11 Reviews

I'm giving this four stars because the flavor was delicious; very subtle. It reminded me of homemade apple pie filling, without the chunks! The rest of my family love their fruit syrups, so weren't as excited about it and gave it three stars...But, since we tried it on pancakes, my 6-year old said she'd be willing to try it again on french toast like the recipe mentioned!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilentCricket August 25, 2002

So easy and so good!!! It was done in just minutes. Made it to go with gingerbread pancakes, but ran to the store for some apple pie and vanilla ice cream for dessert tonite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 November 27, 2011

delicious! I made it alongside this caramel sauce (http://www.recipezaar.com/Kittencals-Easiest-Caramel-Sauce-78088) and it was even more popular, which is saying something. It was my boyfriend's birthday and he loves caramel apple flavors, so I used it along with the caramel as a topping for pancakes, and I also added it, along with the caramel, to this milkshake recipe (http://www.recipezaar.com/kittencals-creamy-vanilla-milkshake-376850) to make caramel apple milkshakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiburona February 01, 2010

Fantastic and a nice change from maple syrup. Made this the night before to save some time in the morning ~ just heated it up in the MW. Served with Apple Cider Pancakes. Can't wait to try this on ice cream, oatmeal, pie ~ oh! the possibilities are endless! Thanks for posting this Mysterygirl! Made for Comfort Cafe ~ Winter 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft January 24, 2010

Fabulous! I had some cider left over from Thanksgiving so I made this syrup and put it on buttermilk pancakes and I just loved it. I did add a little more cinnamon, but by accident and it was great. I am going to try it on buttered biscuits next.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarrich December 04, 2009

This is absolutely delicious! We stayed at a B&B for our honeymoon in VT. We had Oatmeal Pancakes with Cider Syrup. I have been searching for something similar and this is it! MK love it cold and spreads it on toast for breakfast. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shescrazy June 22, 2009

WOW, Wow, Wow!!! Soooooo good. I did cut the suagr down to just a hair over 1/3 cup and out of necessity had to use lime juice as opposed to lemon juice. This is absolutely incredible stuff, I think I could bath in it. I used it over Pumpkin Pancakes and the combination of the two was to die for. I am already thinking of other ways I could use this. And it could not be easier to make. Top notch flavor for very little effort! Heavenly, MG, simply heavenly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. December 14, 2008

Very easy to make and an excellent topping for the strata. I used apple cider and it gave it just little more "umph" than regular apple juice. It thickened up quickly and nicely and had a beautiful color. Thanks Kris for a great Spring PAC 2007 recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherrybeth May 20, 2007

Really nice and appley, hot or cold!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 02, 2007

Yummy! My kids loved this with Sour Cream Apple Pancakes. Made the syrup the night before and warmed in the morning. Stays thicker than maple syrup even when warmed. Would be yummy with french toast or gingerbread waffles, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 27, 2006
Apple Cider Syrup