Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Cider Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Cider Brine

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2003

      This is the first time I've brined and we loved it! Sue, I like your method of using the turkey cooking bags and turning the turkey now and then...it worked well for me in my tiny kitchen (and equally tiny refrigerator). I never could of fit a bucket in my fridge and the weather wasn't quite cold enough to keep it in the garage. I used your recipe, as is, and then grilled the turkey on my Weber. Oh, was it good! DH can't stop talking about it, I'll be doing turkey this way from now on. Thanks so much for this recipe, I'm now a brining pro!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      I actually tried this on pork chops instead of turkey. I thought the apple cider and spices would go well with pork, and I was correct! The chops were super tender and juicy. I soaked them in the brine for 4 days (I didnt mean to do so long, but my schedule didnt allow them to be cooked sooner). I kept to the recipe pretty well except for the type of meat. I halved the recipe and still had some brine leftover. I def will make this again. Maybe I will try it with a turkey sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Very yummy! It was our first time doing a brine and we did the brine-in-a-cooler version too. Worked well. We did not have a bag to cook the bird in. The bird took longer than anticipated (to cook). We were so worried that it would be dry. But I think the brine really locked in the juice! 90 minutes after the planned time... our turkey was done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I used your recipe and Alton Brown's suggestion to brine in an insulated beverage cooler. It was perfect...brine stayed icey cold and the bird was completely submerged without taking up 'fridge space. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

    • on November 27, 2008

      This year was our first time for brining a turkey. It was totally worth the prep time. The turkey was everything that everyone said it would be. I think it was one of the best turkeys we've ever made. It was very tender and juicy. We'll definitely be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was wonderful. It was my second brined turkey ever, and the salt taste of this was much more balanced than the other recipe I tried. I didn't have allspice berries so I left them out, and I did throw in some garlic cloves because I love it. Due to scheduling issues (and having spatchcocked the turkey as well) it got done very early and I had to keep it warm for about 2 hours. Despite that, it was still juicy and flavorful. I will use this recipe again and again. Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I have used this recipe three times now. It is the best one ever!! I used it once on a turkey, twice on chicken. I brined them for twenty four hours and then cooked them in a covered clay pot. I had no trouble with the meat browning too much. I used lemon instead of orange and added garlic under the skin. All three times, the meat is so juicy and has wonderful flavor. Please try this recipe, you will not regret it. It is the BEST!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      I've brined my turkeys for the last several years, and we LOVED the flavor this brine gives the meat. I threw in a handful of candied ginger since I was out of fresh, and it seemed to work just fine. My bird did get a little dark, but I'd been roasting it breast-up and was able to flip it, so no one ever knew. This brine is my favorite so far. I plan on trying it on a chicken soon, just to see if it's really as good as it seems to be. Thanks, Sue L!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I always have good luck when I brine turkeys, but decided to try a different recipe this year. And I'm so glad I did! This was EXCELLENT! My guests said this was the best turkey ever. It was so juicy and flavorful and the gravy made with the drippings was SO GOOD! We brined our 20 pound turkey for about 10 hours, flipping after 8. My only concern was that there wasn't enough liquid to fully cover the turkey - but it certainly taste good regardless. I will definitely make this one again - thanks Sue L.!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      This was my first time brining a turkey and this was a great recipe to try. I should have read through all of the reviews before I baked the bird because the skin was burned black. However, the meat under it was delicious and the meat was very tender. I will make this again, but I will keep a better watch on the turkey to prevent it from burning next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      This was my first time brining a turkey. Very easy to make up the brine. Just pop your turkey in a bag, pour the brine on, tie up the bags and just remember to turn the turkey a few times. Loved the flavor the fresh ginger gave the bird. As Fulkenhaut states, the sugar does make the skin get darker faster, as it happened to mine. Next time I make this, I'm going to start baking the turkey for the first half of the baking time with foil over the bird. Then watch it closely. Thank you for sharing. I served a great Christmas dinner with your help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      So many brine recipes call for soy sauce; a big turn off for me. The apple cider in this recipe caught my eye immediately! Turkey will no longer be turkey in our home without this recipe. It was extremely easy to prepare and tasted wonderful. Leftovers were succulent, not dry. Tips from my experience: Remember to allow for plenty of time to cool the brine before you put it with the turkey (spoilage issues)and if the turkey is very big, thus requiring a longer cooking time, use plenty of foil to cover it as the high sugar content makes it burn easily. I won't cook a turkey without this recipe again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      Used this brine on my Christmas turkey- it was ever so lovely! I skipped the bag part and flipping the bird about. Just placed it breast side down in a large bowl filled with brine overnight (figured the breast meat is what dries out and it needed the brine the most). Also didn't have time to dry it out- just stuck it in the oven and followed my usual port turkey Port Turkey. Got great reviews all 'round.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      Made my Thanksgiving turkey with this brine and it was great. The meat was nice and juicy. Great flavor. DH commented on the turkey being the best yet. Thank you for the recipe! We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      I had never heard of brining a turkey before, and then within 24 hours, I heard 3 references to it on TV and radio! Have I been living under a rock? Anyway, I thought I'd give it a try. The turkey turned out great! Thanks Sue L! Before pouring the brine into the turkey cavity, a scored the membrane between the cavity and the breast meat. The next day, I roasted the turkey breast-side-down for all but the last hour so all the juices would run into the breast meat. One word of caution, the sugar in the brine causes the turkey to brown more quickly that it usually does. Keep an eye on it, and cover with aluminum foil to prevent it from getting too brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Cider Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (610 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    15%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21665.6 mg
    902%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 45.2 g
    181%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    allspice berries

    unsweetened apple cider

    turkey

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites