8 Reviews

I'm not rating this just yet. I made a recipe very close to this except the filling did not call for butter. That made the filling just flour tasting. I plan to make this at Christmas time. But the crumb topping was so good! Will give star rating when I make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut November 30, 2013

when I made this my Dh said "Whats the name of this recipe, "the best apple pie ever"? Haha. thats a pretty good complement, I would say.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacobsen_group October 27, 2009

My DH has been asking for apple pie all week, so I made this last night. He loved it and so did I! I served it with a big dollop of vanilla ice cream. YUM! Thanks Kitz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 11, 2008

I could not have been more pleased with this pie! The filling was thick and flavorful and the topping was delicious! Baked for 20 min on 400, then another 40 on 350. Divine pie! Thanks Kittencal for yet another excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amid November 22, 2007

Made this with MacIntosh apples and no crust. I really liked the topping, most crumbles and crisps include oatmeal and/or nuts. This was a nice change not to have those. Served warm with ice cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel November 05, 2006

I made this as a crumble (without the crust). The only thing I added was 2/3 cup of oatmeal to the topping. Baked it in a casserole dish. Absolutely delicious. Thanks Kittencal for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 October 22, 2006

This will definitely be one of my all-time favourites! The only change that I made was the addition of freshly grated nutmegto the filling and the topping. Thanx Carol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady September 24, 2006

Oh Carol, this was wonderful. I did however cheat and use a ready-made pie crust. I used 5 large Granny Smith apples. I baked the pie uncovered for the first 20 minutes and then covered with foil for the remaining 45 minutes. The pie looked beautiful and tasted great. If anyone is looking for a great apple pie recipe this is without a doubt a great one. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinafan May 04, 2006
Apple-Cinnamon Crumble Pie