20 Reviews

Oh wow. The fact that I even ate this without any sweetener is HUGE, as I usually like my oatmeal very very sweet. While it was not necessarily as sweet as I would have liked, it was certainly sweet enough for me to eat it! Lovely apple flavor, I too would think some cut up apples in here would be good. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit October 05, 2009

I LOVED this DH did not. So I'm rating based on my opinion not his. I made it on top of the stove and the flavor is wonderful. Not overly sweet with just the right amount of bite. I omitted the salt. Thanks for submitting. I will add this to my rotation for breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally October 17, 2008

Bought a big jug of apple cider and needed to use it. This is a super yummy bowl of oatmeal. Added just a bit of splenda as I like my oatmeal very sweet. Apple flavor was the best and a very easy prep. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 22, 2014

This was a great breakfast. I made a serving for me and added brown sugar. Very filling also. Thanks bmcnichol :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 23, 2013

I wanted to try this, as I wanted to eat more oatmeal in the mornings and thought this might be the way to ease in. I bought grocery store apple cider, which made this oatmeal very sweet and it had the intense cider flavor. I made one serving, and would probably decrease the cider a little bit next time to make it thicker. Will have again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ErinTriesToCook November 05, 2011

bmcnichol, this was wonderful! It is a fast and easy recipe to make, for a nice hot breakfast. I bought a gallon of my favorite cider, from Deal's Orchard in Jefferson, Iowa. I'll have to make this for my son this weekend. Made for Please Review My Recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J October 19, 2011

Yummy Yummy oatmeal. I just loved this. I think I could scale back a little on the cinnamon though...otherwise loved it the way it is. Skipped out on the salt -- might try it next time to see how it changes the flavor. Will be making this often. Thanks so much for posting! Made for PRMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo August 28, 2011

I have oatmeal about 4 times a week, and this definitely was a wonderful twist on one of my breakfast faves! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady October 04, 2010

Loved this twist on oatmeal! I used low fat butter spread and no salt. Thanks for a lovely breakfast treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud February 02, 2010

As oatmeal goes, seeing as how it isn't my favorite, this was not at all bad. It was very, very simple to make, and I liked the cider flavor. Used cinnamon sugar on top with the butter. Thnx for sharing your recipe, bmcnichol. Made for Comfort Cafe Snow Queen Chalet Jan 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter January 12, 2010
Apple Cider Oatmeal