl & it set in no time at all--and we just had some on toast. (Can you hear me smacking my lips?)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This turned out great. I love that I can use the peels and cores...because my children don't eat the skins of apples yet so I can freeze them until I use them. Today though I used fresh ones because I was canning and it just made sense. I got 6 pints and a bit in the pan left over to taste. I ran it through a sieve so it was not as clear. I added 1 t. nutmeg, 1 T. cinnamon, 1/2 c. redhots, and 61/2 c. sugar. I kept the pectin the same though it was the no sugar needed kind (pink box). I boiled it for 2 min, and it is jelling very nicely. Great flavor. Thank you for a wonderful way to increase my yield...it will be great at Christmas as a gift. Third batch...this time no red hots, instead used 6 1/2 c. sugar and replaced 4 c. of the water with apple raspberry juice. The color is still pretty though not as red.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This is the BEST recipe. I canned 1 1/2 bushels of apples--pie filling sauce etc and hated composting the peelings. This recipe solves this problem. It is delicious and super duper easy. I made over 20 pints and will be giving them as gifts! Everyone who tastes it thinks it is the best they have ever tasted--You owe it to yourself to try this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I am going to go ahead and give this a rating now since I still need to give it time to set, but have already tasted it and ohhh my goodness! I did alter it just a bit since I wanted to give this in Christmas Baskets, I added 1 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground cloves. It is so great being able to use what I would normally throw away, and after draining the juices from it I felt comfortable that putting it into the compost pit would be safe and I wouldn't have a bunch of apple trees growing there come spring. Thank You for a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Most of mine didn't set right away, but when I researched the pectin it said setting could take up to 2 weeks & every single jar set up in that time period. Just be patient & you can save the trouble of re-boiling. I liked the concept of using up the things I would normally toss when making apple butter, but the flavor isn't tops for me. I made some with the addition of red hots but that didn't do it either. I don't think it is the recipe, just my own taste buds. Great idea & if you like apple jelly, well worth the effort.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I hate to give a bad review... but this is not setting at all. Made this last night and today I have gorgeously colored runny apple syrup in a dozen sealed jars... I added a shy cup of red hot candies and cut back on the sugar to compensate and those were my only changes... I've been looking at other recipes and they use either half the juice or twice the pectin of this one, so I will try to fix it by re-boiling with another box of pectin and see if that works... Will update if that fixes the problem.UPDATE: Raising this up to 4 stars based on re-boiling. Dumped all the jars back into the pot, brought to a boil, added another 1 3/4 box of pectin, brought back to a boil, then added another cup and a half of sugar, brought back to a rolling boil for 4 minutes. Processing in a water bath now, but they are already setting up beautifully. Will definitely make again with the extra pectin to get the hard set I was looking for, because this tastes fantastic. Hopes this helps those who said they got too soft a set on their jelly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I am giving this recipe 5 stars, the apple flavor is delish. It was very sweet, next time I’ll cut back on the sugar or use a tart apple. I made cranberry apple butter in the crock-pot and use the peels/cores to make jelly on the stove. I too, love the idea of using the “waste� to make this wonderful jelly!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      I hate to give this a bad review, but just can't get this to thicken up. I made this last year and had to remake it. It did thicken up some. This time, I remade it two times. I did it just like the recipe said, and let it set for a month, remade it two times. I let it set, and still runny. I don't know what is wrong. don't think I will try it again. I'm glad others had good results, it does taste good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Waiting for it to set! So I'm going to rate on 'so far'. I cut out some of the sugar (my taste). My son said it was good, I thought it was almost too sweet, and I did less sugar. I also used red and golden delicious peelings/cores, so maybe that's why it was sweeter. I didn't add any coloring or extra flavors (wanted to test recipe first). I thought it came out a pretty honey color. <br/>Also, if anyone is interested, I was able to get 12 pints out of it. I posting that because I didn't see how much it actually made anywhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      I will never look at the peel of an apple the same way after making apple peel jelly. This is the prettiest apple jelly I have ever made. It was easy and did not take long to make 7 beautiful half pint jars of jelly for my family. I am going to make more apple peel jelly to give as lovely gifts this holiday season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      What a great way to use up what normally would be "garbage". It makes a nice flavored jelly with a light pink hue. I never would have thought of this, not I'm thinking about other fruit I could do this to next year. Thank youf or sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      This is amazing with great flavor. I added a cinnamon stick and two drops of food coloring. Turned out just beautiful. These will make a wonderful Christmas gift. Thank you for the recipe! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      I doubled the pectin because to ensure this set up and added a drop of red food coloring. I also boiled down the juice from the apple cores to ensure lots of flavor and it came out great. My kids had picked 50 pounds of apples at the local apple orchard and I had tons of cores and skins left over after making apple butter so this worked out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      I made this recipe with several changes and so far it has not set. I will wait two weeks as another person suggested; however the flavor is fantastic! I used 5 cups of the juice rendered from boiling the cores and peels. I then added one cup of Pom pomegranate juice. I cut the sugar to 6 1/2 cups, added a star anise, several squashed cardamom seeds, 3 cloves and 2 tsps of cinnamon. I boiled it to 220 F. I wound up with eight pints. *fingers crossed* that it sets with time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      I love this apple jelly. I used left over peels and cores from making apple butter. I used a mix of green and red apples and it turned out very tasty I did not use food coloring because it had a lot from the red apple peels. I did add two cinnamon sticks and I only did one cup of suger to fore cups of water it is plenty sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Core and Peeling Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (6003 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8548.1
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    43%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 187.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 2221.8 g
    740%
    Dietary Fiber 69.8 g
    279%
    Sugars 2080.0 g
    8320%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites