11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My kids loved this, a nice change from plain oatmeal. I did add an extara 1/4 c. of apple juice and decreased the water by the same amount. Will definitely become a staple here.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 August 05, 2010

This is so yummy! I did have to add some sugar and salt, otherwise it was a little bland. Next time I think I will sub a bit of the water and add more apple juice for more flavor. But overall, really yummy! I have no idea what the artificial stuff tastes like, since I never eat it, so can't compare. I usually just eat plain oatmeal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allymom May 30, 2007

This is a really great recipe. We love it here at our house. It has become one of our favorite thing to have for breakfast. Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janae' May 20, 2007

Delicious breakfast for a cold winter morning! My DH usually eats the instant packaged stuff with the artificial flavorings. He really enjoyed eatting the real thing! I'll be making this again..Thanks, Hazeleyes

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes January 26, 2007

I like my oatmeal a little more mushy than most folks so I added and extra 1/4 cup of apple juice during the cooking time. This gave me the right consistency and boosted the apple flavor. A cinnamon lover, I heeded the comments and added 1/4-1/2 teaspoon. Topped with a spoonful of plain yogurt and this was a treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni January 17, 2005

Great breakfast cereal! I read the other reviews and then added a pinch of salt, used apple pie spice instead of cinnamon, added a tsp of nonfat dry milk and when it was ready to eat I added a little Smart Balance Margarine to melt on top. I used Splenda to sweeten to my taste and I enjoyed a nice healthy bowl of oatmeal. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando December 02, 2004

This didn't have the strong apple cinnamon flavor I was hoping it would have. It was a very nice change from regular oatmeal though and I will fix it again and try apple pie spice. Thanks MaeEast

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle October 25, 2004

This was ok. Not great not bad, just ok. I was thinking maybe a little more apple juice and some raisins. But I love finding healthy recipes to try. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit September 03, 2004

Well, I loved this! I put a little brown sugar on top and I was in heaven. Thanks so much, and I'm sorry I'm so late on this. It is a lovely recipe which I will use again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 16, 2004

I liked this but my son didn't. I would cut back on the water and add more apple juice next time. I had to add three packets of Splenda. I would have liked it better if the apples would have cooked more. I like my apples soft not crunchy in oatmeal. Had a good taste though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 30, 2012
Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal